We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent location”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Loved our spacious premium room with large bed and a sitting room, separate toilet and nice bathroom. Breakfast had a very good variety of hot and cold foods. This hotel is right in the centre of Avignon within easy walking distance to Place de papes and Pont d'Avignon. Lots of restaurants and shops within 2 minutes walk. Short transfer to the Avignon TGV station. Very quiet enjoyable stay would highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sixamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de l'Horloge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is well placed in the centre of the old town, with easy access to all activities. If driving, make sure you set your sat nav to "Place de Papes" parking staion as many of the streets are very narrow and one way. Then it is just a short downhill walk to the hotel. Once you have parked, you won't need the car whilst exploring the town.
Our room was compact but comfortable, and there was a comfortable communal lounge room if desired. WiFi was free, and staff very helpful and friendly.
Very comfortable bed, and although street noise was audible during the day, it was quiet at night.
Lots of atmosphere, and spoilt for choice with places to eat, literally on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Facing onto the Rue de Felicien David is a bit quieter than the main square.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel de L'horloge is a great hotel right in the center of the center of Avignon. Strangely, the rooms are quiet considering how closely situated the hotel is to the main square. The location makes it perfect for venturing out to the Palais, to grab a bite to eat, to enjoy a drink at a bar, or to just wander the beautiful streets of Avignon. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in, ever. Add to this the fact that the price for a room is incredibly affordable, and you've got a great place to stay in Avignon. Really enjoyed my peaceful, comfortable room and the ample staff are very helpful. Would stay again or recommend to family and friends. Stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cameron-VVV-Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location was excellent, right in the center of town so it is close to everything.
The owners did a wonderful job of decorating, capturing the immagination of the building and town and maintaining this character hotel. There are lots of extra ammenities. It was a joy to stay here.

The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was very clean. Quality all around.
This hotel has a unique elegant style which complimented the history of the town. The concierge were friendly and helpful which made the stay even more enjoyable.
There was even a computer provided should anyone need one, as well they offer Wifi.
There is nothing about this hotel we didn't like. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay again, A great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cana1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel in a Junior Suite and found it very comfortable and roomy with a a nice bathroom. The location could not be better but I don't recommend the breakfast. Better food at a better price is available and convenient a five minute walk from the the hotel, The staff recommended some well-priced restaurants with outstanding food at small squares near the hotel, but the ones on the main square are over-priced and not as good. An exception to that would be an outdoor table near sunset at Le Moutardier with a great view of Palais des Papes. The surrounding villages are wonderful and not to be missed, the front desk staff advised us and arranged very nice minivan tours for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ttings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel itself is quite nice, the rooms are clean and well kept and the staff are friendly enough. The best part of the hotel is its location, its close to everything and the whole city is walkable. I recommend that you don't eat on the square though, we didn't so maybe I'm just being a snob, but it looked touristy. Otherwise though stroll a couple blocks and you can pick up a pastry for breakfast and coffee, I wouldn't recommend the hotel breakfast, again didn't have it, but with a cheap option within a 5 minute walk it seems like a no brainer. The hotel did arrange a tour for us which was great and I have no complaints otherwise. Overall a good solid hotel, great location and nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KariGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A perfect location in the heart of Avignon with wonderful service and excellent rooms. You couldn't ask for a better location when visiting Avignon. We loved waking up to the sound of church bells out our window. And the staff couldn't have ben more helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGregoryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#16 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £71 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing