We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to spot by clock tower”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited in May of 2012. There is a large clock in tower so can't get too lost. The hotel is very well located near the center of town square, close to the Palace of Popes. Also it is a short distance to the train which we took to Arles one day. There are plenty of restaurants right outside the hotel door as well as good shopping. The hotel itself is pleasant, as are the rooms. We did not have breakfast there but rather down the street at bakeries. There is even a McDonald's close by. There was a problem with their credit card machine which meant we had to pay in euros instead of planned charging - that was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24lorraineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our four night stay in Avignon had us stay in a wonderfully central location just a stones throw away from the Pope's Palace. The room itself was a rating above the basic option offered and had everything we needed although the room and the bathroom could do with a slight upgrade in terms of décor. The breakfast at a supplement of 18 euros was overpriced especially considering you are two minutes away from wonderful cafes / boulangeries where you could obtain exactly what the hotel was offering for a third of the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had a lovely two night stay here. The room had a little terrace and was sweet and comfortable; while not huge, it was easy to spend time in it. The staff on reception were friendly and extremely helpful. The location is central yet not noisy and I'd certainly return.
Some factors that might bother others more than me are... There is no room service at the hotel - but it's very central and there are restaurants and a Carrefour very nearby. The wifi was ok but not fantastic (<1 Mbps in my bedroom, 3 Mbps in my bathroom) and required credentials to be (re-)entered for each device, several times per day. The reception of BBC TV was too sketchy for me to be able to watch the Commonwealth Games.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
1  Thank DearSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is right in the centre of Avignon, within easy walking distance of attractions such as the Palais Des Papes, the river, restaurants, etc. It was also relatively easy walking distance from the railway station so no need for a taxi. Our room overlooked a side street and was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was in a very pleasant room on the ground floor. Overall a good choice to stay in Avignon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paddyandjohnsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We started our Provence trip in Avignon. It was a bit difficult to get to the hotel in the narrow alleys but once there we found the location great. Pity the parking is far. the hotel is nice, great breakfast room and tasty breakfast, tiny lobby, rooms - nice. All in all - recommended.

Room Tip: Always prefer higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galit293982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a short walk from the Pope Palace and is right at the Horloge square. We visited this hotel in the end of July during the Avignon festival. We followed our GPS's instructions to the hotel through the old city. Big mistake. Majority of roads are small and one-way, and some roads were closed because of festival. *DO NOT* drive there. Hotel's guests must park their cars at parking hall at the Pope's Palace (it's called Palais des Papes Parking) which can be accessed by car from the outside of the old city walls. It's then 200m walk to the hotel.

Rooms were a bit small but clean. Expect some noise in early hours during the festival from the square.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Sathamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Quaint hotel with a very good location.
We asked for help getting a tour around the area, and the front desk was very quick and helpful.
Overall, the service was superior and friendly.
I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £71 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing