We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, French charm with a very warm welcome”
Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Banasterie
Ranked #9 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky, French charm with a very warm welcome”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just arrived back from staying 3 nights at this lovely B&B. It's an old building, very old and in the historic centre of Avignon. Those two facts should give you a clue to the fact that you're not going to be able to drive a 4X4 through the streets easily and park where you want, you will find narrow steep stairs and there won't be a lift. Also this being France you are probably going to get croissants and bread at breakfast rather than a full English. If you do decide to stay here you will receive a wonderful welcome, stay in a delightful, comfortable room (Quetzalcoatl) furnished with eclectic antique styling, stay in a peaceful room, say hallo to a very friendly cat and a dog, have a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, bread and pastries together with fresh fruit juice, tea and coffee. They have a kettle!! so you can boil water for your tea plus some gloriously eccentric teapots. We had a fantastic stay and some truly delicious food in surrounding restaurants. The art exhibition at the local jail was an unexpected gem to find and well worth a visit. The air con worked well, we did have shampoo and enough towels and the bed was very comfortable. You have a carafe of water in the room, some delicious chocolates, a fridge if you want it, a coffee maker and a hairdryer. The only addition I would say is a small safe for belongings such as passport. Had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness centre. Choose Quetzalcoatl for a very comfortable, spacious room with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeadHoncho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Google Translation
Merci infiniment pour votre sympathique commentaire, nous sommes ravis que votre séjour à la Banasterie vous ait plu et contribué à d'agréables vacances en Avignon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    65
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
190
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in the "Quetzalcoatl suite" for 3 nights having decided to stay in this B&B (Chambre d'Hôtes in French) instead of a more typical hotel. Do not be fooled by the term "B&B" the quality of rooms and building is as good or better than in many hotels.
The building is old with a lot of what goes with that - lots of tiny uneven staircases and odd room layouts. We find this charming but if you are mobility impaired it might be an issue. The room we were in is one of their largest - some of the others do seem on the small side so be sure of which one you are getting. All the facilities worked although the hot water system seemed to be challenged to fill the rather large bath. There are lots of places to sit and relax around the property as well a roof terrace and lots of books and games if the weather is less conducive to wandering around the town. The owners' extremely friendly cat and dog are in evidence as well - we rather like that but if you are less animal friendly you may want to tell them before you check in. On the practical front there is free WiFi throughout the building although stone nature of its construction does make for a few reception black spots.
The breakfasts were excellent of the French style consisting of fresh breads, juice, jams and cheeses with good coffee and acceptable tea. Since this is a B&B they are included in the room cost which is a change from most modern European hotels.
The owners are charming and offer good advice on things to do and places to eat in in the area.
The location of the building is right in the heart of the old quarter of Avignon on a very narrow street. We arrived from the station by taxi without a car so that was no issue, but if you have a car I strongly advise a call to the owners first to both get directions and suggestions on where to park. Some great restaurants are within a couple of minutes of the front door and the main town square and shopping streets less than 5 minutes away on foot.

Room Tip: All rooms are different so check their website and talk to owners about the room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your enthousiasm about our inn, we are glad to see that you like La Banasterie and we hope to see you again. Françoise and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a lovely 4 nights at the B&B. The innkeeper was very helpful suggesting restaurants in the area. They recommended a driver to pick us up at the train station. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The breakfast was very satisfactory. Good juice, coffee and fresh fruit. It was fun staying in a home several hundred years old with all the history surrounding us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Google Translation
Très content Sandra que vous ayez apprécié et passé un agréable séjour à La Banasterie. En espérant vous y revoir...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed in the "Quetzalcoatl suite" for 2 nights. A delightful alternative to the hotel. We had a pleasant suite with a comfortable size bed, good shower. Pleasant breakfast with fresh fruit salad, fresh orange juice, croissant, different kind of breads. Jean Michel and Francoise were very friendly and helpful
We really recommend this place


Charlie .O

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir choisi La Banasterie pour votre séjour à Avignon et de l'avoir appréciée même si le vent était de la partie !
Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A perfect place we look forward to visiting again. Nice location close to The Pope's Palace. The hosts were fluent in English-lucky for me :-D Nicely decorated rooms with a large and VERY comfy bed. Free wifi, breakfast served was lovely...even enjoyed some local fruits that were previously unknown. YUM! Restaurant recommendations were spot on!

Merci encore Jean Michel et Francoise! [especially for lending me your unique bicycle to tour the ville ;-) ]

P.S. I stayed in the Trinitario with friends.Scrumptious and palatial for a simple island girl from Jamaica...Mmmmm....

Room Tip: The enclosed garden at the B&B was a FABULOUS surprise for me...very therapeutic, charming retre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhythmicmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Google Translation
Merci , j'espère que le voyage de retour vers la Jamaïque n'a pas été trop long. En espérant vous revoir un jour, amitiés d'Avignon
Françoise et Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had high hopes for this B&B, based on the all of the glowing reviews. I will say that it is centrally located, and very convenient to the center of town. The downside… First, the room that we had initially booked was small, with the toilet basically inside of an armoire (as ridiculous as that sounds). We chose to upgrade to the Quetzalcoatl room, which was okay, but not great. The son was very helpful and pleasant, bringing our bags to the room and providing recommendations for dinner. One of the owner's / husband seemed to be irritated providing breakfast in the morning, as if it were beneath him. Upon check-out, they request payment in euros (cash), but will reluctantly accept credit cards. Who wants to be walking around on vacation with a wad of euros to pay for a room? This was probably one of the more expensive rooms that we stayed in on our trip, and probably the least enjoyable. There are good B&B's out there, we just didn't find that to be true of this experience.
Although it was our mistake, heed the warning by not driving within the city limits. It is not an enjoyable experience, and very difficult to find the B&B this way.

(We actually stayed June 2012)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieDavisRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Bonjour Madame, I'm sorry I din't find your reservation in La Banasterie in June 2012.
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice location close to the Palais de Papes, host was fluent in english and suited to the hospitality industry, beautiful french provincial building and nicely decorated rooms, too dark though, more lighting needed. Criollo room was probably best room despite the suite being larger but on the main street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plain_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
thank you for your nice comment I'm sorry I gave you our best suite (Quetzalcoatl suite) instead the other suite (Criollo is nice but smaller than Quetzalcoatl) it was just to upgrade you but it was a mistake sorry again, usualy many people like very much when I do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#5 of 69 in Avignon
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Property: La Banasterie
Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing