We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right fit”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Right fit”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a clean, not fancy, nice hotel a few miles from the city center. I was just looking for an affordable place where I mainly would sleep and shower. If you have a car (free gated parking) it is trivial to get to the old city. You can walk along the river - ~ 45 minutes but pleasant. Staff was very helpful in setting up dinner reservations and other helpful tips. Breakfast is typical of european hotels - breads, jams, cereal, meats, yogurts etc. Bed was typical for these types of hotels. It was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston_Eriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    121
    67
    26
    14
See reviews for
51
84
13
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We booked the hotel based on the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. I have stayed in Avignon before - in the city center - but as we were renting a car, I didn't worry about being a couple of miles outside of town. This used to be a Holiday Inn Express, so it's much nicer than the average Kyriad, which are independently owned (we stayed at another one near Marseille, but that's another review).

Everything was clean and extremely comfortable. We had a triple room, which is basically a double bed with a double sofa bed. Having that open during our 3 night stay made the room tighter, but it was okay as we only spent our early mornings and evenings in the room. My 8-year-old was VERY happy to be able to watch cartoons on the satellite TV channels.

Breakfast was extra, but we didn't think it was worth paying 10 Euros per person, but rather walked over to Carefour (supermarket) and purchased a few things for our morning meal. Coffee and tea were free in the room.

Avignon was our home base for several days of traveling around the region: L'Isle Sur La Sorgue, Fontaine de Vaucluse, Roussillon, Venasque, Sault, Gordes, Les Baux, St. Remy.

We did have a bit of a discussion about the prices, however. We booked the room directly from their website about a week before our arrival. But when we checked in, we saw another rate listed. After speaking with the lady at reception (and when she realized one of the three was a child) she made a price adjustment and lowered our rate! This said a lot to me about their interest in encouraging repeat business.

Be warned, their free internet access (in their lobby business center) is very outdated. I couldn't access my Yahoo Mail or many other sites because they don't have any current software installed on their system. Instead, used a cyber cafe in town

I would definitely stay here again on a future visit to Avignon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panchita_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is located close to the TGV station so provides a good point of access. Its about a 10min walk from the station or the BLUE bus takes a few mins and costs 1.20Euros. There isn't really much else close to the hotel. However, the BLUE bus I mentioned also goes into the centre of Avignon (bit too far to walk so the bus is ideal). Don't let the fact that the hotel is far from the town centre put you off from staying there as the bus service is quite regular and only has 3 stops (centre, hotel, TGV) so its pretty reliable and quick.

In terms of the hotel itself, rooms are pretty standard fare for a 3*. Not huge but more than adequate. You get a decent bathroom, TV, tea/coffee making facilities etc. Overall, was clean and comfortable.

The hotel has a restaurant on site which we didnt use but it looked to have a decent menu. Breakfast is standard Euro fare ... continental buffet.

Overall, recommended especially for overnight stays when you need to get the TGV.

By the way, Avignon is a lovely town and the centre is worth a visit!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisGuyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix Les Bains
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We walked for one & half hours to get to the historic village! A little advise on how to get there would have been a wonderful help. We asked for a map but was given no advise that the village was SO far away. The Hotel was very comfortable, clean and quiet and helpful in every other way. Thank You!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Point, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This hotel is far from the train station and downtown. However, it is very clean and quiet. The breakfast was average. There is a restaurant in the hotel, which is nice. The front desk employees were extremely helpful. The bus is about 1/2 block from the front of the hotel, you can take this downtown and back. I was more concerned with a clean room and safe location. This hotel meets both those needs.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

If you're planning on finding this place via foot from TGV Avignon station late at night, my advice is to figure out path to hotel in advance. Its not as straightforward as you might think.

That said, the rooms are clean, the satellite TVs have English channels (incl trashy euro porn), and its well-located if you're picking up a rental vehicle the following day. Nice comfy beds as well which was a nice change from apartment-style accommodations in Paris.

If you're arriving on a weekend, my advice is to arrive without a reservation (or call ahead -- most staff seemed to speak passable english) as available rates were 10 euros cheaper than what you'll find online. Good value regardless.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dehuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of May for six nights. We arrived at the TGV station and a brief walk to the hotel was all that was needed. Check-in was straight-forward and the room fine, the staff excellent. The room was not large, but adequate. Our room faced the front of the hotel where a fairly busy main road was close by. Yet the soundproofing was excellent and the air-conditioning, although not the best, was fine. The rooms were quiet at night. Breakfast ok, although 10€ possibly a bit much for cold buffet! The coffee machine, at breakfast, was good and did bean-to-cup espresso (yum).
The interesting thing was, and perhaps unusual for us, although we were there for six nights we never had to go to or call reception for anything! That must mean we had all we expected and it was good.
There was only one disappointment. We booked online via the parent Kyriad website and there it gave us a booking that said a room with two double beds. This was not strictly correct as the room had one double bed and almost a double sofa bed made up. The double bed was fine but the sofa bed was not brill for six nights, and had hard metal edges.
Location wise it suited us well, without a car. The Navette shuttle bus 1.20€ was easy, regular, and reliable. There is only one intermediate stop for the shuttle which is called Bon Fleur, and very close to the hotel. You can download a timetable from the www.----.fr website. This proved excellent in going to the old town and back even later on in the evening when most other local buses have finished. In easy walking distance is a handy Lidel and a large Carrefour supermarkets.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilOfWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Access Avignon
Adagio Access Avignon
#39 of 69 in Avignon
366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud
Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud
#51 of 69 in Avignon
96 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Paradou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Centre Commercial Cap Sud
5.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Avignon 1
B&B Hotel Avignon 1
#8 of 10 in Le Pontet
71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 69 in Avignon
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare

Property: Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
Address: 2 Rue Mere Teresa, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3* hotel, ideally located at the heart of the Provence, just 5mn away from the city centre, the City of the Popes and 500m from Avignon TGV station. The 100 large and comfortable rooms accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have been refurbished and equipped with flat tv screens and offer a complimentary tea and coffee set! The hotel has been all renovated in 2010; free wifi access – free closed car park - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Avignon Courtine Gare Tgv Hotel Avignon
Avignon Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing