We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is as you would expect - great. The stay was made even better by the people. Friendly and courteous from the front desk through to the breakfast staff. Rather than having an air of authority which often comes with a hotel at this rate they were very down to earth and gave the impression they actually cared.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the palace are the best for watching street entertainers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank iain j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

we shall thank you for these very laudatory comments on our services.
I will let our staff know of your satisfaction and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at La Mirande during your next stay in Provence.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

La Mirande deserves six stars out of five. Except for the somewhat harsh towels, this hotel excels in every respect. It has the best location in Avignon, facing the back of the Papal Palace, the center of Avignon's historic universe. It has the best staff I have met in a hotel. They spoke perfect English, without a trace of an accent. They were always cheerful and helpful, anticipating one's needs. We stayed there 6 nights, so they were able to notice our pattern of leaving the room or asking for our car. When we asked for restaurant recommendations, they gave us options which met our desires rather than suggesting their favorites. We did dine at the hotel on our first night, and we loved it, but we were looking for variety as well on the other nights.

We booked the cheaper of the two room types we were offered at 450 euros per night. The room was exquisite, absolutely huge for a room in medieval Europe. The air conditioning was efficient and cooled the room without being noisy or blowing on the bed. The bathroom was large with two sinks and a separate rainhead shower and bath. Two luggage racks were provided (they anticipated that two people would be staying in the double room!) and the minibar was stocked daily with free bottled water, a real pleasure for any tourist. Also, there was a central control bedside that allowed all the lighting in the room to be raised or lowered as desired. The free Wi-Fi worked continuously and flawlessly.
For an additional 15 euros, breakfast was provided for 2 people, as part of the hotel's bed and breakfast plan, in a lovely high-ceilinged room or out on the flower-decked patio. The breakfast is a buffet, but one can also order eggs cooked to order ay no extra cost. There is a tempting assortment of every conceivable breakfast food. My favorite was the poppy seed cake. The staff noticed that I liked it day after day, and as I was checking out of the hotel, the young breakfast server came out to the Reception area with a surprise piece of the cake wrapped up and ready for our drive to Aix. What a nice gesture. What a great staff. What a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for these very nice and exhaustive comments.
Our team always aims to make our guests feel at home at La Mirande. Hearing that we have been that successful, is always for us a great pleasure.
We now know that our "poppy seed cake" will be your Avignon proustian "Madeleine" and we are looking forward to sharing another piece of it with you in the next future.

Warmst regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I love this Hotel! It is located in the best location of Avignon.The decoration is very French, cozy and chic.The service was grat. The room has a terrace where we could see all the old roofs of town and the Pope Palace... I love it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank juliana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Cara Senhora Deputada,

thank you very much for having taken the time to write on your stay at La Mirande.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the next future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and had a wonderful stay only for one night. We were passing through from Paris and ended up here. Great choice we ended up with the chef telling us stories of all his guests that have sat at this table very entertaining. Breakfast in the garden was a highlight. So close to all the sights would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guests,

we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed this short stay at La Mirande and that the dinner you shared with our chef at the guest table suited your expectation.
Jean-Claude Altmayer is not only a local figure ; as you said, he also had the opportunity to cook for very famous people from the politics and the show business. It is always a nice experience (and great fun) to listen to his stories.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, would you be traveling again to Avignon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

despite attractive hotel images, the room was very small, very dark. Just one window facing the wall. nice interiors of the hotel but only outside the room. great location. Unfriendly reception service: rude, in our opinion, lady at the front desk. manager hotel, francis lacoste, with whom we were talking about room size and lack of windows said the hotel is always right and was not friendly, of course after we paid for the room and extras.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ravau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you for the time taken to write on your stay at La Mirande.
We are sorry to hear that our property did not suit your expectation. The room you were staying in (room 23) is facing a wall, that is true... But it is not just a wall, as you were overlooking the Pope's Palace, the architectural highlight of Avignon, part of the Unesco Mondial Heritage.
You stayed for several nights at the hotel. When you left the hotel and informed us about your concerns, Mr Lacoste told you that every room of our property is different (we are located in an historical monument). We would have been more than happy to offer you another room if you would have told us before, that you were not happy with the one you booked.
The satisfaction of our guests is our aim and we would be very pleased to welcome you again and ensure your complete trust.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very nice location right behind the Palace Des Papes. It really is like staying in a museum. Our room was smallish but had a large bathroom and also a cosy balcony with a view of the rooftops of Avignon. A difficult place to drive to so I would recommend taking a cab (the streets in the old city are extremely narrow). The main floor rooms and restaurant are really nice. The breakfast buffet was very nice -- although the staff seemed a little overwhelmed at the number of people they were trying to serve at breakfast time. Front desk and all staff provided a high level of professional service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for these nice comments. It is always a great pleasure for us to get a feedback on the quality of our services and we are very happy to read that you will keep your stay by us in good memories.

Warmst regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband found this beautiful hotel for us and what a location and what a gorgeous hotel. We were directly across the street from the Palace of the Popes and this hotel was actually one of the Cardinal's homes. They have done a beautiful job of restoring this hotel. The service was excellent and the rooms were fantastic. I would stay here again in the future...without a doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guests,

thank you so much for these nice comments. We were more than happy to read that you enjoyed staying at La Mirande and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the next future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Address: 4 Place de l Amirande, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £278 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 26 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing