We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the location”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Perfectly situated in the heart of Avingon, with all the main sites and restaurants on the doorstep. Rooms exceptionally small, complete with possibly the tiniest shower in the history of cramped showers.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PeteandSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great hotel in a great location. The bed was extremely comfortable and so was the room. It was very well appointed. The breakfast was good, but not worth the price. I would, however, recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mugsy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Lovely hotel right in the middle of everything. Next door to Hotel De Ville. We booked a junior suite far in advance and got a great deal through the hotel's website. Beautiful large room on the 3rd floor with excellent views of the square down below. Nice breakfast. Attentive staff made our taxi reservations for the TGV. We enjoyed the L'epicerie restaurant on Place Saint Pierre as well as Verso, a pizzeria on place Nicolas Saboly. We hired a private guide for 6 hours through Provence Panorama Day Tours. Excellent tour to Roussillion, Gordes, lavender fields and Pont du Gard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PalosVerdesPeninsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

my wife and i booked up a week here for august , we were central to everywhere, we had booked a junior suite through the hotels own web site in January which was the cheapest web site ,same price as a superior double, the room was bigger than we had expected , the view looked out over the square, air con in the room kept us cool blowing down our our comfortable large bed , the TV gave us the BBC so were able to keep up with home ,wifi in the room , bathroom was excellent although the separate toilet was tiny! we were central to most things ,less than 15 mins from everywhere inside the walls ,short walk to buses , a taxi to the tgv but you could walk to the central station,our only moan would be the coffee maker was not hot enough to make a decent cup of tea, stick a travel kettle in your suitcase, check out time of midday so we didn't even feel rushed out of our room on the final day,if you want a nice place to stay i would recommend this hotel , cant comment on the breakfast as we balked at the 17 euro price tag, but don't forget your kettle!

Room Tip: we had a corner room with 4 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bullerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hotel de L'Horoge is nestled behind the main square - Place de L'Horoge. This is the place
of many restaurants, cafes and shops. The hotel is within walking distance to all of the many amazing historical sites.
Our room is small like many French rooms but provides everything a weary traveller requires.
There is an elegant reading/ lounge room that serves as a retreat especially between tourist adventures.
The continental breakfast provides great sustenance for a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deid58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for one night last weekend and got a very good rate for this beautifully designed city centre hotel. We had a small room with a charming terrace on the top floor, with a very comfortable bed, great linens, spacious bathroom (most hotels would sacrifice bathroom space for the main room, but I prefer it the other way round), well stocked mini bar, quality toiletries. Worth every penny and the location couldn't be better, right on the Place de l'Horloge where it's all happening and a few steps from all the sights of this ancient city.
The nearest car park is the Parking de l'Oratoire, but we found to our horror that it was closed when we returned late at night. However, that turned out to be good luck as we found the much cleaner, much newer car park called Palais des Papes instead - also about half the price for an overnight stay, so won't be going back to Oratoire in a hurry. It's a little bit farther to walk from the Palais des Papes car park, about 300 metres, and over cobbles, so I guess not perfect for anyone with big bags.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We'd been there 2 nights aroud last christmas.
The location was really good and the breakfast was delicious!
We could see the view vaguely through the window.
We were totally satisfied with the hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank estelle_seoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £72 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing