We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabby views with gracious hostess and great decor”
Review of L'Ombre du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Ombre du Palais
Ranked #11 of 53 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabby views with gracious hostess and great decor”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Sabine's house is a delight and so is she. I stayed there with my two children, Josh age 10 and Esther age 12 who were entranced watching the sun set from the roof terrace. Sabine was most accommodating in creating a dinner that suited their tastes. The location is extraordinarily central but with luggage it was worth taking a taxi from the station as there are restrictions about cars entering the city centre. The house is a treasure trove of interesting objects and pictures with each room named after an artist. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catw195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
131
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in early October 2013. Meeting its owner, Sabine, was as delightful as staying at this excellently located and comfortable lodging where you are treated as a welcome guest in what feels more like a home rather than a standard B&B. Sabine arranged for transfers and a one-day guided tour of the countryside surrounding Avignon (a must when visiting Avignon itself) by Michelle, whose company we thoroughly enjoyed and who, like Sabine, treated us like a family friend and in whose company we shared the moving experience of visiting as part of the tour the Cistercian monastery of Notre-Dame de Senanque just as the monks where finishing Mass. Avignon itself was an experience not to be missed but the kindness and hospitality extended by both Sabine and Michelle made it one of most memorable of our 6 weeks overseas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReefCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

“My house is your house.” Owner Sabine Ferrand’s motto, displayed in the hall, truly reflects the feeling one gets when entering A L Ombre du Palais. Located close to the historic centre of town and Palais du Papes, we stayed five nights at this comfortable B&B and found the atmosphere as warm and welcoming as its hostess, Sabine. A charming décor of reds, russets and gold provides the perfect setting for Sabine’s interesting eclectic mix of art, artifacts and antiques. The room we stayed in, the Ambrogiani, was spacious, clean and quiet. Sabine and her assistant, Madeline, were attentive, thoughtful and kind, arranging for us to be picked up at the railway station, advising of weather changes and providing train schedules, restaurant and activity suggestions. We did not participate in Sabine’s cooking classes, but were invited to her table d’hotes to sample the gourmet delights prepared by guests who did. Should we ever be so fortunate as to visit Avignon again, LOmbre du Palais would be our guest house of choice.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a room on the ground floor. Stairs are steep and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B - J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed two nights at Sabine's lovely B&B perfectly located in the heart of Avignon. Sabine is a gracious and accommodating hostess. She is delightful company and was very helpful with planning our visit to Avignon. Breakfast featured fresh fruit and chocolate croissants. The hotel couldn't have been more centrally located - right next to the Palais des Papes. I particularly enjoyed breakfast on the terrace and reading under the sun on the roof deck. Many thanks to Sabine and Madeline for a lovely visit to Avignon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka-shi, Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I'm so happy we got this chambre d'hot. Very close to the central, yet very quiet at night (it could be noisy depending on ppl around, but when we stayed there, ppl seemed to be quiet at night). The landlady is such an amazing, helpful, kind, and has a lot of knowledge about the city and around, and would help you out searching what to do/eat to make the most of your stay.

She has a great sense of interior design, so inside the house, it felt like as if you are staying with a fashionable designer hotel. The room was very clean and well organized as well. It was so amazing to have breakfast/dinner as we looked at the palais du pape. She is a great cook as well, we tried her table d'hot one night, and had a most pleasant night with great wine. I would highly recommend to try the table d'hot if you have time.

If I visit Avignon again, I would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This B&B is perfectly located - both by foot and by car. The parking was outstanding. Traveling with multiple suitcases, one can exit the parking lot, staying on one level and walk directly to the front door of the B&B. After 4 weeks of climbing stairs, this feature was welcoming.
The host, Sabine, is such a fine person. Full of information, friendly and mostly just fun to be around. She joined us and our traveling companions from Australia in the evening before dinner and recommended the La Verso for light Italian food. The pizza was quite good. Her knowledge of the city is excellent - just ask and she will assist. The room was large with a nice size bathroom - very clean and located on the first floor.

Room Tip: For no stairs, there are 3 rooms in the entry level. Some outside noise, but it was a Friday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
212 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My friend and I just returned from a trip to Avignon and we stayed at this delightful and perfectly located B&B. Its position is right next door to the Petit Palais and across the plaza from the Popes Palace. We stayed four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sabine the owner and hostess is very kind and went out of her way to make sure we had a nice time suggesting places to go and things to do and always happy to make calls and bookings on our behalf. When due to inclement weather one night the light show we had booked at the palace was cancelled so she went and got our refund for us. Our breakfast each day was freshly stewed fruit or fresh, wonderful bread and croissants with home made preserves, juice and coffee or tea, more than enough to start the day. She was even happy to set up a special table out on the balcony when we wanted to eat outside,surrounded by lush green follage with gorgeous views of the palaces. The only small negative is that there is no air conditioning but there are ceiling fans. I would highly recommend this venue and location as you are within minutes of the Rhone river for cruising and most of the major attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.1 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ombre du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombre du Palais

Property: L'Ombre du Palais
Address: 6 rue de la Vieille Juiverie | Place du Palais des Papes, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your L'Ombre du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing