We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding choice for hotel”
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in early May. We travelled to Avignon by train from Nice. Upon arriving at the train station, there were no taxis to be seen so we decided to take the city shuttle bus. Easy, quick, convenient, and a value... until we got to the city and had to hike it down the Rue de la Republic, twisting our way to the hotel schlepping our luggage over the medieval cobblestone streets, not a taxi in sight.

Our room was quite charming, with a view overlooking the garden and the back of the Pope's Palace. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious and roomy with double sinks and a totally separate toilet room with sink.

Some reviewers have mentioned the small size of the rooms. They are small, but remember it is a very historic and old building. I think the hotel has done a marvelous job renovating the rooms and keeping the historic charm intact.

The staff from the front desk clerks to the wait/bar staff to the maid staff were all very polite and spoke to us by name every time they addressed us.
I'm glad we made this choice of hotels for our stay in Avignon. You can't beat the location, the service, nor the charm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cclisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for La Mirande Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hotel is in a great location but a little hard to find, get good directions/GPS. The dinning room manager Jacques was supper accommodating, plus spoke good English. We celebrated my wives birthday during our stay and had a superb dinner at the Hotel restaurant, service was outstanding. We found our bedroom mattress to be very hard. We would stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harpo208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

For 440 euros/night we were given an amazingly small room; although charmingly decorated one almost needs an instruction manuel on how to turn on/off the lights, open safe etc. The service extremely slow and conciereges most unpleasant and not very helpful. The hotel very beautiful and convenient location behind the pope's palace. Would I return? Unsure.

Room Tip: Rooms can be quite small so see what you get for what price.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I've eaten twice now in the restaurant of this hotel and the service, setting and food has been amazing both times. The set lunch menu is really good value and they are happy to accommodate vegetarian requirements.
In the summer you dine in the courtyard garden which is right next door to the Palais des Papes. In the winter the cosy dining room with log fire is just as good.
Definitely give this a go and for value for money you can't beat the set lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody35London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOBIS, Directeur Opérationnel at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at our gourmet restaurant. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your comments will be shared with all the team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Thanks to our customers feedback we continuously strive to meet their needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Francis Lacoste,
Front Office & Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

While somewhat difficult to find on foot, the hotel is very conveniently located right next to the rear entrance/exit to the Palais des Papes. Rooms were very nicely furnished, and ample size by European standards. We spoke limited French, and the concierge was very helpful with his recommendations on dinner and out of the way things to do. Priced on the high end, but well worth it by our standrads, given the high level of service and convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kb72travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Highly recommend to any couple for a classy, classical memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machasgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October 2011 and were very impressed. The location is just fantastic, right across from the Palais de Papes. The service is very friendly and welcoming (I know people worry about this in France but we have had nothing but wonderful experiences). The rooms are different--not luxurious but rather quaint and romantic. The decor is old-fashioned but the amenities are still there--wi-fi (free by the way), comfortable beds, etc. The bathroom products were Dr. Haushka and local lavender soap, which was very cool. This is another hotel (see my review of the Greenwich) where the room was separated from the hallway by an additional door, i.e. halllway, door to room, foyer, door to bedroom. I love this configuration because it keeps out the hallway noise. The room service pastries are to die for (you're in france, don't bother dieting, there will be butter). Our first night there we had the sommelier select a bottle of wine and bring it to our room with a little assortment of olives and nuts, we didn't specify a price, which made me a little nervous, but he selected something very reasonable and wonderful. Only bad note: the restaurant setting is great and very romantic but I found the food just so so, particularly for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dicooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Address: 4 Place de l Amirande, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £283 - £591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 26 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing