We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thames Residence Hotel
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in the Thames Residences Hotel from September 24 to September 28; and we were delighted with our accommodations. Our apartment was very spacious, clean, bright, and comfortable. Upon checking in, we were given a tour of the apartment's offerings, including the internet and free VOIP phone calls to the U.S. We were also provided with information on sights to visit in the area, available tours, and restaurants. We loved having access to the terrace with its view of the wall of the Old City. It was so convenient to walk across the street into the walled Old City. We saw a lot of the Provence region and Avignon but left with a longing to see more. When we return we will definitely stay at the Thames Residences Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Midwest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you Jeff for taking some time for sharing your experience at Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon with all Trip'Advisor's travellers ! I saw that it was your first review and I am happy you start with Thames for your first step to Trip'Advisor ! All my team and myself would be very happy to welcome you again in the future as well as all your friends who want to discover Provence and Avignon ! May be you will try a bycilce tour of Provence, may be some cooking lessons, may be some wines' tastings school, may be only for some rest !
So, thanks again for staying with us this year and for your nice review about our apartments' services hotel in Avignon ! And feel free to share your experiences about the restaurants you visit during your stay ! It is the best way to thank them all for the delightful menus they served and if some wasn't, feel free to write it down too !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

An absolutely excellent place to stay, both for exploring Avignon and roaming further afield. The facilities in the spacious apartment are fantastic: a kitchen for cooking things bought in the markets, a balcony for relaxing with some good cheese and wine, and a perfect location for travelling around Provence. We had some ideas of what we might like to see, but Philippe (the manager and owner) told us of so much more that we should see that we rewrote our plans entirely. He also recommended some local restaurants that are now number among the best we've eaten at. If you are visiting Avignon or the surrounding area, this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Stew,
Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us.
Congratulation for your first review on Tripadvisor and I hope you will be a good Advisor on Trip'Advisor for the following years ! Sharing experiences day by day give the best update truth ! Many guests asked me why Thames apart'hotel is only available since a few years only. Answer is easy. Our hotel was booked from January first to December 31st during more than 8 years by american company GE for their japanese guests and they wanted top hotel, top services, top apartments, top equipments, top organization, everything top ! Since 2011 and Fukushima, every thing had changed and now all our guests get all top services we provided during ten years and still provide yet to all new guests, with the same passion of working, welcoming, and making our guests' stays, unforgetable stays in Provence !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in the Thames Residence Sept 16 through 19 and found the hotel to be everything other reviews said, plus some. The location is terrific (across the street from the 'Old City' Wall. Don't look any further if you are in the Avignon area.
First we were met and treated as welcome guests by Phillip (the manager). He carefully went through a welcome package where he provided suggested sights to visit, recommended restaurants, and overall tips for our visit. His recommendations were 'right-on'- especially the restaurants he described.
The rooms are terrific- (actually they are part of the 'Hotel Grand' ) - actually they are more like apartments , than juist rooms. We had a small kitchenette, separate sitting room, large bathroom, comfortable bed and balcony overlooking the old city wall.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. If you are in the Provence area- this is a must stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femcgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Frank
thank you very much for your comments in your review after staying with us. All my team thank you very much too ! Being a confirmed Advisor on Tripadvisor, we saw your reviews were most appreciated by other Tripadvisor travellers and it is the best way now to share your experiences in all cities you visit ! Thank for giving more value day after days to Tripadvisor reviews' website !
Truly TripAdvisors'
Best regards
Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very good place to stay if you would like to self cater in Avignon. Philippe, the manager and business owner, runs his business in a very professional manner; he is always available for advice and is extremely helpful. Very good space in the apartment with excellent amenities.... good bathroom with bath and separate shower, quiet and efficient air conditioning, car parking, free international phone calls, ipod dock and more.

We enjoyed it and would certainly stay there again anytime.

The south facing balcony was great for sunshine. Train spotters would enjoy it; you will see a lot but you cannot hear them when you close the windows.

But before you get too excited, take a reminder that the 12 apartments available are actually rooms within the Grand Hotel, which only ranks 32th on TA reviews and is not very grand nowadays. Check it out.

Avignon is a fine city but it has more than a fair share of down and outs. And just why cannot more French people learn to pick up their dog litter? Watch where walk!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room for the sunshine; they face south; just do not expect a view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for all information given to other guests.
I have to rectify that I am not the owner of all apartments (I would like it !) but I take care of all apartments like if there were mine !
I have to give the following information :
We are able to propose residential stay (minimum 4 nights) with all hotel supplies of course and all kitchenette facilities but no daily apartment cleaning
But we mostly have Hotel stays like all 4 stars hotels, with the same standards and services !
So, we got most reviews for hotel's stays but also now for residential stays ! According the travellers wishes, all will find in reviews what they are looking for and certainly be convinced that we do our best for all our guests ! Thank you for giving me the opposrtunity to give all these explanations
Philippe and all the Thames Team !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is ideally located just opposite the city walls, easily accessible by car or train. The room was neat and tidy and comfortable for the three of us. The Internet connection was well sorted. Philippe is very helpful. He lent us some umbrellas on a stormy night and was very helpful when we needed to return to the hotel to pick up an item we had left behind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Paul,
thank you for taking time to write your first review on tripadvisor and I hope it will be the first of a long list of reviews ! feel free to share your experiences about restaurants in Avignon and all other places you visited during your stay in France, because, lot of travellers from Australia, New Zealand and all part of the world will do like you, tours in Europe with some stops like in Carcassonne, Avignon, Monte Carlo, Dijon or Beaunes, Paris etc... For one night, for one week, for one month, there are so many things to visit, to see, to taste, that it is now the best time to make it really ! Thank you for making your first step in tripadvisor with your comment about your stay with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thames Residence Hotel was located in an excellent location. The hotel was spacious, clean and comfortable. The management helped us with where to go and what to see in Avignon. Avignon is a beautiful city and I recommend to stay at the Thames Residence Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay in Avignon. I hope you wrote reviewws also about the restaurants you had lunch and dinner too and I thank you very much for all of them !
Waiting for your next stay in Provence,
Yours faithfully with all our team !
Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from four nights at the Thames Residence apartments and we were delighted with quality of the rooms. All well kitted out with everything you need. Phillippe was very helpful indeed, even posted a garment we had left back to the uk. The location is fantastic, close to the city wall, train station, shops and the ring road which make finding it and touring about very easy. We will certainlystay there again when we are next in Avignon.

Room Tip: Take a bottle of wine and some cheese to enjoy on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Jessica,
Thank you for your review and for your comments about your stay in Avignon and Provence. The area of Provence is mostly appreciated by all travellers coming from all over the world ! But tasting french products like cheese and wine, the wonderful red wines of Cotes du Rhone like Chateau du Pape or Gigondas, or tasting the "rosé de Provence" from Cassis or Bandol, all these make our destination the top for many travellers ! We just try to make you meeting all these wonderful things like you describes, we just give you the ways to getting all these during your stay with us and we will continue like this !
Thank you for your comments about our rooms, apartments and services which give lot of encouragement to all our team for making better and better every day ! Personally, I am happy you made your first step in the TripAd' community with your review about Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
0.0 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#20 of 68 in Avignon
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames Residence Hotel

Address: 34 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £99 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thames is 4 stars aparthotel open in July 2002 and located in the old historical city center of Avignon, just in front of the millennium walls surrounding the old center, 10 minutes walk from the Popes' Palace and Benezet bridge. Largest air conditioned suites and apartments in the old city center, fully equipped for short or long stay. Thames resort Hotel and Apartments' services is less than 400 meters from 90 restaurants with the 10 most well known ones, less than 700 meters from Popes' palace, less than 500 meters from Opera and most well known theaters, next to the old central train station, next to the inter-cities busses'station ! Thames Resort Hotel and apartments'services is one of the only three hotels in Avignon able to propose underground car parking with private and secure lifts direct to the rooms, suites and apartments'floors ! Thames is also one othe the three hotels in the old city center to propose a pool and sundeck on the top of the building ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing