We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics, nothing more”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
320 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Just the basics, nothing more”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour with Link.Paris. It was perfectly clean and nice, but nothing special. On the bright side, they had some nice snacks out when we arrived and the room was clean and the bath products quite nice. The room was HOT so I had to get up in the middle of the night to lower the thermostat and open the window (which was a bummer as it was LOUD in the morning). The shower had mediocre pressure but fine otherwise. We liked the down sheets (although I don't like square pillows but minor gripe) and the bed was comfortable. The part that really bummed us out was the really bad breakfast. It's almost impossible to get a bad meal in Provence, but this hotel breakfast buffet was bad even by American standards. Almost no French products (except jam and honey) - the scrambled eggs were from a mix, the sausage inedible, the coffee bad, the fruit mix nasty... I mean, it's hard to mess up breakfast. It was so bad I almost gave the hotel 2 stars as it's inexcusable with all the great food in this area to have a breakfast that makes a Hampton Inn breakfast look special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    622
    222
    61
    25
See reviews for
194
867
88
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed one night only during a rainy March day and still had a wonderful time. Having never visited the city before, we scheduled a quick visit to see if this was a come back to city and hotel. Yes to both! Parking was a nightmare (as always!), but the hotel had reserved a spot for us to check in and then gave great instructions for parking on the square. From our window we could look out and see the streets and attractions. The room was clean and tidy and staff was very helpful. Once we parked the car, we walked everywhere. Next time we are in the area, we'll stay here again and for at least 3 or 4 days. Great vibe in this city, regardless of the weather. And nice to have a hotel in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Softsoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
254 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

1:Good Location:You can walk from SNCF staion Avignon Centre at arround 10 min through
Avignon main street(rue de La Republique).And get to Place De L'Horloge.Left-side building
:this hotel.
2:If you use a taxi from Avignon TGV to hotel,it takes for 10 min with 15 euro(precisely 14.20).
3:In the main street you can find a bakery and super-market "Carrefour","Monoprix",Tourist
office.
4:TV:CNN,BBC-world,ZDF,NHK-world(engl).
5:Room #412(5F) faces to Place De L'horloge:Corner of north & east
6:Bath room and toilet are seperate.
7:Shower water pressure is weak.Only this room?Or upper floor?
8:Avignon Bridge(Saint-Benezet bridge):8 min walk unless lost a way.
Palais De Papes:3-4 min.
9:Direction Arles:Sncf runs every approximately 30 min and takes for 15 min
from Avignon Centre(PER)with a round trip 15 euro.
10:If you are intoroduced a tour from Avignon at tourist office,you can visit
Le Pont du Gard or Provence excursion.


.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TOMY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here in June and the location couldn't be better. Literally right in the old town and close to the Papal Palace. All the sights are within easy walking distance to the hotel, and there is abundant shopping close too! Rooms are clean and quiet with comfortable beds. A good breakfast buffet is in a room next door to the building with pastries, cereals, etc. The Staff speaks English and is attentive and helpful with great recommendations for good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCluvtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at just before christmas and I just loved the bear christmas decorations in the hotel. Location was amazing with the square christmas market at the door.The breakfast was great, loved the smell of freshbaked pastries in the morning as we walked down the stairs. Staff were very welcoming and very helpful.We stayed for 5 nights and we felt very relaxed and comfortable here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed around Xmas and the location of this hotel is 10steps away from the Xmas market and 20steps away from the Main Street of Avignon old town. Friendly receptionist who always recommend great restaurants
Room is really nice, not small, great view, neat and good amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aramic86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Small hotel with small room but it's clean with comfy bed. Good location with many nice restaurants & cafés around. Staffs speaks good English and are helpful & friendly too. Heating system is too strong as I often have to open the windows for cold air but enjoyed as the air is fresh & I can listen to the bell from the nearby church. I also like that they have a bathtub.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing