We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience in Avignon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thames Residence Hotel
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The property is well run and Phillipe could not have been a better host. The facility was clean and very well appointed, everything functioned and was as promised. Great location opposite the Wall and entry to the old city. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I have to write "guest" because Tripadvisor doesn't agree when I wrote your first name to protect your private life and I can understand it, but it should be much better to write your first name ! Anyway, if I want my email going for thanking you, I have to do it like Tripadvisor authorized us to answer !
So, thank you very much for resuming your stay by "great experience, great place, great location", most demanded by all travellers looking for a location, a place to live, an atmosphere to taste with all ingredients made for having a nice stay, which are nice people, nice food, nice wines, nice weather, nice touristics spots to visit,........ You resumed it perfect and I don't want now to develop the main idea you wrote : Great experience, great place, great location !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

First the good news: Excellent location - easy access to the historic center, train station, restaurants, shops, sights. Spacious (for Europe) efficiency apartment with well stocked kitchenette, comfortable bed, good reading lights, free and fast Wifi, GREAT bathroom with an actual shower. The manager, Phillipe, as has been noted by everyone, is a hands-on, available source of information on pratically anything you need to know -- plus has great restaurant recommendations. If you rent a car, there is parking (reduced rate) on site. If you take the train for day trips, the station is virtually next door.

There is no actual bad news, but one needs to be aware that these apts are located inside the Grand Hotel, and -- while very clean and comfortable - are not what one might think of as "Provencal charm." Our south-facing rooms had a spacious balcony with chairs and table, but faced an empty building and the back of the train tracks. (No noise - the windows are soundproof). The north-facing rooms have large terraces facing the walls of the old city - more charming and I suspect more noise. On the whole - for the price, space and convenience, this is a great find, especially if you plan to stay for a few days. We (two adults) booked for 4 and stayed for 9 days -- so that says a lot! One other minor nitpick is that there is not much drawer or closet space -- but this is not a big deal. Avignon is an excellent base for exploring Northern Provence and the May, early June weather has been delightful. There is AC - essential in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony. North rooms face the ciy walls (better view); South rooms have no view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AllegroLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. We really like all points developped and specially about the situation : great base for Avignon and beyond ! Most people don't know that the historical medieval part of the city centre is only half a mile wide and most streets are or one way, or pedestrian, so, not really accessible when you rent a car for visiting all around Avignon. If hotels don't have valet service, it is not really nice to stay inside the millennium walls. Being just in front of the millennium walls and on the bottom of the main street Republique going to the Popes Palace and all restaurants and shops around, staying next the central train station is the most easiest way for discovering Provence, having with Thames one of the three hotels where you can walk from underground parking to your suite or apartment. Only 3 hotels and you have 70 hotels in Avignon ! So, having a car during your stay, it is one place to be for all these facilities for parking your car !
I have also to let you know that on south exposure, you have really nice 12m² balconies, totally private, ith palm trees, table, chairs and relax sun chairs. About the old empty building, the new city major of Avignon announced that this building will be the new Modern Art Street Museum of Avignon, for all living artists for their "ephemeral artistic products" ! The new facade showed on local newspapers will be red, green, yellow, bleu, nd even if I personally don't like the new project of the city hall major, I am a little be wrong, because as many new museums today, the architect translate his wish and some of them make it very well like Frank Gehry at the Guggenheim Museum of Bilbao which is wonderful and Pompidou centre I personally don't like ! So, in many years, our guests will may asked to have the view of this new Artists' house !
Finally, I have to confirm too that the atmosphere developped in our suites and apartments is more the medieval provencal way that the provencal way proposed since 100 years but Avignon is a medieval city like Carcassonne, or Aigues Mortes or Uzes ! The charm of Provence is to seat under a nice tree during a sunny day, tasting nice provencal food and tasting wonderful wines like our Cotes du Rhone from Chateauneuf du Pape or some Rosé from Bandol or Cassis, listening to the "cigada's song " ! "Provencal charm" is more a "wonderful way of life" without stress, a way to be allowed to be even lazy, for better feeling all beautiful thing given by the nature all around, and not only the decoration of a room or other common areas ! Provencal art of living has considerably developped from years 500 to ours years today but still is the place for a better living ! That is why we recommend also our guests visiting other nice places reflecting this development through the 1500 past years !
So, thank you again for all your recommandations you made to other travellers for visiting all Provence based at Thames Suites and Apartments, thank you very much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I would highly recommend the Thames Residence Hotel to anyone going to Avignon. The location is perfect? We looked forward to coming back to the room each night. Great shower. Very clean and quiet. Very easy walk from train station. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisalimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We cannot write your first name otherwise our answer will not be published by Tripadvisor. But I am sure you will recognize you ! Thank you for taking time to leave a review on Tripadvisor for giving information to all travellers who will stay in Provence and Avignon ! I am happy you gave the most demanded information about our situation. Lot of people don't know that the old part of the city centre is only 700 meters of diameter like we say, "inside the millennium walls" ! So, situated next to the central train station, we are on the bottom of main street Republique, on the other side of the millenium walls, so less than 50 meters from the old historical part of the city centre, part which is pedestrian all time in July and every saturday afternoon all year around ! Most other 4 stars hotels situated in this historical centre doesn't have private parking facilities, except the Hotel de L'Europe. Many hotels used the Popes Palace parking or the one of the provencal market Les Halles or also, the one at Cours Jean Jaures. But no one have the parking underground, with private and secure lifts taking them from the parking to their suites or apartments, like we have ! It has to be given as information, because most travellers want to know before for taking good decisions ! And I wanted to thank you for letting me given all these precisions for all travellers who will visit Avignon and Provence with a car or rental car ! Thank you dear Guest !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just steps from the train station, this property was perfectly located for our overnight excursion to Avignon. The dozen suites that comprise Thames Residence are on the first floor (American second floor) of the Grand Hotel, and although these two businesses are completely separate, you do enter through the Grand Hotel's elegant main lobby, which is very pleasant. The affable manager, Philippe Dietrich, escorted us to our room and provided a thorough explanation of everything we needed to know. Then, after our first exploration of lovely Avignon, it was great to come back and relax on the patio with its view of the 800-year-old ramparts just across the boulevard. We both found the nicely decorated suite to be clean, quiet, and relaxing; the bedroom was dark and the mattress comfy, made up with good linens. We requested some Keurig coffee "pods" and in the morning used the in-room coffeemaker before going out for breakfast pastries at nearby Le Carré de Blé, which is highly recommended. Overall, everything any visitor would like to experience in Avignon is an easy walk from this unique hotel-within-a-hotel, and we were very glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Kathleen,
Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay with us last April ! I hope welcoming you longer next time, there is so many thing to do, to visit, to taste that all a week wouldn't be enough ! Our suites are really appreciated even if some guests don't understand that it cost a little bit more than an usual hotel room ! Having more space, more facilities, more services, for only some more cents, it is really appreciated for people travelling often or all over the world ! You found a nice place to stay in Avignon and I know you will come back ! You tasted not to much restaurants which are also a wonderful time to share when staying in Avignon, with our partner Restaurant l'Essentiel, or Christian Etienne, or le Diapason, or les 5 sens, or Hiely Lucullus or Fou de Fafa or Caveau du Theatre ...... many many other wondeful addresses to discover ! One address every night for dinner ! So, thank you again for your review and I hope welcoming you soon with some champagne !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Our efficiency apartment at the Thames Residences was a perfect base for us in Provence.

We are a family of 3, with an 11 month old baby.
When we arrived we saw that our flat had been outfitted with a baby cot and high chair. The Thames Residences proprietor, Phillipe was very welcoming, without being overbearing. I'm certain that he is happy to help as much or as little as any particular guest prefers.

We spent our days exploring, buying food at markets along the way, and quiet nights at "home". We prepared dinners in the kitchenette and the terrace provided us with a great place to linger over food and wine, without waking up the little one. It was really perfect.

It's worth noting that the kitchenette has on a range top and toaster, rather than an oven, but this is not a problem with a little planning.

The facility doesn't have laundry service or machines, but Philippe directed us to a full service laundromat in the city center and even called ahead to tell them we were coming. At every turn he was helpful like this and that really made our stay great.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
You didn't get my answer earlier because Tripadvisor rejected. I wrote your first names and my answer has to be without any references ! So, sorry, for the delay !
I want to thank you first for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and second, because your review will mark a new service for all tripadvisor's travellers staying with us ! You wrote every thing was perfect staying with baby but you had like to have an "insite laundry service" ! Our owner answered to me that "laundry is another profession and hotels aren't laundry or dry cleaning services ! We have laundry suppliers, we have laundry and dry cleaning services which are, may be, like in all hotels, a little bit too "expensive, there are 2 laundromat shops open 9 to 9 less than 100 meters, why should we have a washing machine in our common area ? How would guests do with a washing machine they wouldn't even know how the machine is operating ? and what would they do if they operate wrong and all laundry would be colored ? Who will be responsable ? Lot of problems for small benefit ! "
Our marketing lady resolves all these questions and so, we will be the first 4 stars resort hotel in Avignon to propose our guests staying more than 3 nights with us, a new laundry facility, being able to access to a washing machine under some conditions of course, new service which will be operating for next July 2014 ! So, your review was really the start for this new facilty for most our guests in the future, and, for all our previous guests using this new facility, I want to thank you very much again ! That is also an evidence that all reviews help and motivate to find the best way to be better and better, and that they answer guests' wishes, which is the basis of marketing ! So, we hope future guests will appreciate this new facility during their stay with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our trip to Provence couldn't have started better, - my 18 y.o. son and I really enjoyed our stay in Thames Residence Hotel. Our room was very nice and quiet, we got two comfortable beds as we requested, the location of the hotel is about 5 minutes' walk to the center of old Avignon.
But the most importantly, the resident manager Philippe is tremendously helpful, his advice is spot-on, and the two restaurants he suggested and made reservarions at for us were really good. I am definitely coming back and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Andrei,
Thank you first for taking time sharing your experience with us for all TripAdvisor travellers who will stay in Avignon and Provence ! I have to congratulate you about your performance running next to the top of Mont Ventoux (2000 meters) which is really a wonderful adventure with your son. May be, you will do it again during summer time, when the bicycle Tour de France will be in the nearest ! It is something nobody can imagine and of course, forget ! So, I hope welcoming you again in the future for a bicycle trecking in the area of Provence which a amazing too giving a lot of nice souvenirs about our Provence area, with fantastic dinners day after day ! Thank you again from all of us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

When making a reservation by internet you correspond with Philippe the manager and he couldn't be more helpful. We took the TGV train from CDG to Avignon and then the RER train to Avignon Center. When you come out of the train station to your left you see the sign for the Grand Hotel.A few minutes down the sidewalk you enter the main lobby of the Grand Hotel and on the left before the reception desk is a hallway. That is where Philippe's office for the Thames Residence is located. He showed us to our room and took lots of time to talk to us about things to see and do and restaurants.
We had an apartment with terrace facing the old city walls. The living area is comfortable. The bedroom can be closed off by sliding doors. The bathroom is bright and spotless with separate tub and shower. The kitchenette was well equipped. There is a coffee machine and a toaster, also a Nespresso machine. Most important equipment a corkscrew. We were not used to the induction cooktop, but figured out it wouldn't work without the pan on the burner.
Loved the great private WIFI and the fact that phone calls are free and for Canada and US this includes not only calls to landlines but also cell phones.
The location is great. The entrance through the wall in front of the train station is the main road. We walked everywhere. My favourite restaurant is Fou de Fafa. You need a reservation but excellent food and service. Also good is Le Caveau du Theatre. And I would highly recommend taking "Avignon Wine Tour" with Francois Marcou.
We would definitely recommend Thames Residence to friends. My only suggestion would be to add a broom and dustpan to each apartment for baguette crumbs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelandredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you Mary for taking time to write a review about your stay in Avignon and Provence ! I hope you will miss Provence a lot and come back with your husband for longer stay ! Fou de Fafa will give you the best too like Caveau du Theatre ! Unfortunately, you didn't try L'Essentiel restaurant this time, but I am sure, you will taste it next time and you will write other wonderful comments of all these nice places ! I hope you will be back for the grand opening of the new Modern Art Museum of Arles made by Frank Gehry, canadian and american architect who made also the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao ! You will see, it will be one other travel motivation stayin in Avignon for visiting this museum in Arles city !
And if you cannot wait till 2018, you will be welcome to stay with us again and as soon as you want !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
0.0 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#20 of 68 in Avignon
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames Residence Hotel

Address: 34 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £99 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thames is 4 stars aparthotel open in July 2002 and located in the old historical city center of Avignon, just in front of the millennium walls surrounding the old center, 10 minutes walk from the Popes' Palace and Benezet bridge. Largest air conditioned suites and apartments in the old city center, fully equipped for short or long stay. Thames resort Hotel and Apartments' services is less than 400 meters from 90 restaurants with the 10 most well known ones, less than 700 meters from Popes' palace, less than 500 meters from Opera and most well known theaters, next to the old central train station, next to the inter-cities busses'station ! Thames Resort Hotel and apartments'services is one of the only three hotels in Avignon able to propose underground car parking with private and secure lifts direct to the rooms, suites and apartments'floors ! Thames is also one othe the three hotels in the old city center to propose a pool and sundeck on the top of the building ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing