We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One star for the location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Les Cordeliers
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

That's all I can give this place. Got a tiny "appartment" at 5. floor under the roof. The place was dirty and the impression was that this place had not been cleaned for several months. Survived three days at the "appartment" and we did not have any visit of housekeeping and we had to ask for clean towels and toiletpaper at the reception. I know that it is budget but there are limits...
I'm sorry, but I would not recommend this place to anyone, not even students on a budget.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

As others have said, this is basically student accommodation serving as holiday studio residences. So, it has all the hall marks, good and bad, of such accommodation. We found it suited our requirements very well as we came by train (arriving at the TGV and taking a taxi but leaving from the Central station and walking). The main room was quite large with a small wardrobe, dressing table with two drawers, small dining table with two chairs and TV unit with small TV (French channels only). The bed was comfortable.

You could only make breakfast and perhaps a light lunch/sandwich in the kitchenette, which had two hot plates, microwave, fridge, some crockery and cutlery, a kettle, a coffee maker, one frying pan and saucepan but no chopping board or vegetable knife. I agree that the bathroom (particularly the shower) was small but there was plenty of hot water. However, the combined shampoo/shower gel was like gold-dust so get a supply in!

Our room was on the first floor looking at some trees, which was nice, as greenery is in short supply in Avignon. It was noisy at night with the window open mainly because the rooms face a theatre and the Avignon festival was in full swing. We asked for a fan beforehand and were given one.

During July reception is available at the week-end. You will be given a number to call if it isn't staffed. There's no maid service so the room isn't cleaned and we did find that the tiled floor got a bit dirty. It might be an idea to offer a cleaning service for an additional charge.

We paid 100 euros a night which we thought pretty good for the festival period.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors will get more air in them if you're leaving the windows open at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_early_retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Allow for the fact that the main business of Residence Les Cordeliers is student accommodation and then it is possible to appreciate what great value this is. Tourists are accommodated in a separate section. Our room was large with two beds and basic cooking. The friendly staff quickly supplied us with cooking equipment not already in the room. It is a quiet corner of Avignon but close to the Rue de Teintures which provides an excellent route for walking into the centre. It is just inside the walls from where the regional buses were operating and not far from the railway station. Yes, we had to sit next to the interesting sculpture in the courtyard for half an hour until the staff returned from lunch, but that was the only inconvenience from not having hotel standard reception. The building is very solid and in good condition. There are sound proof vents so you can close the double glazing if you think it necessary. Economical clothes washing facilities are also available.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which meant being a little conscious of privacy issues with regards to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Very unfriendly reception opening hours, it was left unattended most of the time even during its opening hours. It got me a lot of trouble when I checked in.

The main gate opens just from 9am to 7pm, you have to park your car in the public area which doesn't look very safe, or, you have to rush back before the gate close and sacrifice the nice night view of Provence.

Back to the room, it was just basic, clean, bathroom very small, no air con, good wifi.
Don't expect there would be cleaning service, I stayed 6 nights and no one ever came to clean the room or to change towels and linen.

I think this apartment is more like a student hostel with limited service, not a proper service apartment for holiday, it should't exist in any hotel booking website but real estate one.

Don't screw up your holiday staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RachaelLKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This facility is good for longer stays and if you would like to cook your own food.

The staff was friendly and helpful presenting a map upon arrival. The rooms are clean and are a student dorm type studio. The facility is used for student housing and sometimes on late nights this can be heard but not too much. The lobby is not open 24 hours and if you arrive late you will have to make some kind of arrangements.

The main drawback of this housing is the bathroom. It is a bit small and the water heater in my room was located directly above the toilet. I hit my head almost every time I sat on the toilet.

The area is secure by key card. The Wifi works well.

There is a breakfast option for 6.5 Euro but I did not partake.

Room Tip: The higher up the less echo from the courtyard below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found the staff very welcoming but there isn't usually anyone around so don't expect a hotel style reception. The area is very secure with key cards to let you in the complex, the block and your room. It was roomy with a large bedroom/study/ table area. There were 2 hot plates, fridge, a microwave and sink with hot water in the kitchenette. I was impressed by the electric coffee filter machine and washing up liquid. We prepared breakfast and evening meal and ate out at lunchtime. We got croissants from Carrefour City or La Mie Quotidienne on rue de la République about 10-15 mins away. We were happy with French only TV but could be a problem for some. We were on the ground floor so didn't want to have windows open all night. This could be a problem in summer as no air con. Ask for a fan at least. There were heaters for winter. It was quiet and the area is shabby or picturesque depending on how you look at it. You are soon in the posher areas. It is about 10 mins from the Central station and TGV shuttle and 5 mins from the bus depot. Main square about 15 mins walk. The en suite was fine and had a hair dryer, towels, soap but the shower is tight and the curtain mouldy and ripped. On the whole we had a very pleasant stay as we were expecting student style accommodation.

Room Tip: Upstairs room in summer so you can have the window open. It seems secure but we didn't want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We needed a room on short notice, and Les Cordeliers worked well for us. The price was very reasonable, and the location was outstanding. This must have been some sort of dormitory, and works well as a hotel. The building and courtyard are older and very cool in a historic way. The place is secure with a nice ambiance. There is no room air conditioning, probably because there is no easy way to install it through the thick walls. It was plenty cool enough in mid September just by opening the window. Some street noise comes in, but was not a problem for us over three nights. The mini kitchen worked well. The bathroom was tiny, reflecting the design of the times during construction. The funky old traps in the plumbing gurgle a little bit when draining, which allows a slight bit of odor through. The bed was hard, but I bring along a Big Agnes Air Core Short pad for just such situations. The furnishings were spare, but that added to the feeling of being in a quaint old building. The room was clean, but there was a little dust on some obscure surfaces. The staff was super helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the second or third floors. There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,653 reviews
5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Paradou
3.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
3.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Avignon Sud - Parc Des Expositions
0.6 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Cordeliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Cordeliers

Address: Residence des Cordeliers 49 rue du Portail Magnanen, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Avignon
Price Range: £39 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Les Cordeliers 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Les Cordeliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing