We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good:
* Excellent location just off the main square of Avignon and within easy walking distance of all major historical sites.
* Friendly front desk staff.

Needs improvement:
* First room we were shown was directly next to the eating area, and it was only through luck (someone else cancelled) that we were able to switch rooms.
* Parking is somewhat far and awkward to reach from the hotel, if carrying suitcases.
* Small bed (double, not queen).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golda135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location is excellent, in the heart of Avignon within walking distance to the Pope's Palace and the Bridge, and also to Les Halles market and close to some good restaurants. The split level room (about 3 steps from entrance/bathroom to bed) was big enough and featured (for me!) a separate toilet.

The staff did what you asked of them, but no more and were not overly friendly. Breakfast was good. While they say there is wifi I couldn't connect in my room or the lobby and their landline connected computer on the first floor has snail slow connection and an awkward French keyboard. Far easier to walk less than 100m to Place de l'Horloge and use the free wifi.

Part of a tour package but I wouldn't pick them again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecat131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel and terrific staff in this beautiful city. Also very comfortable beds and free wi fi. . Would happily stay againThe building is very historic and as another bonus is opposite one of the city's bike rental spots. Excellent breakfast though you are surrounded by cafes if you wish to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The hotel's location can't be beat. The rooms were very comfortable with very nice toiletries provided. There were 3 of us in one room and the room was spacious enough for us all.
The staff was very helpful, nice, and courteous.
I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I make it back to Avignon

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runningtoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was our third hotel stop on a Spain/France tour. Hotel was kind of hard to find ~ we found it only because I recognized the restaurant underneath it from pictures but no biggy. First elevator in Europe that I felt like was big enough for us and our suitcases to go up at one time! Room was very nice and the set up was good. We had a queen sized bed room - very comfortable bed and we loved that it had an in-room coffee maker (something my friend had been deprived of all trip). The bathroom was good sized - toilet was in a separate room. The only compliant about the bathroom was there was very little counterspace but there was definitely room for something to be built out. Hotel was very quiet and our room faced the back side street which was also very quiet (just shops so no real activity in the morning or at night). Centrally located to all of the main attractions made walking easy and made it easy to stop back by the hotel in the middle of the day for a rest or to change clothes. The WiFi connection never did work and I know others at the hotel had the same problem. Our phones would connect to log in but the signal was so weak it never would connect for us to use it. They did have a computer for use when we really needed it so that worked out fine. The front desk staff spoke English very well and were all very cheery anytime we talked to them. Everything was very clean too. Overall, I would highly recommend if you plan to stay in Avignon and go to the Palaces and eat in the square. It was a bit of a walk to the train station but totally manageable. We didn't have a car while we were there and it's a good thing (we originally planned to) because I don't think there would have been anywhere to park it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in Hotel de l'Horloge as our first stop of three on our honeymoon in France. We had a spectacular stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They spoke english very well. I used my french and they were patient with me as I was quite rusty.

We loved the location. It's close to everything and the old charm is perfect when you want a slower pace. The room is small, but that is expected for Europe. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Our bed was actually two beds pushed together, but again, that is to be expected while traveling in Europe.

The breakfasts were amazing. I loved sitting in the little area off the street to drink tea and people watch. You can expect to find a lot of pastries, cheese, and also more North American food like cereal and milk.

If you're looking for a quaint little place that has a lot of charm and old age feel to it, then this is a great spot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayD820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent one night in the Hotel de l'Horloge in Avignon and our stay corresponded to our expectations. The check-in and check-out were quick and the personnel was very friendly. Our room was small but clean and comfortable (the bed was a little bit too soft - but it is hard to please every guest with the mattress). The breakfast in the morning was fine and offered sufficient choice - especially for a French hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MontChanais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £72 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing