We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT be put off by negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visiting Avignon with family, nothing better than the two room suite. Reasonably priced, very spacious rooms, excellent location.
Contrary to some of the previous reviews, the parking is a big plus (we parked our fairly large Mercedes ...... it is 'Europe' not the US). It is right next to the hotel.
Despite being close to the train station, there is no noise (and we are here at the peak of the tourist season.
We are a family of 4 and stayed in the suite. Once of the best layouts for a family suite - two bedrooms, a large living room, two separate bathing & washing areas and an independent toilet.
Another traveler commented about air conditioning - very surprised. Not only are the air conditioning controls in the rooms perfect, the central air conditioning system is also working perfectly.
As most other travelers have commented, the location is just outstanding. Just outside (literally one minute walk) from the old walled city.
Internet is slow and the management must take note of this.
All in all, excellent

Room Tip: If with family, nothing better than the two room suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wmohsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your positiv comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for only 1 night and while we were impressed with the room (with small living room inside) and convenient location, the facilities were not so up to standard.

The pool is about a size of a hot tub. More than 4 adults swimming in there is probably over the limit.

Also the hallway is quite creepy, with lights on & off at night and can be scary at night - especially a chair sitting in the middle of empty room over looking the hallway - don't know why it is there but it reminds me of the movie "the Shining".

Overall it was a pleasant stay but facilities could do better.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BMMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
For your information, I have the pleasure to inform you that we will renovate our hallway this winter!
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our room very spacious and very cosy (40 m²). .

We hope to welcome you another time, may be during the winter, in order to enjoy our last renovation!

With our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

While still a pretty good hotel and just about worth the 4-stars, it has slipped since we last stayed there 8 years ago. The rooms are great, really spacious, with nice bathrooms. BUT, there are general maintenance issues .... for us, the sinks were blocked, causing poor drainage.
Why the 4-stars? Great rooms (nice and quiet), super breakfast, and very handy parking (not too expensive).
Desk Service is average. Family who came with us were still waiting at 5pm for their rooms even though we checked in 3 hours earlier.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast; take the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EndOfTheStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor your comments about your stay at the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL.
We are very sorry to hear about the technical incident occurred in your room, and the late check-in. Usually, we guarantee our room from 4.00 pm, not after. Make sure that we are checking this point with the General Housekeeper, and the Technical Manager.

We hope that you will have the pleasure to welcom you again at the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL. We remain at your disposal to benefit you our best offers.

With our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel. It is well situated relative to the old town, just outside the ramparts and close to the main gate. The common parts are spacious and well decorated and the rooms are just lovely. We had a separate seating area with a desk, a nice big double bed and a bathroom with both bath and standalone shower.

There is a small swimming pool on an open deck on the second floor, which is a real advantage for a centrally situated hotel. I had forgotten to bring toothpaste and a plug adaptor and the hotel was able to supply both. Service is warm and helpful. The only downside was the iffy (free) wifi, which was rather unstable and slow, but otherwise we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your positiv comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed there for just one night with our two children. If you don't have a car, it's best location. Just beside the central train station. Also it is just walk away from old city where all the attractions and best restaurants lie. The hotel reception is ready to help out. Breakfast is good. But being a four star, the services and rooms could have been better. We got a room in the first floor facing the station which caused lots of noise. In the breakfast room, the fruits were finished by the time our daughter finished her cereal. But they couldn't provide us with more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjantaPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel during your stay on Avignon and for taking the time to send us your feedback via Tripadvisor.
As you mentioned, the Avignon Grand Hotel is located near to the train station (centre), and just front of the beautiful historic walls date back the 14th century, and closed to famous Pope of Palace (15 min by walk).
That's why, regarding our area, we bring all our attention on soundproofing, and we almost have no negative opinion about it. I sincerely do regret that you experienced this kind of inconvenience.
We are very happy to read your satisfaction about the location and the helpfulness of the reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sylvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We only stayed for one night in a superior room and it was great. The room had a separate seating area, good size bed (a little too hard for me though). Breakfast was pretty good but the wifi was on and off most of the time. We came in on the TGV to Avignon Centre and it was an easy walk to the hotel. A great location for the shopping and restaurants inside the wall. Overall, just great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#14 of 68 in Avignon
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
819 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Address: 34 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 124 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing