We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aux Augustins
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa(Le Pontet)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel de l'Horloge(Avignon)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Magnan Hotel(Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$479
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$429
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
234
42
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
42
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringpocket wifigenial hostbooked directlysmall kitchenetteinner courtformer monasteryattic roomdoor openinga quick minute walkfantastic hospitalitya great place to staymaking breakfastlovely courtyardtowel warmerthe ground floorfood market
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for two short nights, and wish it would have been longer. Deceiving from the street, the hotel is lovely. Our room was sparkling clean, beautifully decorated, no detail left untouched. The bathroom and shower were huge, looked brand new, and the towel warmer was sheer decadence. Our room was on the courtyard, where we enjoyed some wine, with borrowed wine glasses graciously supplied by Sabine. Sabine and Patrick were warm, lovely hosts, and the church bells were the perfect touch. Central to everything we wanted to see and do, this hotel was perfect. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Our room on the courtyard was lovely, but the upper floor rooms looked wonderful as well.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylburnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good location. Stayed 3 nights in self-catering room which had fridge, microwave, sink, kettle, coffee machine. Hotel has free wifi. Very well decorated. We had room on ground floor with an outside table and chairs in a shared courtyard, very pleasant and away from the noise of main street. We would recommend this hotel. Restaurants nearby but suggest going a bit further afield. Good greek/byzantine deli nearby. Do not follow hotel's suggestion of using Les Halles car park as very difficult to find and very difficult to park there, small spaces. We used car park at Palais des Papes, cost approx 10 euros per day and about 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on ground floor around the courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutland1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed for 3 nights and loved it. High quality fixtures and fittings and decor. Immaculately clean.Central courtyard with beautiful garden was a pleasant outlook. Easy access by walking from the Central Avignon Station and if you need to go to the TGV station which is out of town there is a train shuttle.As a solo traveler felt very safe in the apartment as well as the area. Easy walking access to all the main sites in Avignon.

Patrick and Sabine were very helpful. I'm gluten and lactose intolerant.Being able to go to the markets (Les Halles) and buy meat/fish /fruit and veges was a bonus. There is also a stall that sells gluten and lactose free cakes, savory loaves, and other salads. Also further down Rue de la Carreterie Risotto and Co have a range of gluten and lactose free risotto.All of these options made Avignon very easy for me foodwise.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Always a bit difficult to know where to stay when traveling in a foreign country, but Aux Augustins was a paradise and very lucky find in Avignon! Our studio unit was adequately spacious for 2 people, and the amenities were comfortable, very well decorated, with clearly a lot of attention paid to details. We overlooked the courtyard with beautiful flowers, and opened up our windows every day to a view of the Augustins bell tower. We also had the opportunity to buy fresh groceries at the local farmer market and Les Halles, etc and do a bit of cooking with all the kitchenware provided.
There are several boulangeries within 1-2 blocks, a groceries store within 2 blocks, and the giant Les Halles market within a 5 minute walk. The "main" tourist attractions, namely Place de Horlage and Palais des Papes are also within a nice 5-10 minute walk.

We had a rental car, and loaded/unloaded our luggage right in front of Aux Augustins (they have a small pull-in 2-car area). We parked in the small parking lot right across from the inn; otherwise, parking at Les Halles is also a relatively easy option (this is much easier than some of the larger cities in France).

One reviewer indicated the nearby area can be "seedy" -- my wife and I walked this town 5-10x during the days and nights we spent there, and it felt safer than most cities back home in the US.

Our host, Patrick, is a gentleman. He lives on site and spends a lot of time to make sure the grounds are beautiful and his guests comfortable.

In summary, this is a small but modernized, renovated inn within an old European city. The rooms are well decorated, comfortable, and well-equiped, and the property is safe and in a good location. The pictures online are reflective of what it looks like. I was looking for a great place to rest each evening with our travels, and this was perfect. However, if you are looking for a grand resort & spa, with on-site restaurant, pool, and a gigantic $1000/night suite, this is not the place.

I would absolutely recommend Aux Augustins without reservation, and after walking around and seeing all the other commercial hotels we found on Hotels.com, Tripadvisor, etc. that are in the main tourist area, I would in fact stay here again if we were to come to Avignon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The apartments were very nice, newly renovated--just beautiful. We did not use the kitchen much although we did appreciate the ability to make coffee or tea in early morning or late evening. There was a great courtyard and had we been there in the other 3 seasons, we might have enjoyed some wine out in the courtyard for "happy hour"; however, we were there in a very cold November--no al fresco wine for us! We got some great recommendations from Patrick for restaurants which we enjoyed. We were on a wine buying trip through southern France, so we had traveled by car. Parking was a big drawback, as there is none dedicated to the apartment. There was a small lot across the street as well. Unfortunately, we were unable to take advantage of that as the night we found a slot there was just before the flower market on Saturday morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews