We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family rooms are duplex with spiral stairs - beware with small kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We liked this hotel - location good just outside the city walls - close to train station and next to where the bus drops you off from the TGV station. Its more like a 3* than a 4* but the accom was comfortable. We had a family room - which was good but it was nothing like the room shown on the internet (it shows a lovely garden room - not what we got). The room we had was duplex - with a lounge and shower room downstairs, and 2 bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. Lovely accommodation and we would recommend it but the duplex has a spiral staircase - so wouldn't recommend for v young children (especially if they get up in the night - the top of the staircase was just outside their bedroom door!). Our kids managed fine though - aged 4 and nearly 3. Don't book this hotel because of the pool - it is absolutely tiny and freezing (even in August) - and its on the roof.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2009

The 3rd floor hallway had an awful odor of mildew/pet urine. I was forced to leave the AC off in the room since an odor of sewage/mildew eminated from the air vents when running. I suspect that the cause of the odor is that the drain pan for the AC condensing unit is full of stagnant water and the AC condensing coils are dirty, full of mildew and in need of servicing. The housekeepers thought the odor was from the drains in the bathrooms since we found the bathroom doors closed whenever we returned to the room. I reported this issue to the front desk staff with no response or action taken. The hotel is a bit worn and in need of remodeling and updating. With some investment by the owners this could be a nice hotel. The locations is great with large, spacious rooms. Based on my experience I would not stay at this hotel again.





--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

January 8, 2009
We are in the hotel now – a mid-winter break in Europe. Really, Provence is not its best in the winter. In fact, there was a surprise snowstorm in Avignon today. But that is not the fault of the hotel. The Grand is just outside the city wall, and only one block from the Avignon-Centre train station (which is a mile or two from Avignon-TGV where all the long distance trains stop). Our room has a great view of the wall, it is large (really two rooms, a sitting room and a bedroom), and it is quiet and comfortable. The hotel is a 4 star hotel – but it is not really clear that this is accurate. The cups in the bathroom are cheap plastic, the mini-bar is never serviced, the lobby bar is totally dead (we never saw anyone there – maybe due to the mid-winter time of year), no turn-down service, no coffee pot, and the general appearance is not quite 4 star. But, the staff is very helpful and knowledgeable (and also multi-lingual and friendly), the location is excellent, the breakfast is fine (not included in the room price), and the room size is very large. The lobby is very large and pleasant -- but totally devoid of people! There is free internet (wi-fi) – so what are we complaining about. I’d recommend the Grand – and I’d recommend booking it on their web site (better prices, and if you need to cancel, there is no penalty). I would not recommend parking in the garage below the hotel – that cost us 16 euros for less than 12 hours. Across the street, there is free parking (just adjacent to the wall – some rather tight spots, but we never had a problem).

Overall, it is a very comfortable 3.75 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

We stayed in this hotel in September 2008.
We arrived in Avignon by train from Paris.
It would probably be a good idea to arrange with the hotel for a pick up, or try to book a taxi to meet the train.
When we arrived at the station there were no taxis, we waited at the taxi stand for about 15 mins along with other tourists. None arrived.
In the end we got on a bus that said City Centre, along with about 100 other people with their luggage. It took about 15 mins to arrive in the city and the bus terminated just opposite the hotel, which was O.K by us.
The hotel staff at reception were really nice and quickly showed us to our room. The room was great, very roomy with a sitting room and a large bathroom. The view out of the window was over the garden and as we were at the back of the hotel, the room was very quiet.
This hotel is just outside of the wall of the city, but that did not matter as everything was within walking distance.
The main road is very close and is filled with shops and bistros on the way to Palais de Papes. Pont d'Aviignon, museums and other things and places of interest.
We were very happy with the hotel, but not the dining room.
They didn't really cater for individual people, mainly for big groups, I think.
We pre-paid breakfast, but it wasn't really worth it.
Don't let that put you off the hotel. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

This is a wonderful hotel to stay in, however unless you get the classic room rate it is very expensive. Old world charm with wonderful character, rooms are terific, the staff helpful and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2008
Thank navarhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

I stayed in the Grand Hotel for three nights and was a bit nervous about it because I have a rule, from experience, never to stay near a railway station! Anyway there was no problem. I got a superior double room at the same rate as a double and it was lovely. Two double beds, a separate room with table and chairs, separate wash hand basin area and then the toilet/shower area. Very nice room, functional, but clean. The breakfast was good (although it is extra) and the location is great. Although not inside the old city walls, it is just outside. It''s at most a 10 minute walk to the Palais des Papes. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmmmhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Overall a good hotel outside the city walls. If you're arriving by Train, hotel is a short walk from the bus stop that comes from TGV station. Good size rooms, however it's quite a walk to main attractions a bit more expensive than most hotels in the city and you could find a better deal inside city walls.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narayan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#14 of 69 in Avignon
879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Address: 34 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 124 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing