We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be faulted and will return if I can get a reservation.”
Review of Hotel Le Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Colbert
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I also selected this hotel on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews. I was travelling on my own for the first time and it was nice to see so many good reviews from solo travellers.
Patrice the owner speaks fantastic English, and, both he and his wife made me feel very welcome. Patrice pointed out the local points of interest and even made a hotel reservation for me on the Sunday.

As I was on my own I had one of the smaller rooms off the courtyard garden, although it would still be big enough for two. The room was comfortable and clean - what more can you ask for. The bathroom was big enough and the shower, although it had to be handheld which took some getting used to, was hot and powerful enough.

The location is fantastic, just three minutes from the bus stop from the TGV station, five minutes from the railway station and round the corner from the Tourist Information Office. In the other direction there are many fantastic restaurants and places to find a meal or just breakfast.

I will be going back to Avignon and I will be basing my stay around the Hotel le Colbert if I can get a room as it appears to be very popular.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

We selected Hotel Le Colbert based on good reviews in Trip Advisor and booked the room 5 months in advance.
Upon our arrival, Patrice told us about local point of interests and recommended good local restaurants. He even made a restaurant reservation for us.
Our room (#9) was big, bright, with high ceiling, clean, and with functional toilet and shower. Hotel is located on a quiet street within walking distance to Tourist Information office, the central train station, and the Pope's Palace.
During our stay in Avignon Patrice and Annie, the owners, were very friendly hosts.
We liked staying in this hotel and if we will be traveling to Avignon again, we will stay at Hotel Le Colbert.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank njtravelersUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We had a truly wonderful stay at Le Colbert. It is convenient to the train station, quiet, clean and the proprietors offer excellent service. There is a delightful square very close by with a broad choice of good restaurants. It's also convenient to the main shopping and sites in town. Probably can't do better in terms of value for the money in Avignon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rambleyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The gentleman who owns the hotel clearly cares about his customers. Our room was very clean and felt like a destination all on its own. Quiet location close to the post office where the shuttle bus drops you off from the TGV station. I look forward to visiting again--my wife and I were very impressed!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baburnama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Colbert is in a great location on a small pedestrian street/alley next to a lovely park and Place Des Corps-Saints, a small square with restaurants. It is very close to the train station which is great for day trips to Arles and Nimes and only a few minutes walk to the middle of town.
Our room # 9 was a nice size with huge window above the patio and big palm tree.Unlike many hotel rooms there are many flat surfaces to put your "stuff"....2 small end tables, desk, fireplace mantel, shelves in the bathroom. The sheets were noticeably clean and fresh.
The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Ask them for suggestions as to where to go to dinner. His suggestion to us was great.
The breakfast was a bit pricey at 12 Euro but was lovely, delicious and very creative, more like hors' dourves but if you are interested in a big American breakfast you won't be satisfied. Also, they are very clear from the time you first book that there is no elevator so don't complain about it. We are fine with stairs and suitcases but some travelers may not be.
Our only disappointment was that the patio was being renovated so we couldn't use it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tonichestnutantosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and Rick Steve's recommendations and was not disappointed. Though this hotel has been given a 2 star rating, it could easily pass for a 3 star.

Our room was on the first floor (one flight up). It had a fireplace, closet, desk, nightlight with sensor, flatscreen TV (BBC channel, nice firm bed, free wi-fi, and a extremely nice bathroom (spacious by European standards).

When we arrived Patrice (who spoke very good English) was very accommodating. He recommended restaurants and points of interest. Our only regret is that we spent only one night. Next time, we will extend our stay at Hotel Le Colbert. It truly is a gem in Avignon.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Tom and Karen
Honolulu, Hawaii

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the attractive courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KNBDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is an excellent 2* hotel. It's very clean, the facilities all work well, and free Internet is great. Since it's in the pedestrian area, it's quiet throughout. It's at the opposite end of the town from the Palais du Papes, but the walk only takes 15 minutes. A big plus of the location is that it's near the reasonably priced cafes/bakeries/restaurants. Parking and laundry are also just a short walk from the hotel.

However, don't expect a luxury hotel. You'll need to carry your bags up the spiral staircase. And, the rooms are basic and small.

The owner is very helpful with any questions about activities in Avignon. The class (6 EUR) breakfast is a reasonable value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Boutique Hotel
Regina Boutique Hotel
#18 of 68 in Avignon
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
0.3 mi away
Le Magnan Hotel
Le Magnan Hotel
#10 of 68 in Avignon
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colbert

Address: 7 rue Agricol Perdiguier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Family Hotel in Avignon
#3 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £60 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colbert Hotel in Avignon is an authentic little "hotel of charm", located right in the heart of the historic center of Avignon. The hotel stayed in a small and typical quiet street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colbert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing