We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be missed”
Review of Le Gout du Jour

Le Gout du Jour
Reserve with
Le Gout du Jour is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 619 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$58
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant full of charm,cosy.
zurich
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A lovely little restaurant where at night serves only 2 menus; only 2 as everything is freshly prepared and cooked. Excellent dishes and very lovely personnel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Olilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    77
    23
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in the walled town.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This is a fresh new restaurant in a narrow room in an historic building. The hosts are charming and the food inventive, beautifully presented and delicious. The wine list is small but well chosen and unless you come here every day (I would!) there is a good enough choice. Open on Monday (Merci!) this is a good choice any night of the week. Set meals at €29 & 38 are a bargain. Enjoy if you book early enough!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Destined for Stardom”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We came to this Restaraunt on a casual recommendation from a lovely fellow at our hotel. What a wonderful surprise! We have been on am eating tour of France. We have eaten at several 3 star and two stars on this trip. Le Gout Du Jour turned out to be one of our most memorable meals. The Chef Ricard is masterful. He tweaks the flavors and combinations to near perfection. I had the duck which was prepared without a cloying sweet sauce and was moist and delightful. My husband had the veal which superior to what I had at a three star restaurant.
Nadia, Jorgian, and Phillipe take care of everything else, as service and computer repair, and sommeliers. The personalities are do endearing that if there were flaws, I did not see them.
It is opinion that this baby restaurant (open since February 2014) is going to be recognized for a star one day. Hurry in while you can still enjoy the serenity. It is that good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

this was an unexpected find for us. The menu is set for each month and the dishes we had were out of this world. The chef is innovative, aesthetic and cooks with such delicious tastes that linger for hours in a most pleasurable way. Everything from the entres to deserts were excellent and to top it all the wine list was of high quality and not that pricey (gigondas, chateaunouefpas etc).
the service too was great - friendly, knowledgeable, English speaking and welcoming.
WE LOVED IT and give it a definite five stars - do go and enjoy this gourmond restaurant when you are in Avignon

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price, great ambience.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

There are two menus with two options each. We have loved the salmon and the rest of the courses (except the pork). The service is very nice, if a bit slow sometimes. It fills up quickly, so book in avance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eteifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gout du Jour also viewed

 

Been to Le Gout du Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing