We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cafe, tasty food”
Review of Le Petit Gourmand

Le Petit Gourmand
Ranked #9 of 597 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Le Petit Gourmand" is a typical french food small restaurant providing home made meals cooked by the Chef close to you as if you were at home. 16 seats inside and double possible outside during the beautiful season (outside terrace here may be used more than 6 months per year from Easter).We have a special meal called "Secca d'Entrevaux" (thin slices of dried beef with pesto, potatoe in a owen, hot melted cheese and mesclun). Other "must": fresh pastas with truffle, or fresh raviolis with foie gras inside and a few desserts that you may find all in our "Café Gourmand".The rest of the dishes are proposed according to the season.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
149 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Charming cafe, tasty food”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We didn't have a reservation, but arrived right as they opened and were seated right away. By the time we finished our meal, the place was packed, so I recommend making a reservation.

We started with the foie gras with mango chutney. I had pasta with shaved black truffle and my wife had the squid ink risotto. For dessert we did the crémé brûlée and the cheesecake. Everything was very tasty and a good value.

Bon Appetit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    291
    56
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in Avignon”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had one of the best meals of our trip in France at this restaurant. The lunch special menu included a salad plus dessert for 17€. I had the "salade de mer" , a delicious combination of smoked salmon on a bed of mixed greens with balsamic vinegrette, shrimp with citrus, and avocado mousse. For dessert I chose the Rum Baba. Everything was made on the premises. Attractive presentation and delicious flavour combinations. Attentive service (from staff who care!), on a shaded patio on a quiet pedestrian street. Doesn't get any better!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllenA532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“best french cuisine I've ever tasted”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is definetely the best french restaurant I have been. The couple who keeps the this small and cozy restaurant are really nice and friendly and the service is excellent. The food was incredible and the prices affordable! I would recommende people to go to Avignon just to taste the food here!

Tout simplement excellent faut absolumet le retour! Un grand merci!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Avignon!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We ate here based on the Trip Advisor reviews and loved this restaurant.

The food was fresh, tasty and well priced.

I had the pasta with truffles which was just divine. They were more than happy to cater for my wife who is a vegetarian.

The husband and wife who run this place are wonderful hosts.

We look forward to returning and highly recommend this restaurant in Avignon!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“ok but wanted to like it more”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have written and then re-written this attempt at a review because I just don't quite know how to rate Le Petit Gourmand. We had lunch there recently - a family occasion and to be honest it was a bit wierd. The food was fine, the service a bit overly controlling but fine and the bill was higher than expected but essentially acceptable. What we found odd though was that the menu seemed to have been put together in such a random way that it looked very unappealing. There were only 4 main dishes available, 2 of which were winter-style options that simply didn't suit a sunny day in May. The other two were a pasta with truffles - something of an acquired taste and then a really odd cured beef carpaccio dish that was trying and failing to be original. The addtion of a sour, hot cheese sauce and a baked potato did not help. Overall I have had better meals and worse ones and this was somewhere in the middle but on this particular visit LPG did not merit the rave reviews. Maybe next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SciRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Gourmand also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing