We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay and excellent staff”
Review of Pop' Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pop' Hostel
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If every hostel could be like this, the world of budget travel would be so much better. Warm, friendly welcome from staff. Modern design, excellent Wi-Fi or internet terminals, super cheap Happy Hour drinks at bar, and very very comfortable beds. Rooms were spotless and each dorm bed is equipped with a curtain so you can draw it closed for privacy. Toilets could have used a little more cleaning, but it was a busy weekend, so lots of people in and out. The price, location, and service is unbeatable. Note that there is no shared kitchen, only a closet with a microwave and a few random pieces of cutlery. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have traveled in 11 countries and have a few gross hostel/hotel stories, so my expectations aren't very high. Pop' exceeded those expectations by a mile.

Located on the walled city's main drag, this is a short ten minute walk from the train or bus. You have a bunch of cafes, groceries, and trendy clothing stores and boutiques literally at your front door. Convenience is a major factor but not the only one.

This hostel is one of the cleanest I've visited. In fact, while using the bathroom late at night around 1 AM, a worker was cleaning the premises.

The rooms are plain, but include a table, some chairs, a mirror, and sink. Mine was a six-person bunk and I was on my own for the first night. The French doors open up onto the street below, so you could just look out to see what was going on and feel in the mix. The beds were pod-style with your on reading light and electrical sockets/phone chargers built into the top of the bed, which was very convenient. Metal cubbies that allowed a lock to be placed on it roll out from under the bed and the beds have a curtains to allow privacy.

Extras include free wifi and computers in the reception area lounge, though sometimes sporadic, baggage area, and a bar area with large communal tables. The crowd was pleasant if not quiet; I think the city's religious, peaceful nature lended to a more mature tourist base even among teens and 20-somethings. Sleep was decent both nights, and no noise or drama.

Situated in an old building, there is a retrofitted tiny elevator, but the architectural details are beautiful. The door of the hostel required you to walk in a first floor open air lobby area. if you look up, the ceilings and upper walls are carved into faces and floral shapes. A nice details were the fire place in the room, though it is now longer functional, obviously.

I would recommend.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonLeeGilstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at this hostel for 5 nights and had the best stay. The rooms are big and the beds have curtains so they are a bit more private. Downstairs there is a bar and a nice sitting area where it is easy to sit and chill wit other travelers. There isn't a kitchen but there is a microwave and a fridge so it is possible to have your own food, also there are lots of restaurants all around. 
     The staff was super friendly and were ready to do everything to help us, we were having a problem getting to nearby towns cause we are to young to rent a car so one of the staff member just took us for a day trip in her car, Marion it was the best - one of our favorite days, thanks again!
   I will most defiantly stay there again next time in France.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cons:
Noise. The 8-bunk room faces onto Avignon's main thoroughfare, and the French doors aren't double-glazed.
Bunk size: The bunks are enclosed at each end, so if you want to stretch out when you sleep, you need to somehow lie diagonally with your feet sticking out, otherwise they're squashed against the wooden panel. I'm only 6 feet (183 cm) tall, yet it was an issue for me.
Toilets/showers: Only two toilets and two showers for 12 people. Not enough, especially taking into account the point below.
Communal bar/areas: In the evenings the hostel becomes a bar open to the public. Lots of local youngsters come in and it's impossible for hostel guests to use communal facilities such as the pool table. Worst of all, the bar customers have to use the hostel toilets! So between 8pm and midnight the hostel's scarce toilet facilities, which are already spartan at two between 12 people, are stretched to breaking point. Forget about having a shower or a peaceful toilet visit between these times.
Breakfast: You can pay €5 euros for the hostel breakfast, but you get very little. There's an excellent bakery directly across the road where you can get much more for your money.

Pros:
Staff: Very friendly and helpful, and speak English.
Beds: Clean and comfortable, excepting the size issue as stated above.
Toilets/showers: Despite the overcrowding, they are kept reasonably clean and tidy. Importantly, they are cleaned soon after the bar closes at midnight, which is vital because the constant stream of visitors leaves them filthy.

Conclusion: It's not a terrible hostel by any means, but for the price you pay (20 euros per night), you'd expect a little more focus on the guests' convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have been 4 nights in Pop' Hostel, the 4 people room is nice, but the 8 people room is terrible. Wi-fi is weak in the room, so I always go to the public area to use wi-fi. The staff is helpful and friendly, they speak English very well. There is a small space ( or a small room), you can use a microwave oven and a kettle here, but the small space smells bad because there is no window, the dishes are dirty because people always wash dishes haphazardly. The main street will be noisy in the night, some drunks and young men shout very loudly everyday, otherwise, there are many homeless who wander on the main street, it should be careful. Excluding external factors, however, the hotel's cost-performance ratio is high.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 970oliviaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I am an older female sole traveler. I opted to stay in a private room with private bathroom/shower. It's a minimalistic/small room, but it was on the top floor (they have a lift) with a decent view and I could alter the room temperature easily enough. The single bed was a mattress on 4 blocks--comfortable enough for what you pay for. Good sense of security, wonderful breakfast room overlooking the main street (single lane traffic), free wifi. The staff were awesome. I didn't join in on 'happy hour' but I could tell the young people staying there enjoyed it. For someone who normally stays in 'regular' hotels, I was impressed by the cleanliness of this hostel and the 'pop' furnishings/decor. Lots of info available for joining a tour and I witnessed one staff member attempt to find other lodgings for someone who was told the hostel was fully booked (she found one for him). I would likely stay here again. The breakfast (fee) was croissants, fresh bread, jam, choice of hot beverage. Small but filling. I was fine with it. There was a bakery across the street and I filled up on Pain Du Chocolat each morning.

Room Tip: A higher room gives you a view over the Avignon rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank webwalker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have been one night in a queen bedroom. The stay was perfect!! Very friendly and pollite staff and one of the most important things was the location! Just in the middle of the main street of Avignon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Apuecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regina Boutique Hotel
Regina Boutique Hotel
#18 of 69 in Avignon
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#14 of 69 in Avignon
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop' Hostel

Address: 17 Rue de la Republique, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Avignon
Price Range: £36 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pop' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing