We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet oasis in bustling Avignon”
Review of Le Clos du Rempart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Clos du Rempart
Ranked #11 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet oasis in bustling Avignon”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 10 days in September 2013 at this wonderful B&B hosted by Aida. This was an exceptional experience. Aida was extremely welcoming and was a great help in recommending great days out. We would never have discovered particular places without her knowledge and advice.

Rooms were peaceful, light and beautifully decorated.

Breakfasts were wonderful with an array of fresh fruit, good coffee and she makes excellent crepes! We enjoyed the conversation around the table and coffee was plentiful.

Aida always went the extra mile and she drove us to the station on our departure as we had no transport.

A wonderful place to stay in Avignon and a wonderful host!

Thank you Aida
Linda and Simon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    11
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
155
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Avoca, NSW, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just concluded a 3-week vacation in France (in August 2013) where we stayed in various B&Bs in Provence and then traveled to Paris. Clearly the most enjoyable part of our vacation was meeting Aida Assad and staying in her lovely B&B for 4 nights. We entered her B&B through a blue door set in a plain stone wall however behind the entrance door was a beautiful area exquisitely furnished and which led to an oasis of a garden. Just a lovely place to return to after visiting the wonderful sights in Avignon. Aida met us with great warmth and showed us to our lovely room. It was so comfortable with views out onto the garden courtyard. Breakfast was a wonderful experience each day and we were served a lovely breakfast that included treats of fruits, breads, cheeses, croissants, yogurts and wonderful coffee. Her B&B is located in a whisper-quiet area near the old-city wall and it is a pleasant walk through the old city to visit the major attractions. It is a beautiful city with fine restaurants and cafes. Being close to the peripheral wall of the old city, parking was not a problem. We regret we did not stay longer with Aida but we were committed to other accommodation in Provence. However after completing our stay in Provence we returned to her B&B and were greeted as though we were old friends. We joined other guests for breakfast before finally leaving. Aida was tirelessly helpful with suggestions of attractions to visit and gave us maps to help our journey in Provence. We would recommend her B&B as a wonderful place for your holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful and other rooms we saw were also very nice and furnished in great taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We just returned from a 2 week vacation in France. The highlight of our trip was our stay with Aida who our 3 year old daughter fell in love with. It was the most friendly host experience of the 4 top bed and breakfasts we stayed at across France.

We stayed in the beautiful blue room. We had almost singular access (except on the last night when a lovely italian couple checked in) to the gorgeous house and verandah as well as Aida's gracious hospitality for 4 nights. We also mastered parking in her two car garage (rent a small car if you want to take advantage of this awesome add-on). We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years in several countries. It's our go-to mode of stay because we love embracing new cultures and the best way to learn about a country is by living it. The location couldn't be more perfect, a short walk from restaurants and the Pope's palace. Aida lives in the same house, upstairs and spends most of the day on her bench in the kitchen working away. While not intrusive, she was always there if we needed anything and was extremely helpful with itineraries and recommendations. The house has been lovingly cared for, the rooms are immaculate and breakfast was always a pleasure.

A special mention for those with kids - Aida kindly offered to let us use her refrigerator to keep things for our daughter and always made sure there was plenty for her to eat at breakfast. She always remembered to hand us something for her to eat in the car for our day trips. Our over friendly daughter made it a point to pay a visit ever so often and Aida was always really kind and sweet to her. It was like living with grandma and we wish we go back soon! :)

Room Tip: Rent a smaller car to take advantage of the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajubhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay chez Madame Assad in 'Le Clos du Rempart'. We were greeted so warmly on arrival, after a beautiful stroll to 'Le Clos du Rempart' through the twisting streets of Avignon. Aida's house is a tranquil respite from the hustle and bustle of vibrant Avignon - on entering through the little blue door, the house opens before you into a beautiful courtyard with a hammock, well-cared for plants and countless pretty corners in which to sit, relax and dream. Our room on the first floor was extremely spacious and well appointed with a separate toilet and separate bathroom - making it more like a small apartment than just a room. We had the sense of complete privacy and yet the wonderful knowledge that Aida was nearby with a wealth of information about Avignon and a warm smile! Breakfast is served outside in the garden (weather permitting) and is freshly made by Aida; delicious provencale fruit - cherries and plump melon - fresh bread and jams, coffee as you like it, juice and croissants.

Nearby is the pleasant Place des Carmes - a flea market on Sunday mornings - and a great Place outside of the more touristy Avignon locations. We had a delicious meal at one of the many surrounding cafes and enjoyed sitting in the tabacs with 'the locals' rather than the over-priced tourist haunts. Also nearby is the indoor market - Les Halles - where you can purchase the freshest and most delicious produce. Aida suggested we did this and then had a picnic in the Jardin des Doms - it was one of the highlights of our trip and such a perfect suggestion.

We had the particular pleasure of sitting out late at night around the table with Aida and her family - enjoying the extra special warmth and hospitality that only comes with a splendid B&B host! We can't recommend 'Le Clos du Rempart' strongly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverwhimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The house is located near the walls, which makes the surroundings a little desert. I had asked for the parking space in advance and Mme Assad had agreed to let me use it. When we got there, I could not use the parking space anymore and she never told me why. I had to park on the streets every day. Breakfast was not as good as people say. The croissants are kept in the fridge and she reheats them to be served. She served regular coffee to the guests while she prepared an espresso for her and had it with us at the table. She never offered us an espresso even though we talked a lot about coffee and how much we liked it. On our last day there we were leaving very early to take the train to Paris. Mme Assad left us some yoghurt and a glass of orange juice (from the box). It was the most expensive hotel in provence and definitely the worst.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This B&B was the highlight of our trip to France and worth every penny if you can get in! It is an intimate inn, with just one or two rooms rented, so you can get the entire place and Mme Assad to yourself! It was like an oasis in a desert. The outside was a bare wall, and you would never know the garden oasis just beyond the doors. We only stayed 2 nights but would love to spend at least a week next time. Mme Assad is so wonderful and friendly; she welcomed us right away when we arrived, a little frazzled, not knowing where to park, and let us pull right into her garage! She served wonderful breakfast and shared her wonderful company and advice with us about local sights and places to eat. We slept like babies, with the atrium windows open and the cool night breeze floating in. Every detail was attended to and beautiful. You could tell Mme Assad is a high class lady with great taste. Five plus stars!!!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is more than one, but we had the beautiful room overlooking the atrium on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a place with oodles of charm. Spacious rooms and wonderfully appointed common areas for guests to feel at home. Few rooms and Aida provides a very personal touch. Best features are its unique and homey atmosphere and perfect location within the old walls of the City. A short 10 minute walk to city center is lovely and ensures that your B&B retreat is far from tourism and noise. Aida can be a little intense at times, but she means well and really wants to help you have the best possible experience in Avignon and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
1,515 reviews
3.0 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 55 in Avignon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos du Rempart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Rempart

Property: Le Clos du Rempart
Address: 35 rue Cremade, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Clos du Rempart is located inside the city walls of Avignon old town, few minutes walking from the Popes' Palace and the famous Pont d'Avignon. Around its pretty patio, 2 comfortable guest rooms with A/C and private bath, each in a particular style. A flat/self catering apartment is also available for vacation rental in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Le Clos du Rempart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Du Rempart Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing