We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Very good hotel in a central location very near to restaurants and the Palais . Staff welcoming. Large comfortable room good bathroom facilites. Extremely pleasant breakfast room with added small conservatory. Very tasteful decor throughout. Would stay here again and would highly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lavender36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    631
    228
    63
    25
See reviews for
198
888
91
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed here for three days with my friend in a Privilege Triple Room. I've come to the conclusion that the Privilege rooms aren't appointed any nicer, they just get you a few extra feet of space. Our room was rather spacious for a European hotel, and the Privilege Triple Room included a King size bed and the equivalent of a cot, not a twin bed. Decor was sparse, but the room was clean and comfortable in neutral colors.

The bathroom was very spacious, and while I loved the deep old style tub, my friend was annoyed that it included a flexible shower head, but there was no shower curtain, and you had to sit in the bath and shower yourself with it.

Location couldn't get any better, as the hotel faces the main plaza and is literally a three minute walk to the Palace of the Popes. Our room faced a side street and not the plaza, which I would recommend as the plaza can get noisy, although it quiets down after midnight. Parking was nearby, with a five minute walk, although you will have to go up stairs if you don't drop off luggage. Parking was not cheap despite validation - somewhere between 15-20 euros. Driving inside Avignon was a nightmare due to all the tiny one-way streets, some of which are blocked off for residents only, but parking was off the ring road, so it was easy to get to.

Staff at front desk were very nice and spoke perfect English. Wifi was free and we could pick it up on our floor which was one of the highest ones. I recommend not eating at the restaurants on the plaza, they were boring and bland.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AureliaDifani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had three nights in Avignon and were looking forward to a nice peaceful stop here. When we entered the hotel, it felt really dark and dreary, our room was not much better. The walls were dirty and carpets really old, i felt like i couldn't walk barefoot in my room. The room had a damp smell that hit us every time we walked in. One the positive side, the bed was comfortable and the old style bathtub was a nice excuse to have a bubble bath every night. Location was great, very central and close to everything. It looked like they were doing some renovations, hopefully that will help brighten the place up.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariasyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Olivos, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is a great hotel with really nice and helpful staff. The location is PERFECT. The rooms are good. I would definitely return and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Good points -
1. Very good location. Our room was towards the side street, therefore not very noisy
2. Very helpful reception staff

Not so good points-
1. Our room was very small, but clean and well appointed
2. AC is centrally controlled, so you cannot set the temperature according to your need
3. Expensive breakfast which we did not try as there were loads of options at fraction of a cost nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sreerupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had a very different experience from some of the more negative reviews, perhaps because we stayed mid-week. We had room 412 on the 4th floor which is a corner room with Juliette balconies and french windows so you can lean out and look down on the square. The room is a prestige room so very spacious, the bathroom small but spotlessly clean with a good shower curtain, lovely toiletries. Separate toilet. Plenty of wardrobe space and also a chest of drawers, small table, desk, comfy chairs. As soon as we arrived, the reception staff were friendly and helpful and, without being asked, produced a map of Avignon and pointed out places of interest and gave us all the hotel information required. The breakfast is what you would expect for E14 - fresh fruit salad (very nice indeed), cereals, yoghurts, ham, cheese, mini croissants, chocolate croissants and pain raisin, jams and marmalade. For a supplement there is also fresh scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon, which we did not try. The central location is superb. There is no problem leaving your suitcases after check-out. If you get out of the lift on the 1st floor and walk through following the breakfast room sign, you will come across a little sitting room and a large lounge with flat screen TV and bookcases filled with books in different languages. You can then go down the stairs to the breakfast room. The entire hotel is spotlessly clean and I wouldn't hesitate to return for another visit. I am a light sleeper and found the air conditioning a bit noisy so turned it off and opened the windows wide every night and had no problems with noise until the street cleaners' early morning start, which is preferable to dirty Britain where the streets never get washed. A visit to the Popes' palace is interesting to a point but do allow a couple of hours for it. The 45 minute boat trip is quite nice if you've got nothing better to do but it's disappointing from a sightseeing point of view. The 'petit train' ride is a nice way to familiarise yourself with the town and quite funny when the 'train' comes face to face with a car in the very narrow alleyways and the car doesn't want to move and the 'train' can't. The gardens behind the Palace are lovely and have good views, a cafe and toilets. The indoor market is just a typical French market and there are also toilets there. The shop at the Tourist Information sells a map of Avignon for E5 which is far better than the free map.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

stayed here for just one night last weekend. The room was rather small and awkwardly shaped - the toilet and bathroom were separate, with doors opening out into the small curved corridor (as did the door of the small wardrobe), which led to all the doors getting in the way! There was no shower curtain on the bath, and the shower hook was low down near the bath so you couldn't really have a proper shower (at least, not without spraying water all over the bathroom floor).
Hotel staff were friendly and the hotel is conveniently located right on the main square.
Breakfast was average for 14euro pp.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily_UK_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
755 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
932 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing