We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Best Western I ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, LT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best Best Western I ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise during our trip in France. Different from other Best Western hotels I stayed before. It was indeed like oasis. Big pines, beautiful territory, quite place allows to feel like being in countryside. It was enjoyable to have a breakfast under the old olive tree in the garden after swimming in the pool. The rooms are not very big, but comfortable enough, very clean; equipped with a kettle and a small fridge. Good choice of meal at breakfast, including fresh fruits and you can make a fresh juice by yourself. Good choice, especially for those who travel by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aira8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    199
    37
    9
    11
See reviews for
57
222
16
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

About a ten minute drive from Old Town Avignon, this Best Western is located in a quiet, leafy neighborhood not far from a hospital. Once one drives through the gate into the walled compound, it is as if one has left the city. Ample free parking space is available within the gated, secure compound.

The 2-story facility appears rather new or newly redone, everything being spotless. Check-in was conducted by a charming young English speaker, wo, absent a lift, was kind enough to take our luggage upstairs for us.

Our executive room #158 came with a large deck overlooking the beautiful grounds with pool and mature trees. Unfortunately for us, the Mistral was blowwing full force and use of the deck or the garden oasis was thusly denied us. The room was ample in size with a king bed, a side table with two comfortable upholstered chairs, safe, and a fridge for your use. The tiled floor room had just about everything except for a desk. The bright and airy modern bath had a very nice shower, and a W/C in its separate enclosure. It as was the room was spotless. It was super quiet at night and sleep came easy in the great bed.

An on-site restaurant with a nice menu selection makes it easy to leave the car parked and eat in-house. The dining room looks out onto the green oasis of the backyard. The food served pleased our palate. The breakfast spread provided an adequate selection with all one would expect.

All in all, this was easily among the very nicest Best Western hotels we encountered in our travels around the globe.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

It is newly renovated updated and very attractive. It is not in downtown Avignon but that was fine by us since we had a car and did not want to contend with finding parking. As it turns out parking is not a problem in Avignon. Still we were happy with the lovely bathroom shower and nicely appointed room in the new addition.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We took a double room for 2 nights at the start of our trip and were not disappointed.
Staff were incredibly friendly and check in lasted all of a minute. The rooms were small but that was expected and we only needed it for sleep. A quiet cold water pool surrounded by a leafy garden, perfect for chilling out. Free fast wifi, local bus stop outside oh and yes pay the €14 for the all you can eat breakfast, worth every cent!

Only negative was noisy guests having a conversation at 2am in corridor.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel is roomy and comfortable, with an attractive poolside dining area. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our main complaint was the silly scheme for controlling lights in the room. You must keep your room key card in a wall reader in order for the lights to work. The lights all go out a few minutes after you pull out the card. Late night access to the parking area requires getting out of your car and unlocking the gate with your room key. The WiFi arrangement is maddening, with a separate code required for each device, and a 24 hour renewal interval. Apart from these nuisance items, it is a good place to stay if you are driving in this region.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHovaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULANDLAURA, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your comment. please find above our response.

It is true that to action the electricity in the room you need to keep your room key card in a wall reader, except for one plugg which is located on the desk to recharg your mobile or top even. This information is written in the room directory.
This installation has been made to save the electricity and save our planet. It happends that televisions or lights are still on even if the guest is out of the room.
We don't need to spend energy for nothing.

In France, the law preserv the confidentiality of what you do on your device. That is the reason why we need to provide one confidential code to surf on internet. We are supposed to answer to the authority on who was on internet for safety reason and preserv against terrorism.
also, if we do not give you a code, your connexion will be not safe and hackkers will be able to steal all the information which are on your device.

During the night the parking is closed and saved. Guests who are leaving their suitcases in their cars on the parking expect to find their cars and lugages the day after. Our guests fill more confident.

I hope you anderstand our position,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. The room was smartly decorated and had a view of the beautiful courtyard. There was a small refrigerator in our room. The bathroom and shower were the very best we've ever had while traveling! Lots of hot water and a wonderful rain-type shower. Having a restaurant on site is very convenient but the menu did not change while we were there. The food was very good and beautifully presented. There is no extra charge for having your meal delivered to the room. It was delivered very promptly. The front desk staff was very helpful and gave excellent recommendations for restaurants etc. The 10 minute bus ride into the Old Town was pleasant and easy to catch right outside the hotel about 100 yards away. The only downside at the hotel was that - even though we were only on the second floor - there is no lift and we had a lot of baggage. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

After almost a month of travel staying in tiny rooms, sitting in crowded French cafes and feeling a little clostraphobic in contenental Europe, this place felt like an oasis, we didn't leave. The room wasn't huge but big enough and very comfortable. The bath and shower set up was superb with good hot water a big shower rose + hand held shower and deep bath, heavenly. We ate dinner in the reastaurant and while not our best French eating experience, it was quite good with attentive service and reasonable prices and the same could be said for the breakfast. It has large grounds, green grass and a lovely garden and the unseasonal weather was the only thing that kept us from the pool. The staff were very friendly and efficient, spoke good English and made us feel at home. Felt just like a 5 star without all those things you don't use anyway. Although not in the heart of town it was perfect if you have a car with free car parking. Special mention to Yann who was simply awesome.

Room Tip: On the garden side ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#10 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin

Property: BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
Address: 1715 Chemin du Lavarin, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savourez un moment de detente au calme dans notre jardin arbore d'oliviers et de platanes centenaires et profitez de notre espace piscine securise.A 5 minutes des remparts en voiture et a 10 minutes en bus, depuis l'arret situe a l'entree de l'hotel.L'hotel est situe a 1 Km de la gare Avignon TGV.Cote hebergement nos chambres climatisees offrent une gamme complete adaptee a vos attentes Chambres standards alliant confort et simplicite.Chambres superieures recemment renovees dans un esprit cosy et chaleureux.Chambres executives avec plus d'espace et d'elegance. Nous avons egalement des chambres familiales pour 4 personnes et des chambres communicantes pouvant recevoir jusqu'a 5 personnes. N'hesitez pas a nous contacter;Cote repasDecouvrez notre carte de restaurant composee essentiellement de produits frais et de nos suggestions du jour, a savourer des que le temps le permet en terrasse, ou partager notre << carnet d'adresses>> de restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Du Lavarin
Best Western Avignon
Avignon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing