We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite stop on our two week stay in France!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite stop on our two week stay in France!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is almost perfection.
Avignon is an absolute gem of a city, and this hotel is the perfect spot to explore from.
Everything about this hotel is elegant and charming from the staff to the tastefully appointed rooms and comfortable beds.

Even the tv in the room is masked by a mirror so you are never pulled out of the classical charm of the decor. The views of the Palais des Papes next door adds to the atmosphere. (we had room 33 which was perfect)

The breakfast was great. I can't speak to dinner as we went out every night since we were there on a night they were sold out and two nights they were closed, but the front desk made wonderful recommendations.

Speaking of the staff, they were excellent with everything from dining to shipping a package back to the states for us.

If you are driving it is quite an adventure getting through Avignon...there were a few close calls...but don't hesitate to visit. We felt three days wasn't enough to explore the city and the neighboring area.

We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    66
    16
    16
    8
See reviews for
53
210
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel is out of this world. The rooms are so pretty, really comfy and clean. The food was really excellent and the staff were so warm and friendly. Avignon is a beautiful place with lots to see and do and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weddingbelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Elegant without being stuffy or pretentious, this hotel and its restaurant transports you back to a time when service and quality mattered. Our room, overlooking the Palais de Papes, was beautifully decorated with comfortable bedding and top shelf amenities. It was serviced twice a day by a friendly and efficient staff who never failed to greet you with a smile and ebullient "bon jour!". Breakfast in the "breakfast room" or on the adjoining terrace is a great way to start your day, with a bountiful buffet and the best omellete you will ever eat. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent for dinner. Our only disappointment is that the (very limited) menu in the restaurant was the same during the two (consecutive) nights we were booked on the "gastronomic package". I believe the menu changes every few days, so check before reserving. This is quite unfortunate, because the restaurant is among the very best in Avignon and worthy of mulitple visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlboro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Everything about this hotel is fabulous. My cousin and I stayed here for a weekend and were treated like queens. the town is pretty but to me, the hotel is why I would return back here. The room was so nice and comfy but my favorite part was the staff, especially down in the restaurant. The food was so delicious but the maitre d made the experience one I won't forget. Cooking classes are also offered and the chef is so nice. Who wouldn't want to take a french cooking class. Stay here and you will not be disappointed. This was my favorite hotel in France

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RER785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

When I walked through the front door this huge smile came over my entire body. The staff was fabulous. So attentive. Every room in the hotel is georgeous. The food was excellent. I loved walking up the staircase. Felt like I was walking through history. Breakfast on the terrace in the garden... superb. If you are looking for a hotel in Avignon, this is the place to stay without a doubt.

Room Tip: Room 20 is beautiful. Just remember if you open the windows the air conditioner cuts off. Didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCTsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

La Mirande Hotel is without a doubt one of the most serene and gorgeous properties. Each and every person on the hotel staff was delightful, professional, kind, and informative. The rooms are exquisite and the dining is beyond delicious...a truly memorable, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOBIS, Resident Manager at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

It is therefore with great pleasure that we read your comments regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief time at La Mirande and your kind words came as wonderful feedback to us and all the staff.

In the hope of welcoming you back to La Mirande on a future occasion, we thank you again for your kind comments and for having stayed with us this year.

Yours sincerely,

F. Lacoste
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel was fantastic. The staff were warm and welcoming, which I was pleasantly surprised to find being initially apprehensive before arriving of cold, snooty '5-star' service. We were booked into the apartment for 2 which is apart from, but very close to, the hotel. It was gorgeous and SO spacious. We were to transfer to the hotel proper for the second and third nights of our 3-night stay, but, after a booking in that apartment was cancelled, the hotel kindly offered to let us stay i there for the entire three nights. So we had a gorgeous spacious apartment AND a kitchen with maid service! (by foregoing the Hotel, you also forgo the view of the Palais des Papes.) We ate in the restaurant on the first night, which was easily the best meal of our entire trip in France. Service - as usual - was warm and attentive. We joined the Chef's table for dinner another night which was lots of fun. The breakfast buffets are delicious and the garden/courtyard in which meals are served (this was summer) is also gorgeous. Only downers: AC in the apartment was quite noisy and wi-fi connection was somewhat slow. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want lots of space, consider the apartment. It is the same price as a room (standard, I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C1TYMAT1C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Resident Manager at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at La Mirande. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

F. Lacoste,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Property: La Mirande Hotel
Address: 4 Place de l Amirande, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 26 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing