We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the very center of Avignon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
372 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the very center of Avignon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Situated in the very heart of Avignon, this hotel is a perfect option. The room we had was on the fifth floor, overlooking the Square Horloge, wich gave us a splendid vue. A.o to the Theater and the Townhall, both pretty buildings. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom modern and big. Even had a bathtub.
Staff helpfull and friendly.
The breakfast-room however was a little worn down. Breakfast nothing much, but at a price of 8 euro, it was quite okay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Kyriad A, Public Relations Manager at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear client,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in the hotel. Our clients reviews are very important to us, that is how we can keep improving ourselves. We are very glad that you had a nice stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Marion V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    228
    87
    12
    7
See reviews for
86
238
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
782 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

A hotel more centrally in Avignon will be difficult to find! You are at Place d'Horloge with the Opera House and The City Hall and a stone throw from The old Pope Palace.
Our room had an adequate size (room 54 on 5th floor) and we had an excellent view to the Square. Fine air condition, well functioning bathroom, and wifi free of charge (functioning).
At the Price it is absolutely a good choice.

Disadvantages: Coming by car you have to park in some distance. Choose the P Palais Des Papes (Price 11 eur/day) which is the closest
Breakfast room a little uncharming, but selection for 8 eur quite ok.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible (4th or 5th floor) with view to the Place d'Horloge. Eg room 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Kyriad A, Front Office Manager at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Bonjour,

thank you very much for leaving a review. To satisfy our clients is our high priority, the reviews we can get help us offering a better service.
Looking forward to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Marion V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
748 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel has some really good aspects...It is around the corner from the Palace of the Popes and within walking distance of many restaurants, museums etc. The staff was pleasant and helpful offering excellent restaurant suggestions and directions.Some of the phones were having some issues when we were there and a person actually came to our door in the morning to make sure we had received the wake up call! The hotel was very clean and quiet. There was free wifi,and tea in the room with cookies.
The concerns were with the size of the room(small), the meager breakfast and eating space, the inability for transportation to drop off and pick up close to the hotel.
This is an older hotel built into a small space. In order to get to our room; one had to actually walk outside . The space was covered but it poured one night and that area was very wet. All in all, this is a quaint , small hotel with a great attitude!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this review, 9 March 2016
Thank you. We are always helping our clients as much as we can. It is true that the hotel is a bit of a maze but it is due to its central location where we don't enjoy as much space as in the suburbs.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Almost a 3 star! We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the Place de l'Horloge and the carousel ... a big room with 2 opening double windows. Get a similar room if you can. Palace of the Popes is right around the corner. The staff was outstanding - friendly, patient and helpful. The room rate was a bargain. Easy walk to the bus station for trips to surrounding towns (go to Ouzes if you can). WiFi worked great.

Our room was large for a 2 star hotel. I think people who complain about room size don't understand European travel or the rating system. We have had smaller rooms in 3 star hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza. You may get some noise at night in high season, but it was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Kyriad A, Responsable réception at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this review, 9 March 2016
Thank you for sharing you opinion. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Room: Small and cramped. Could have been laid out better. Furnishings dated but clean. Bathroom small but servicable. Decent hot water. Few, poorly placed outlets. Wifi practically nonexistent. AC poor so kept windows open.

Staff: Friendly, helpful as they could be, considering most spoke almost no English

Breakfast: Basic, decent, fresh. Had to ask for the nespresso pods every time in order to get them (they are in the back and they only bring them if you ask them to. Otherwise you go with the pot of brewed coffee they have)

Location: Can't get more central than this in Avignon. Right on the Place de l'Horloge, moments away on foot to the Palais des Papes and the Avenue de la Republique. Easy parking at the nearby underground lot on Rue Ferruce ( you get a 20% discount at parking if you show them your hotel bill) and about a 10 minute walk ( or 3 min taxi ride ) from the Avignon train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this review, 9 March 2016
Thank you for sharing your opinion. Since your stay we have a new wifi system which works much better. Espresso is on demand which is on par with a buffet breakfast priced at 8 Euros.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. This hotel is located at place de l'Horloge, just the center of Avignon and almost 10-15 minutes walk from the station. I think I could stay at one of the best room (No. 53) at this hotel, because I could see Opera and Hotel de Ville in front of me through a window, and bath tub is furnished. The only problem was that an air conditioner didn't work well. Even I set the dial of fan at maximum position and temperature at minimum position, room temperature didn't become to cool and comfortable. When I go out for sightseeing, I told a female reception staff this fact and asked to improve. I once came back to my room after late lunch, the curtain of the room was closed, but room temperature was still high. Anyway cooling capacity of an air conditioner is small. There was another problem I solved myself. There is a refrigerator in which nothing was cooled. At night, I bought beer, milk, ham, sandwich etc. for midnight meal, and was going to put them into the refrigerator, but a lamp didn't light when I opened the door, and inside is not cool. I went down and told a staff about this and asked to call an engineer, but she said he left and the refrigerator would work after a while. I checked inside of the refrigerator and found a small switch. I made on and the refrigerator began to work. Thus the refrigerator of room No. 53 became useful, but others also must be switched on.
(The word of "Air conditioner and minibar” is written on the front glass of the entrance, but the fact is as shown above.)

Room Tip: Room No. 53 is one of the best, which is faced to pl. de l'Horloge and have a fine view throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this review, 9 March 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments. Since your last visit we have changed our air conditionning unit. It works much better. However we can only refresh the temperature by less than 10°C. So when it is 38°C it cannot be 20°C in the room. However at night the temperature will be perfectly suitable for a great night sleep.

I also want to apologize if we did not have the little refrigerator working properly. It should have been solved before you left.

Once again thank you.


Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Located right on the Place de l'Horloge, this relatively small hotel was a great find. I specifically asked for a room looking out onto the action. I was a little worried that it might be noisy since there are a large number of restaurants, a merry-go-round and large numbers of people at all hours. Thanks to the well designed windows, this was never a problem.
Room was very clean but just a bit cramped.
The staff was a great help with directions, suggestions about restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Place. It's fun to watch the changing crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this review, 9 March 2016
We are all glad that we could help you have a great stay.


Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.0 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes

Property: Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Address: 26 Place de l Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the city, right on the square de l'Horloge and in front of the Opera, just a stone's throw from the Popes'Palace, the Kyriad Avignon Centre Palais des Papes is looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Avignon Centre Palais Des Papes Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing