We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thames Residence Hotel
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

When making a reservation by internet you correspond with Philippe the manager and he couldn't be more helpful. We took the TGV train from CDG to Avignon and then the RER train to Avignon Center. When you come out of the train station to your left you see the sign for the Grand Hotel.A few minutes down the sidewalk you enter the main lobby of the Grand Hotel and on the left before the reception desk is a hallway. That is where Philippe's office for the Thames Residence is located. He showed us to our room and took lots of time to talk to us about things to see and do and restaurants.
We had an apartment with terrace facing the old city walls. The living area is comfortable. The bedroom can be closed off by sliding doors. The bathroom is bright and spotless with separate tub and shower. The kitchenette was well equipped. There is a coffee machine and a toaster, also a Nespresso machine. Most important equipment a corkscrew. We were not used to the induction cooktop, but figured out it wouldn't work without the pan on the burner.
Loved the great private WIFI and the fact that phone calls are free and for Canada and US this includes not only calls to landlines but also cell phones.
The location is great. The entrance through the wall in front of the train station is the main road. We walked everywhere. My favourite restaurant is Fou de Fafa. You need a reservation but excellent food and service. Also good is Le Caveau du Theatre. And I would highly recommend taking "Avignon Wine Tour" with Francois Marcou.
We would definitely recommend Thames Residence to friends. My only suggestion would be to add a broom and dustpan to each apartment for baguette crumbs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelandredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you Mary for taking time to write a review about your stay in Avignon and Provence ! I hope you will miss Provence a lot and come back with your husband for longer stay ! Fou de Fafa will give you the best too like Caveau du Theatre ! Unfortunately, you didn't try L'Essentiel restaurant this time, but I am sure, you will taste it next time and you will write other wonderful comments of all these nice places ! I hope you will be back for the grand opening of the new Modern Art Museum of Arles made by Frank Gehry, canadian and american architect who made also the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao ! You will see, it will be one other travel motivation stayin in Avignon for visiting this museum in Arles city !
And if you cannot wait till 2018, you will be welcome to stay with us again and as soon as you want !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Thames Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hard to find, until you realize this is a rental service inside the Grand Hotel. Philippe runs a great business, offering character and personality to renting privates suites within the Grand Hotel. Local knowledge, and care, make this a fun stop on the map. We'll definitely return with more time.

Room Tip: Enter the Grand Hotel lobby, take immediate left down office hallway, and find Philippe and his dog...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waterfront49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Carol and David,
Thank you very much for having posted this nice review about your shortly stay with us !
I am really sorry reading the review about the 5 Sens restaurant you choiced and which wasn't at its usual level and I can only presume that the wonderful chef Thierry Baucher wasn't there yesterday. When the chef isn't in his kitchen and behind his staff, thing can be wrong, but it shouldn't be this in such restaurant I agree ! And I feel bad like you ! You cannot stay with such bad feeling about Avignon restaurants ! That is why I will organize another nice dinner for your next stay in Avignon, and with a great surprize ! It isn't a joke, only a way for giving you best thing our city of Avignon and area of Provence can propose ! And so, you will forgot this bad experience !
I hope now that you both will forgot this bad "dinner" skiing on the sloapes of Courchevel and Meribel, under the sunny weather of the french Alpes you should have for next week !
Best regards from another fun of skiing, old manager at La Plagne ski resort and Val Thorens ski resort at the three Valleys ! Have great ski under nice sun !
Philippe and his labrador Falbala !
Best regards
Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We enjoyed our 2 weeks stay at Thames which was a great place to stay in Avignon.

The apartment we stayed in was more than ample with a bedroom, living room, a kitchenette and ensuite bathroom,

Mr. Philippe Dietrich, the Manager is a perfect host and very helpful in assisting in any small way including places to visit, restaurants etc. He made us very welcome and we appreciate that very much.

Thames is the place to stay at..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jchoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Jimmy and Anna,
Thank you very much for taking time for writing a review about your 2 weeks' stay with us in December, even if you had so bad weather like we had this year ! I appreciated you extended your stay for visiting more touristic spots showing in fact that there is so many thing to do, to visit, to taste when staying in our part of Provence ! Marseille and its "2013 european cultural capital " and all its events was also a nice way for discovering Provence next to the sea and only 30 minutes by TGV connection ! Yes, Avignon is a very nice area to stay for visiting south of France and we are really happy you thought our apartments would be the great place to stay for visiting Provence ! Thank you very much and I hope welcoming you in the future again for a longer and warmer stay may be in September or October for the grapes harvests and and after for the begining of the truffle's season !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I don't think there is a better place to stay in Avignon. 15 to 20 minute walk from anyplace you want to go in Avignon proper. The rooms are big and clean and you can't beat the prices for what you are getting (a legitimate hotel where you don't have to worry whether the sheets are clean or if the staff is going to steal your stuff). The only warning I would give is that if you rent a car, it is a little bit difficult to find the parking entrance (in an alley right before the hotel... if you see a bus station, you went too far). Also if you rent a car, be sure to pay extra and get parking... it is totally worth it (97% chance your rental will get damaged if you leave it outside). Other perks include extremely fast wi-fi, 24 hour concierge and an amazing bakery within 5 minutes walking distance (le carre de ble, next to the Irish Pub on the main strip).

The host (Philippe) is exceptionally helpful. If you need any recommendation about food/drink/places to go or see, then Philippe is your man.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Edwin,
it is a pleasure for all of us to read your review about your stay with us last September 2013 ! Thank you for taking time for writing this review and for sharing your experince with Thames Hotel in Avignon.
As you got it during 2013, all phone calls to landlines, fixed lines and mobiles from the apartment to USA were totally free , same for the private and secure internet access in each apartment ! As promised, and according the difficulties you had for discovering Provence, we will propse from May 2014 to every guest saying with us more than 4 nights, an free Iphone mobile or Sony or Samsung mobile, with all Google applications, Tripadvisor access and many other applies, but also with internet access and all communications from the mobile to US fixed, landlines and mobiles phone calls ! You will be connected totally free of charge, to the world and to your home and your friends when travelling in Provence when staying at Thames ! You wouldn't have to use your personal mobiles and have lot of roaming expenses ! We complained at TomTom Gps company and they told us they are note able to correct the wrong information in their soft, so even if Boulevard Saint Roch starts with number 2, (we are at number 34-36, same entrance than Grand Hotel) and even if TomTom Gps says there is no number below 52, you will now find your way when driving in Avignon and Provence ! And so, you wouldn't miss the entrance of the public parking below Grand Hotel and our apartments' Thames Hotel !
According the period of the year, I am pleased also to wish you and your family all the best for this new year, starting by health, love and fun for all of you ! We also wish welcoming you in the future again in Provence !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My review too is overdue, we stayed in September 2013. The resounding positives of staying at the Thames Apartment are mentioned over and over, so I will try not to repeat myself. If you have a rental car, and are exploring Provence, it is the ideal location. Don't worry if you have not pre-planned where to go and what to see in the area - Philippe has enough information and knowledge to help you sort that out, together with heaps of maps and brochures. There is a charge for parking, but you can pay in advance with your apartment payment, and Philippe can offer a slightly reduced rate. Being just outside the city walls means easy access to the roads out of the city, or an easy walk into all the attractions within the walls.
Usually travellers are out for long days exploring, so it is great to have the choice of going to one of the excellent restaurants within walking distance, being able to buy food at one of the Provence markets, or at the supermarket (about 7 mins walk) and enjoy cooking and relaxing in your apartment. Philippe will tell you about a great wine shop across from the supermarket.
The train station that is next to the hotel is not the one you would normally arrive in on if you were travelling by the TGV - that is however not too far away, but not walking distance. Note also that the GPS system we used in the car did not recognise the official address - you may have to have a few options up your sleeve until you are familiar with how to get back to the hotel - maybe try the side street where the entrance to the car park garage is - or an address of a business next door.

The only things that we found a bit 'strange', and I don't necessarily mean this is a negative way, is the set-up, the Grand Hotel went bankrupt and the Thames Apartments own what would have been the suites I guess - so I didn't expect that you would actually seem like you were staying in the hotel - as you walked down the same hallways and entered the room as you would any of the hotel rooms, but it wasn't owned by the hotel. The lights in the hallway are on security switches, so they turn on as you walk down the hallway, we probably noticed this more as our room was a ways down the hallway, so at night you seemed to be heading into the dark, but the lights would flicker on before you got to your door - good cost saving measure. We also had a strange sound from the ceiling in our apartment that sounded like chairs scraping across a tiled floor - because no one else has mentioned it, I guess it was unique to our visit ! It started around 7 in the morning, every morning - just weird, and could never find out what it was. I'm sure if it was a usual event, someone would have mentioned it!

All- in- all the convenience of the apartment and location outweighed all else - also Avignon is a great situation to base yourself to explore Provence.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank markandsue-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sue and Mark,
Thank you for taking time for writing a review about your stay with us, thank you very much !
Thank you for taking time writing about the GPS Tom Tom which says "there is no location for Boulevard Saint Roch n° 1 to 50". We also told Tom Tom about their wrong information and they said they cannot correct it. Even, the women said if "your guests found boulevard Saint Roch, it should be easy to drive on the boulevard to find number 36". So, you are totally right for letting people know about this failure from Tom Tom GPS ! I hope Tom Tom will correct this in the future !
Anyway, as you mentioned, we are in the same building than the Grand Hotel are we are still competitors with them, but working in good understandnis with them ! And driving the half mile Boulevard Saint Roch, you cannot pass it, a 100 meters long building like this, you cannot say you don't see it ! I appreciate too when you insist about our location, next to all you may need and have, next to supermarket, winestore, bakery, lanudry shop, most best restaurants, easy to park a rental car with the public underground car parking, all these making a nice place to stay ! As your comments are usefull for other TripAdvisor travellers, I hope it will still continue like this in the future ! Thanks a lot for being with us again and I hope to welcome you again for another stay in Provence !
All my best wishes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This review is long overdue as we stayed at the Thames, Avignon in August 2013. This was the best hotel we stayed at during our entire 2+ week vacation in Provence for so many reasons. The Thames met all our needs. It was clean, comfortable, had spacious rooms, and Philippe proved to be invaluable and a wealth of knowledge re: Avignon and the surrounding area. Philippe really went above and beyond with his assistance. He was patient, kind, informative, and a joy to chat with. Back to the hotel....as it was situated adjacent to the train station....at first we worried about the noise level. Amazingly enough, you don't hear the trains at all! A big plus was that it was situated right outside the walls of Avignon. It was refreshing to be able to end our day on a peaceful note, removed from the hustle and bustle of the tourist crowds inside the walls of Avignon. We were so impressed with the room, Philippe, and Avignon, that we changed our travel plans and decided to use Avignon and the Thames Residence as our base while traveling through Provence. Philippe assisted us every step of the way as we rented a car and ventured out using Philippe's recommendations as our guide. It was perfect! The room was perfect as well. We were able to close off our bedroom area with the pocket doors & our 16 year old was thrilled he had his own space including a separate T.V. We loved the fact that there was a kitchen area and we could get our coffee in the room in the morning before breakfast. Breakfast was spent almost daily at Le Carré de Blé, (another recommendation from Philippe) as we were addicted to their wonderful breakfast pastries, quiche, etc. The best meal we had while in France was without a doubt at L'Essentiel, in Avignon, also recommended by Philippe, bien sur!
I think the best part of this stay was the safety factor we felt at the hotel. We loved the fact that when our son didn't want to join us for dinner, we had no qualms granting his request and leaving him to enjoy the room himself. We had a delicious French meal and bought him a Domino's pizza on the way home. Perfect room, perfect location, fabulous restaurants through out Avignon, great shopping and sights, and the best guide ever in Philippe. I am already planning a trip back with friends and intend to use the Thames as our base.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Laura and Mike,
All my team is really honored reading your review at TripAdvisor concerning your stay in Provence last August ! Thank you very much ! Thank you very much too for describing all services provided you liked and the one like by your son too ! It isn't common to have 200 free tv channels, dvd player and blue ray ! Sometimes kids prefer to get in contact with their friends at home and having all phone calls to north America, fixed, landlines and mobiles totally free of charge is also a goog for children for having news from their friends ! I am also happy you liked our area of Provence ! France is nice country, Paris a nice city but often, foreigner people have difficulties with french people ! But never in Provence, our style of life is with much less stress than north and therefore, much more happy to share with people visiting our area ! And I am sure, for your second stay, you will discover much more thing to do like may be french cooking lessons, visit lot of other places and taste much more nice food in other restaurants, like l'essentiel or La Fourchette or Hiely, but may be in some nice villages around Avignon !
One guest booked more than one month ago, for one week, and she is still here, one month later ! Provence is really attractive and people living in Provence are generally nice people too who like and are proud welcoming foreigner people visiting Provence ! And all my team and myself will be proud too and really happy to welcome you again in the future ! So, thank you again for taking all this time for this long review and I will finish saying " a tres bientot, et bien cordialement "
Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had the same experience as so many other reviewers. This is in a good location opposite the wall. It is comfortable, has many amenities and extras and the kitchenette and extra room allowed us to get some food from the markets and cook it there. A bonus when you are usually staying in hotels on holiday.

But the stand out part is Philippe's suggestions and assistance. Like others we received a long and useful set of emails on booking and answering a couple of questions. His detailed set of suggestions for sights, restaurants and other things like laundries made our visit much more memorable. It was also helpful of him to warn us of a couple of areas outside Avignon where he did not recommend we drive after dark? And we used his suggestions of nearby villages to visit in the couple of days touring after we left.

So all in all we had a good time there and very much appreciated Philippe's guidance.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time for leaving your lovely comment on TripAdvisor ! Thank you !
I and my team are very honored by your review seing that you are an "Emerit" Advisor since 2005, having so many usefull recommendations for lot of TripAdvisor travellers who read yours reviews ! Thank you for introduice us to them through your Emerit position in TripAdvisor community !
Best regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.0 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#16 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#15 of 69 in Avignon
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#20 of 69 in Avignon
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames Residence Hotel

Address: 34 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £98 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thames is 4 stars aparthotel open in July 2002 and located in the old historical city center of Avignon, just in front of the millennium walls surrounding the old center, 10 minutes walk from the Popes' Palace and Benezet bridge. Largest air conditioned suites and apartments in the old city center, fully equipped for short or long stay. Thames resort Hotel and Apartments' services is less than 400 meters from 90 restaurants with the 10 most well known ones, less than 700 meters from Popes' palace, less than 500 meters from Opera and most well known theaters, next to the old central train station, next to the inter-cities busses'station ! Thames Resort Hotel and apartments'services is one of the only three hotels in Avignon able to propose underground car parking with private and secure lifts direct to the rooms, suites and apartments'floors ! Thames is also one othe the three hotels in the old city center to propose a pool and sundeck on the top of the building ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing