We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful spot in Avignon”
Review of Hotel Le Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Colbert
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“wonderful spot in Avignon”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We had a truly wonderful stay at Le Colbert. It is convenient to the train station, quiet, clean and the proprietors offer excellent service. There is a delightful square very close by with a broad choice of good restaurants. It's also convenient to the main shopping and sites in town. Probably can't do better in terms of value for the money in Avignon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rambleyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    115
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
290
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The gentleman who owns the hotel clearly cares about his customers. Our room was very clean and felt like a destination all on its own. Quiet location close to the post office where the shuttle bus drops you off from the TGV station. I look forward to visiting again--my wife and I were very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baburnama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Colbert is in a great location on a small pedestrian street/alley next to a lovely park and Place Des Corps-Saints, a small square with restaurants. It is very close to the train station which is great for day trips to Arles and Nimes and only a few minutes walk to the middle of town.
Our room # 9 was a nice size with huge window above the patio and big palm tree.Unlike many hotel rooms there are many flat surfaces to put your "stuff"....2 small end tables, desk, fireplace mantel, shelves in the bathroom. The sheets were noticeably clean and fresh.
The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Ask them for suggestions as to where to go to dinner. His suggestion to us was great.
The breakfast was a bit pricey at 12 Euro but was lovely, delicious and very creative, more like hors' dourves but if you are interested in a big American breakfast you won't be satisfied. Also, they are very clear from the time you first book that there is no elevator so don't complain about it. We are fine with stairs and suitcases but some travelers may not be.
Our only disappointment was that the patio was being renovated so we couldn't use it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonichestnutantosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and Rick Steve's recommendations and was not disappointed. Though this hotel has been given a 2 star rating, it could easily pass for a 3 star.

Our room was on the first floor (one flight up). It had a fireplace, closet, desk, nightlight with sensor, flatscreen TV (BBC channel, nice firm bed, free wi-fi, and a extremely nice bathroom (spacious by European standards).

When we arrived Patrice (who spoke very good English) was very accommodating. He recommended restaurants and points of interest. Our only regret is that we spent only one night. Next time, we will extend our stay at Hotel Le Colbert. It truly is a gem in Avignon.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Tom and Karen
Honolulu, Hawaii

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the attractive courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KNBDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is an excellent 2* hotel. It's very clean, the facilities all work well, and free Internet is great. Since it's in the pedestrian area, it's quiet throughout. It's at the opposite end of the town from the Palais du Papes, but the walk only takes 15 minutes. A big plus of the location is that it's near the reasonably priced cafes/bakeries/restaurants. Parking and laundry are also just a short walk from the hotel.

However, don't expect a luxury hotel. You'll need to carry your bags up the spiral staircase. And, the rooms are basic and small.

The owner is very helpful with any questions about activities in Avignon. The class (6 EUR) breakfast is a reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My sister, cousins, and I stayed at Hotel Le Colbert during the middle of September for three nights (six of us shared three rooms). After reading hundreds of reviews on Trip Advisor, reading Rick Steves, and seeing photos of the hotel, I was drawn to Hotel Le Colbert because it seemed cozy and had a feel of being in France rather than staying in a typical large hotel. It was like a charming bed and breakfast except, with a twist of some quirky, avant-garde posters. Patrice and Annie welcomed us on our arrival. We are all past retirement age, and Patrice kindly took our suitcases up to our rooms for us. He was kind and helpful in every way, recommending great, and reasonable, restaurants and telling us what to look for to ensure that the products we bought were actually made in France. We enjoyed Annie's breakfasts, one in the inner dining area and another out on the lovely patio.

The hotel is in a great location, within the Old City walls, next to a park and on a side street off the main road, close enough to walk to the Central train station, the Palais des Papes, the famous bridge, etc. The rooms were immaculately kept; it seemed like they changed the sheets every day; at least they seemed pressed and fresh every time we returned to our rooms at the end of the day. Patrice noticed the origin of one of our names and asked if we were of Greek descent, which we are (Americans born to Greek immigrant parents). The next morning at breakfast, we noticed that he was playing Greek music, and he even greeted us with Greek phrases, which was very endearing! We loved all the restaurants Patrice recommended: the late lunch of mussels at a nearby restaurant, and especially, Fou de Fafa and Le Caveau du Theatre; great meals, presented beautifully. We also found a great ice cream shop, Amarino's. That was the best gelato/ice cream we've all ever had. We made it our mission to go back there another night!

We used Avignon as our base of operations for day trips to Arles, St. Remy and the Luberon area. We loved the Luberon villages. Although it was too late in the season to see the lavender, which was already harvested, the villages are extremely picturesque. We visited Isle Sur Sorgue, lovely with its waterwheels, Gordes, which is a spectacular village built into the mountain (we all gasped as we drove up toward it), and Village des Bories, stone huts which account for the way of life in Provence, from far-off times to the present day.

The benefit of staying in such a hotel is the personal touch from Patrice and Annie. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Avignon!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so you might want a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chochee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel. Immaculately clean with all the mod cons you want but in a wonderful provencal style. Only dispappointment was not being able to drink our bottle of champagne in the little courtyard- had to sit in our room. The hotel is in a fantastic location, so convenient to shops and restaurants but down a quiet little street. We will definately stay here again.

Karen

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#13 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colbert

Property: Hotel Le Colbert
Address: 7 rue Agricol Perdiguier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Family Hotel in Avignon
#3 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colbert Hotel in Avignon is an authentic little "hotel of charm", located right in the heart of the historic center of Avignon. The hotel stayed in a small and typical quiet street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colbert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing