We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Colbert
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay . The rooms are a reasonable size , colourful, breakfasts are standard French style, the hosts are helpful and "quite correct" . The location is great to access central Avignon, which we loved. Parking is difficult in the area and of course tiny lane ways don't help, although they look charming. There is no lounge area to sit in outside of breakfast hours. Recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    115
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
290
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 2 nights, based upon both Trip Advisor & Rick Steve reviews, and we could hardly wait to leave. The warm hospitality was not in evidence. We had enjoyed wonderful hotel breakfasts and hospitality in France up until this experience. The owners interacted with minimal interest or warmth. To receive breakfast, which costs extra, one signs up the day before. The food offered was minimal, stale tasting and a second small pot of coffee cost us an additional €5, discovered at checkout. Skip it and go to the little breakfast bar around the corner. Better French pastry & coffee there for less euro. No one in the reviews had mentioned the hotel is accessed by a narrow alleyway inaccessible by car. The alleyway instead offered what appeared to be a loitering, homeless youth sitting down on a stoop a few doors from Le Colbert, staring at you coming & going, both night & day. The reviews also mention how the modern, poster-style-artwork plastered all over contributes to the charm of the place. Be forewarned it is a matter of personal taste. In my opinion, it created a creepy, frightening aspect that made me feel like a cleanse of sorts was required. The no elevator with a narrow winding staircase should have been given more consideration on our part. After thoroughly walking around Avignon, I wish we had stayed in any number of lovely hotels. Le Colbert was, however, thankfully clean.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beegood55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecolbert, Gérant at Hotel Le Colbert, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Google Translation
Le prix des boissons est affiché à la réception, ce que nous avons fait remarqué à notre client. En tout état de cause, le café demandé était pour deux personnes et ledit « petit pot de café » comportait 50cl de café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I recently visited Avignon for a couple of nights and stayed at Le Colbert. The hotel is tucked away in a small street right off a nice plaza with great cafes and restaurants. The staff was very hospitable. The room we were given was one of the smaller ones, which was quite quaint. However, it met our needs, was clean, and had the best working WiFi from all the other cities we visited in Southern France. Just a tip, I would book early to secure a larger room. There is no elevator so be prepared to walk up the spiral staircase, and be mindful if you're traveling with large luggage. Luckily we had two carry on luggage, but can't imagine going up the stairs with large luggage or having them fit in our small room. The breakfast was simple. Although the hotel is not in the direct center of the city, it's only about a 10 minute walk from the major sites and close to the Avignon Center TGV station and post office where we took the shuttle to the other TGV station outside of the city center. It is also near great restaurants. Overall, we had a wonderful time and really enjoyed our stay at Le Colbert. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel and really enjoyed it. Our room was spacious and very nice. The owners were quite friendly and provided a nice breakfast as well. The hotel is conveniently located to the tourist sites. Very personal and professional service. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a convenient location and friendly personal service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Will start by stayting that this is a very cute hotel. If your a biker do not go here.
We were never expecting to keep our very clean expensive rd bikes in our room.
Owner/managers of hotel saw our bike bags the second we walked through the door and treated us very rudely the second we walked in. Instructed that we can keep our bike bags in the living. The next morning we went down to ask where we could put our bikes together, instructed only on the street outside. (we travel with big towels to lay out for our bikes) Ok, no problem outside we went.
(when we checked told that nobody will be at "desk" after 8pm, NOT locked all the way down to where we could not even get our bike bags from breakfast/living-room/ area, they had locked our bags up)
Rang them with no luck. Pondered what to-do without creating more hatred. Up the street we went to another hotel told them our issu, asked if we could please keep bike there for the night.
She was VERY NICE and let us keep our bikes there over night.
Cant say enough nice things about the hotel up the street from this place!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecolbert, Gérant at Hotel Le Colbert, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Google Translation
Les clients ont- ils prévenu de leur arrivée avec leurs bicyclettes? Non
Les clients voulaient- ils monter leurs bicyclettes dans la chambre ? Oui
Avons- nous tout de même accepté de ranger les bicyclettes à l’hôtel ? Oui
Après leur première nuit, les clients savaient- ils qu’il leur était impossible d’accéder aux bicyclettes au-delà de 20 heures ? Oui
Aurait- il fallu laisser à la portée de tout le monde les housses de transport à bicyclettes ? Non
Les clients ont- ils écouté ce que l’on leur a expliqué à propos du rangement de leurs bicyclettes et des horaires ? Non.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My friends and I spent 4 nights at Le Colbert the first week of October 2012. The hosts, Patrice and Annie, gave us great tourist advice and they provided a charming breakfast. We all enjoyed the very French, avant garde artistry throughout the small and personal hotel. The hotel was within the wall surrounding Avignon, which is ideal for anyone traveling to this area. If you travel to Avignon, I would not recommend staying outside the city wall. The city is far too charming. Le Colbert was walking distance to all the tourist sights, restaurants and historic venues, and the secured parking lot was nearby. I gave this a 5 star rating, as the hotel was very good for the price, but not perfect. It is very quiet and small, and caters to couples or people who do not stay up late socializing. I consider my friends and I to be relatively quiet, and we were told to be quiet once or twice when we were talking while entering the building past 9 pm. Patrice is very entertaining and very proud of his charming Hotel Le Colbert, and rightfully so.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the stairs are rather difficult with large suitcases. Take time to enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug1014ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This small hotel is in a quiet and handy location for exploring all that Avignon has to offer. Very clean, en suite rooms with air con and comfortable beds (and some interesting art work) make this hotel a great choice. We enjoyed breakfast served in the courtyard by Patrice. Our one night stay was all too brief but we would definitely recommend staying at Le Colbert and indeed visiting Avignon itself.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have a lot of luggage maybe the 1st floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPARKY36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#11 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colbert

Property: Hotel Le Colbert
Address: 7 rue Agricol Perdiguier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Family Hotel in Avignon
#3 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colbert Hotel in Avignon is an authentic little "hotel of charm", located right in the heart of the historic center of Avignon. The hotel stayed in a small and typical quiet street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colbert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing