We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean and providing a good night's sleep, but.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and providing a good night's sleep, but.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights during the festival, and it was comfortable. The beds were good, the room was fresh looking, reasonably sized and we had a safe. The air con, importantly, was super-efficient. Our meal in the hotel restaurant was pleasant.
However, it was disappointing that such a busy hotel, which was by no means cheap, had a rather penny-pinching approach - though we had a kettle and drink-making facilities in the room, the supplies were not automatically topped up, we had to ask, and though there was a bottle of mineral water in our room on arrival, on the second night none was provided. I asked the Hotel Reception for a fresh bottle, thinking it was an oversight, and at first the Receptionist said that she would see to this for us. When we returned in the evening and still no bottle of water in the room, I asked again at Reception, and was told that the bottle I had found on arrival was a: "courtesy gift", and that I wasn't entitled to a fresh bottle daily. However, rather than have me complain again, I expect, the Receptionist went and got me some more water. Another silly thing, we had to ask for ceramic mugs from the restaurant - the vessels provided by the hotel for tea and coffee making were thin plastic glasses, the sort you generally get in a hotel bathroom for mouth rinsing. Had we been so foolish as to try and make a cup of tea in one of those, it would have immediately melted and tea would have gone everywhere. When we arrived, an English couple were already complaining to Reception about this, and when we got to our room we found that the problem was universal in this hotel. Incomprehensible, really.
The location of the hotel is ideal if you are using the TGV station, but a bit of a mission to get into the old city, the bus comes along about every 15 - 20 minutes and lurches all round some housing estates on the outskirts of the city in the morning. It does stop at a trading estate with a huge Carrefour, if this is of interest. However, in the evening, the return bus we caught outside the post office was very speedy, and took a faster route. This was only available after 700pm. In the Festival, accommodation is at a premium, and you may not have much choice as to where you stay. At other times, unless you particularly want easy access to the TGV station, you could probably do a bit better for the money.

Room Tip: The hotel location is quiet, and the rooms are very standardised. No particular benefit in one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarotjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolasinglese, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for the time spent writting your advise about our hotel;
We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us;

Regarding your remark about the mineral water bottle provided in the rooms, it is true that it is a welcome gift usually given for the night of arrival;
Although we are happy to read that the receptionist give you an extra bottle when you asked.

The glasses provided in the rooms are adapted for hot drinks; they are not made out of plastic but are paper cup, hot resistant.

We thank you again and hope to welcome you another time,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    119
    64
    26
    12
See reviews for
51
80
13
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Located near the train station, not in the heart of the old city. But it has parking! And you can drive, shuttle or walk into town. Very friendly and helpful multi-lingual staff. We ate both breakfast and dinner here and enjoyed both.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abattenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolasinglese, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

I am happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay in Avignon and especially in our hotel as we do our utmost to please our guests requests.

Thank you for pointing out your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed 3 nights with my friend in this hotel during the "Festival d'Avignon".
10 min by foot from the gare TGV, so a bit remote as you have to take the train or the bus to go to the city center.
The first thing we noticed in the hotel was this horrible odor in the corridors coming from a dirty carpet I suppose. While the room seemed OK at first sight, we found that cleanliness was insufficient and only superficial.
But the worst was the breakfast! Everything was disorganized and dirty: the glasses, the plates, the mugs. I did not dare to try the eggs or the fruits because they didn't look fresh at all. Only the pastries and croissants were good. A client asked for black tea and the employee, who obviously didn't know where to search, opened a cabinet in which they were clorox and cleaning stuff. Gross!
Despite all that, they charged a lot of money for a night and for the breakfast.
That is a shame!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolasinglese, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

following your note on tripadvisor, we would like to apologize for the troubles encountered during your stay.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy our service but we would like to insist on one specific point:
the cleanliness is essential for us and we submit the hotel regularly to an independant controler. We always reach the goal of 100% in the housekeeping department.
That is why we must say that we are very surprised that you found our hotel not clean enough.

Regarding the breakfast, we are sorry that you found it disorganized. We thank you for your remarks and always try to satisfy our guest and we will make our best to improve this service.

Thank you again and remain at your disposal;l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This modern hotel is located close to the train station, the rooms are clean, nicely decorated and roomy. The bed was very comfortable. We had an enjoyable dinner at the hotel and got to speak with the chef, who was very helpful and friendly.
The night before we left, the fire alarm went off a couple times - the hotel experienced a technical problem and the alarm woke us up, however, the night desk manager was very thoughtful, apologetic and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable, and taken care of us, giving us sweets, coffee, and letting us know after the problem was resolved, all was ok. He made us feel at home. We received a wake up call in the morning and had a short trip to the train station for our trip back to Paris, then home.
Free parking, close to the train station, car rentals. Reasonably priced, good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cana1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolasinglese, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for this positive feedback and I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Kyriad Courtine Avignon gare TGV.
This means a lot to us as we genuinely strive in providing the best of service and we love to pamper all of our guests.
I thank you for your positive note about our restaurant The Fabrego. Our Chef just brought out the summer card established with fresh and seasonal products.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the way to Spain.
This hotel was clearly ment for business travellers, bit off from the center with business access and services available.
Hotel has a safe parking with a gate.
Rooms were clean and sound proofed.
Large breakfast was served in the morning.
Great bakeries in the heart of Avignon.
Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was a very good choice for my sight-seeing of the famous town Avignon. The room was big, the bed comfortable, also fortunately there were tea amenities to warm up in the cold days at the end of april. You can walk to the city in about an hour (half of the way along the river Rhone) or take the bus which stops just opposite the hotel and takes about 15 minutes. It stops in front of Avignon Central station, just at the wall of the town, you can from this station also go to Arles without problem. The staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was better than standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudrun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is a good choice for one night stay during the car trip. It is situated far from the town in a very silent place which is very good for rest after the road. It is warmly designed with mild colours. Nice hall and friendly staff. The room was of enough big size to stroll about. Double bed, sofa, bureau, safe-box were there. Spacious bathroom with a shower bath, hair-dryer also were very nice and pleasant. I was slightly disappointed with average breakfast in the morning but I can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolasinglese, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your stay and for sharing your opinion with us.

We acknowledge your remark about our breakfast, the opinion of our customers helps us every day to improve.

Hoping to welcome you soon again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Access Avignon
Adagio Access Avignon
#38 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.0 mi away
ibis Styles Avignon Sud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
1.3 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
1.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare

Property: Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
Address: 2 rue Mere Teresa, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3* hotel, ideally located at the heart of the Provence, just 5mn away from the city centre, the City of the Popes and 500m from Avignon TGV station. The 100 large and comfortable rooms accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have been refurbished and equipped with flat tv screens and offer a complimentary tea and coffee set! The hotel has been all renovated in 2010; free wifi access – free closed car park - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Avignon Courtine Gare Tgv Hotel Avignon
Avignon Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing