We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Banasterie
Ranked #9 of 53 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband, myself and our two children just returned from one month traveling in Europe. Our stay at La Banasterie was definitely one of highlights. Cyril was an incredible host, the accommodation was five star, the location was unbeatable and the breakfasts were to die for. When we asked our kids what they enjoyed most about Avignon they both responded that it was the breakfasts at La Banasterie. I would highly recommend La Banasterie to any families (or really anyone) stopping in Avignon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your comment I hope to see you next time in Avignon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    65
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
190
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We arrived at the place and were instantly amazed by the taste of this place, with classic furnishing while there are cute and inspiring decorations at almost every corner. The room was at the top floor, with windows open toward a quiet street, even in the middle of summer time the temperature is cool and comfortable. There is a terrace and in the night there were candles and perfect lightening that provides the best corner in town to relax or to have a private conversation! We have to say that all were arranged with utmost consideration and nothing too exaggerating, and the interior was cosy and elegant. Breakfasts were nothing to complain. Bed and bathroom comfortable, well equipped and relaxing. The owner of the place was extremely nice and most charming, who offered kind advices that complete our three nights' stay. We were very lucky to have found this place and to be received by this little castle in town. Thanks to all of those who made this place a reality in Avignon.
非常出忽意料的好旅館。位置極佳,後面是教堂廣場,周邊許多可愛小店。窗戶面對一條安靜的街道。陳設整潔齊全且室內擺設既古典又別出心裁。旅館主人非常注意細節,處處周到,接待溫和有禮。早點很準時,而且非常用心準備!房間內擺設也很好。尤其有附帶小院的房間更是值得體驗。夜裡還點上蠟燭,在院子和走道階梯上。真的非常推薦!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your nice comment I hope to see you next time in Avignon
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Thank you so much Cyril for making our stay in Avignon so special. I will always savor the fabulous, made from scratch, hot chocolate you made for me. You were a wonderful fill in for Jean - Michel.

The hotel is wonderful. Just what my few days in Provence was all about. Very picturesque B & B with charming nooks to relax in and a lovely garden.

Great location with a very easy walk in to town.

My husband and I hated to say goodbye. Perhaps we will be back someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your time to write , maybe next time to Avignon
Best regards
Jean michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is just the most beautiful hotel - the location is fantastic (very close to the Pope's Palace and great restaurants), the decor is charming and the breakfast was far better than the one we had a few days later in a 5 star hotel in Epernay. We had a small suite on the top floor with a roof terrace with comfortable seating. Although there is air conditioning, we slept with the windows open as it was so quiet - the only sound we heard were the church bells. We parked in the nearby car park which was very reasonably priced. But the real charm of this hotel is that we really felt welcome and relaxed - we have been home 5 days and the only place we want to be is in Avignon and in La Banastrie - if I won the lottery, this is where I would live! This is a very special hotel and I loved the few days we spent here.

Room Tip: We peeked into another room and it looked just as beautiful as ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your nice comment , see you next time
Jean michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

wonderful place
apple computer to use for all guests
tea available the whole day
we stayed here for one night but we could easy stay here longer,
very charming, wonderful owner
I would be back there in any time.
The hotel is located in the center of the old time.

every room

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monikajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your comment see you next time in provence
Jean michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at La Banasterie. And as everyone else has noted: it is in a GREAT location, has a lot of charm and the breakfast was delicious! We also found it very quiet and restful. But my favorite aspect is how Jean Michel would constantly go above and beyond to make sure we got the most out of our stay in Avignon. Whether it was helping us arrange transports to and from the train station, suggesting excellent dining options or working with a local tour operator to see if he would pick us up at La Banesterie, we felt like we had a special friend who wanted to make sure we truly had a great stay. I am so grateful for all that they do there; we do hope to visit soon again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your nice note, see you next time in Avignon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very nice place. Doesn't have an elevator, but they help you up with the luggage, you won't even have to ask. Breakfast is served in a very nice room with fresh fruit and pastries, yoghurt, juice, hot drinks. Underground parking is nearby, but you can drive into the street where the house is located to unload the luggage.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual, you can ask host to tell you more of the available rooms and book the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your nice words I hope next time in Avignon for another vineyard tour.
Jean michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Property: La Banasterie
Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing