We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - very Disrespectful and Unfair of Best Western Le Lavarin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Le Lavarin
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware - very Disrespectful and Unfair of Best Western Le Lavarin”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked via the hotel's English online version. Having to change date, I cancelled and they charged me on 22March14 for a room booked for 6April2014. On the hotel's English version there is no notice of Non refundable and it offers an appropriate cancellation policy in which I was well in advance for. I tried to explain to the manager Mr. Simon Reboulet about their website's inaccuracy in their English version. He kept persisting that their French version states the policy and didn't want to discuss it further. Attempts to rationalize and explain the web pages where it is quite obvious how their English version lacked this important non refundable informaiton were a complete waste of time. The hotel staff is unfortunately very disrespectful. It is shocking business practice of a Best Western hotel to take money from someone this way. Something disrespectful like this ruins your entire holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULANDLAURA, Propriétaire at Best Western Plus Le Lavarin, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
dear Sir,

I am sorry that you think that a am disrespectful and unfair. Please apologize me if you really think I was Disrespectuf. it was not the case. Unfortunatly you booked a room which was not cancelable, not modificable and not refundable and get a better price. this option is mentionned on the type of room you pick and on our rules, that you accept when you booked.

For personnal reason you change your trip and pretend to get your money back. I have the regret to confirm you that it is not possible.
In all our websites, this mention is written in french and in english and we can not change the rules. This is the same way it works if you take a flight or a train with a ticket which is not modificable. Next time, if you are not sure to travel, please choose a flexible rate which permit to cancel without any fee. Best regards Simon Reboulet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    213
    37
    9
    11
See reviews for
60
233
16
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is nice and gives lot's of attention to the details. The room was clean and big even thou we found the mattress not very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a clam neighborhood and has free parking. The city center can be easily reached by public transport (on Sunday there are not many buses). There is also free parking right out side the city walls. We would have liked to use the lovely hotel pool but it was still too cold. Breakfast is not included in the price but we payed the extra charge and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherry079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here in August for 6 nights using it as a base for touring the villages of Provence and the city of Avignon. The location was very suitable for our needs especially with a car. It was a 10 minute drive into the city and parking was free at some venues. Avignon has much to offer visitors.
The room was clean, modern and well appointed. Breakfast was a buffet which was superb and taken in the restaurant overlooking the gardens/ restaurant.There was always a good choice and the food was of high quality.
We enjoyed a drink by the pool after our days out. The hotel restaurant looked good and busy each evening but we chose to eat out in Avignon or in one of the villages.
The hotel is walled, quiet and provides secure parking.
All the staff were professional and very helpful.
We would stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Best Western Hôtel du Lavarin. The location maybe a little too far out from the old city, but was ideal for us as we wanted to be near the TGV station (about 10 min drive away). We walked into the old city each day, which was an easy 25 minute walk. There are no eating places nearby but the food offered at the hotel was good value. We also ate in the old city.
The rooms were a very good size and the property has free car parking, a very nice pool area and the restaurant has a nice feel to it, overlooking the pool area.

The real stand out for us was the delightful, friendly and efficient staff. They were amongst the best we came across in our month stay in France.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BryanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My family recently stayed here while my husband was in the nearby hospital.The Patrons, Patricia and Simon were outstanding, ensuring our every need and comfort was met. Their kindness and friendliness meant our stay at The Laverin was exceptional.
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, with a cosy restaurant overlooking the gardens and pool. The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. Would highly recommend.
The Brooke Family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Booked two nights on basis of Trip Advisor reviews. We were given a “new” room - which was well-designed and very nice. The common areas all looked newly renovated. Very clean and comfortable room and hotel. Decent size room. Very good breakfast. Very friendly, capable and professional service. Free parking in the hotel’s secure compound. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from historic Avignon, in a modern area of hospitals and health-care facilities. There didn’t seem to be many restaurant choices nearby. We used the hotel’s dinning room for dinner for bo9th nights and were very pleased with the quality, choice and service - some of the best dinners we had in our three weeks on the road in France. Nice grounds and patio. Good secure wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esquimalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I was very impressed by this hotel. I had been a bit dubious about it being a Best Western (I wouldn't set foot in my local Best Western in South London without protective clothing), but I took the Tripadvisor reviews at face value and was not disappointed. The best feature is the staff: they are unfailingly friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the terrace delivered great food in a beautiful setting. The garden with its beautiful mature trees and pool is small but idyllic. The best bit was the room. It is definitely worth paying the extra for one of the rooms with a balcony/terrace. Our room was triple aspect and arranged to make a relatively small space seem huge. The hotel is some way out of town but with easy access by car or bus. The one disadvantage is that there are no cafes or restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony/terrace. They are much more light and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
1.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
755 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
932 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Le Lavarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Le Lavarin

Property: Best Western Plus Le Lavarin
Address: 1715 Chemin du Lavarin, 84000, Avignon, France (Formerly Best Western Le Lavarin)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Le Lavarin 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savourez un moment de detente au calme dans notre jardin arbore d'oliviers et de platanes centenaires et profitez de notre espace piscine securise.A 5 minutes des remparts en voiture et a 10 minutes en bus, depuis l'arret situe a l'entree de l'hotel.L'hotel est situe a 1 Km de la gare Avignon TGV.Cote hebergement nos chambres climatisees offrent une gamme complete adaptee a vos attentes Chambres standards alliant confort et simplicite.Chambres superieures recemment renovees dans un esprit cosy et chaleureux.Chambres executives avec plus d'espace et d'elegance. Nous avons egalement des chambres familiales pour 4 personnes et des chambres communicantes pouvant recevoir jusqu'a 5 personnes. N'hesitez pas a nous contacter;Cote repasDecouvrez notre carte de restaurant composee essentiellement de produits frais et de nos suggestions du jour, a savourer des que le temps le permet en terrasse, ou partager notre> de restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western FR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Le Lavarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Du Lavarin
Best Western Avignon
Avignon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing