We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Thames Residence”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thames Residence Hotel
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We three (mom, dad, and nearly 6 year old daughter) are just back from a nice vacation in France, and I wanted to follow up with a post about the Thames. Avignon was our second stop, we took the TGV train from Paris Lyon to Avignon Centre. The Grand Hotel (where the Thames is housed) is impossible to miss. Walk out of the station, take a left, and walk 1 block to the hotel entrance. Viola! Simple!

The Grand Hotel is itself not so grand anymore but definitely a pleasant place. You'll be greated by Philippe who will give you spot on excellent advice about restaurants, markets, wine stores, car rentals, attractions worth seeing, etc. Nothing he told us lead us astray. And you can be sure that he is giving his personal opinion, not earning "kick backs" from any local establishments. The rooms were well stocked with about everything you can imagine. The free wifi and phone were helpful.

The large patio is a common patio shared with about 4-5 (?) rooms. That is not obvious in the pictures, but it did not bother us as there is plenty of space and distance between tables. There can be some street noise around rush hour, but we found it pleasant outside pretty much all day and evening.

The food in Avignon was probably tops for our vacation. The obvious love of food and wine by the locals is apparent from all the wonderful options to eat and markets full of great produce and wine.
Wine store - Nicolas (buy the Casis Rose, it is fantastic!)
Restaurants - excellent meals at L'Essential (put small fish tank on the table for our daughter and served cotton candy to her for dessert), amazing meal and outdoor dining at Le 5 Sens, beautiful final meal at Fou de Fafa. All three restaurants provided warm and friendly service. Very friendly service at Le Caveau de Theatre but meal was not a hi-lite, though pretty solidly done. (Made a wonderful "kids meal" for our daughter with fish, rissoto, and green beans in the shape of a little girl.) However, it is open on Monday when many places are closed. You can email many places for reservations.

Tuesdays!! Many museums are closed on Tuesdays in the area. So, plan ahead! Side trip to Arles for the museum and walk through town are worth the effort. Take the free little shuttle to the museum and then walk into town. Arles itself was a little dirty for our taste, lots of dog "poop" everywhere, graffiti, and crowds. I really preferred Avignon and glad we made that decision.

Room Tip: A second double bed was added to the living room for our daughter. This reduced some of our space bu...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for all you wrote in your review about Thames Avignon in Provence, tahnk you very much ! We are all proud giving nice souvenirs to all our guests ! I have to explain all travellers reading your excellent review about your stay and about you felt about Arles !
Arles is a beautiful city with 55.000 people living ther. They celebrate bulls fights (corrida, like in Spain) and horses fighting against bulls too 3 to 4 time a year, each time taking from 3 days to one week ! And after these evens where 50.000 visitors come to stay there for one hour to one full day without sleeping, when so many people come for having good time drinking, eating, dancing, I agree, it is a little bit to dirty but as every large meeting like this, it is normal.
Mrs Maja Hoffmann from Suisse, grand grand daughter of Mr Fritz Hoffmann La Roche who create the worlwide pharmaceutical company with his name, Mrs HOFFMANN decided a few weeks ago to ask the american Frank Gehry who made the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao and the new Museum from LVMH in Paris to build a new Modern Art Museum in Arles planned to be open in 2017, that is a guarantee of a wonderful place for discovering painting and other arts' ! Her father invested also and developped the Van Gogh foundation in Arles too, so, trust me, all of us would like to make Arles the gem it was 2000 years ago coming back again for giving all visitors of Provence another reasons to come visiting us ! And as you know staying with us, you have the central train station next to our block, with a 12 minutes train (when they arent on strike of course) but very easy for all our guests for going there ! And since last year, you have the best CHEF of France for 2013-2014, Jean Luc Rabanel and its wonderful Atelier and its Bistro d'a coté, 2 marvellous places to visit and taste too of course! So, sorry you had a bad souvenir about Arles and let me wish you another stay in our area in the future and I am sure you will write about Arles and its marvelous gems !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Thames Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Thames Residence for 3 nights. The location was just outside the city walls, the room was very spacious with a real King Sized bed, not two twin beds pushed together (for those of you accustomed to hotels in Europe, this is a big plus). Each room has it's own dedicated WiFi modem, and a kitchenette.

The manager Phillipe could not have been more pleasant to deal with. He sat down and explained all of the stuff we could do in and around Avignon, gave restaurant suggestions and even offered to set us up with a car rental.

The Thames Residence is actually inside the Grand Hotel. You get access to all of the amenities of the Grand, but you get the service of a boutique hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Great Value, spacious rooms, highly recommended by Jason from Los Angeles (written in his tripadvisor file) who wrote 106 reviews and visit 16 countries around the world and 90 cities ! His opinion about all experiences shared with Tripadvisor traveller writing about high quality and size our beds go into our hearts deeply, all my staff and myself are proud someone talk about our beds ! It was a important investment, but there is a return having no complain and now, some guests who will recognize the quality of this ! Thank you very much Jason !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The property is well run and Phillipe could not have been a better host. The facility was clean and very well appointed, everything functioned and was as promised. Great location opposite the Wall and entry to the old city. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I have to write "guest" because Tripadvisor doesn't agree when I wrote your first name to protect your private life and I can understand it, but it should be much better to write your first name ! Anyway, if I want my email going for thanking you, I have to do it like Tripadvisor authorized us to answer !
So, thank you very much for resuming your stay by "great experience, great place, great location", most demanded by all travellers looking for a location, a place to live, an atmosphere to taste with all ingredients made for having a nice stay, which are nice people, nice food, nice wines, nice weather, nice touristics spots to visit,........ You resumed it perfect and I don't want now to develop the main idea you wrote : Great experience, great place, great location !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First the good news: Excellent location - easy access to the historic center, train station, restaurants, shops, sights. Spacious (for Europe) efficiency apartment with well stocked kitchenette, comfortable bed, good reading lights, free and fast Wifi, GREAT bathroom with an actual shower. The manager, Phillipe, as has been noted by everyone, is a hands-on, available source of information on pratically anything you need to know -- plus has great restaurant recommendations. If you rent a car, there is parking (reduced rate) on site. If you take the train for day trips, the station is virtually next door.

There is no actual bad news, but one needs to be aware that these apts are located inside the Grand Hotel, and -- while very clean and comfortable - are not what one might think of as "Provencal charm." Our south-facing rooms had a spacious balcony with chairs and table, but faced an empty building and the back of the train tracks. (No noise - the windows are soundproof). The north-facing rooms have large terraces facing the walls of the old city - more charming and I suspect more noise. On the whole - for the price, space and convenience, this is a great find, especially if you plan to stay for a few days. We (two adults) booked for 4 and stayed for 9 days -- so that says a lot! One other minor nitpick is that there is not much drawer or closet space -- but this is not a big deal. Avignon is an excellent base for exploring Northern Provence and the May, early June weather has been delightful. There is AC - essential in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony. North rooms face the ciy walls (better view); South rooms have no view b...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AllegroLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. We really like all points developped and specially about the situation : great base for Avignon and beyond ! Most people don't know that the historical medieval part of the city centre is only half a mile wide and most streets are or one way, or pedestrian, so, not really accessible when you rent a car for visiting all around Avignon. If hotels don't have valet service, it is not really nice to stay inside the millennium walls. Being just in front of the millennium walls and on the bottom of the main street Republique going to the Popes Palace and all restaurants and shops around, staying next the central train station is the most easiest way for discovering Provence, having with Thames one of the three hotels where you can walk from underground parking to your suite or apartment. Only 3 hotels and you have 70 hotels in Avignon ! So, having a car during your stay, it is one place to be for all these facilities for parking your car !
I have also to let you know that on south exposure, you have really nice 12m² balconies, totally private, ith palm trees, table, chairs and relax sun chairs. About the old empty building, the new city major of Avignon announced that this building will be the new Modern Art Street Museum of Avignon, for all living artists for their "ephemeral artistic products" ! The new facade showed on local newspapers will be red, green, yellow, bleu, nd even if I personally don't like the new project of the city hall major, I am a little be wrong, because as many new museums today, the architect translate his wish and some of them make it very well like Frank Gehry at the Guggenheim Museum of Bilbao which is wonderful and Pompidou centre I personally don't like ! So, in many years, our guests will may asked to have the view of this new Artists' house !
Finally, I have to confirm too that the atmosphere developped in our suites and apartments is more the medieval provencal way that the provencal way proposed since 100 years but Avignon is a medieval city like Carcassonne, or Aigues Mortes or Uzes ! The charm of Provence is to seat under a nice tree during a sunny day, tasting nice provencal food and tasting wonderful wines like our Cotes du Rhone from Chateauneuf du Pape or some Rosé from Bandol or Cassis, listening to the "cigada's song " ! "Provencal charm" is more a "wonderful way of life" without stress, a way to be allowed to be even lazy, for better feeling all beautiful thing given by the nature all around, and not only the decoration of a room or other common areas ! Provencal art of living has considerably developped from years 500 to ours years today but still is the place for a better living ! That is why we recommend also our guests visiting other nice places reflecting this development through the 1500 past years !
So, thank you again for all your recommandations you made to other travellers for visiting all Provence based at Thames Suites and Apartments, thank you very much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I would highly recommend the Thames Residence Hotel to anyone going to Avignon. The location is perfect? We looked forward to coming back to the room each night. Great shower. Very clean and quiet. Very easy walk from train station. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisalimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We cannot write your first name otherwise our answer will not be published by Tripadvisor. But I am sure you will recognize you ! Thank you for taking time to leave a review on Tripadvisor for giving information to all travellers who will stay in Provence and Avignon ! I am happy you gave the most demanded information about our situation. Lot of people don't know that the old part of the city centre is only 700 meters of diameter like we say, "inside the millennium walls" ! So, situated next to the central train station, we are on the bottom of main street Republique, on the other side of the millenium walls, so less than 50 meters from the old historical part of the city centre, part which is pedestrian all time in July and every saturday afternoon all year around ! Most other 4 stars hotels situated in this historical centre doesn't have private parking facilities, except the Hotel de L'Europe. Many hotels used the Popes Palace parking or the one of the provencal market Les Halles or also, the one at Cours Jean Jaures. But no one have the parking underground, with private and secure lifts taking them from the parking to their suites or apartments, like we have ! It has to be given as information, because most travellers want to know before for taking good decisions ! And I wanted to thank you for letting me given all these precisions for all travellers who will visit Avignon and Provence with a car or rental car ! Thank you dear Guest !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just steps from the train station, this property was perfectly located for our overnight excursion to Avignon. The dozen suites that comprise Thames Residence are on the first floor (American second floor) of the Grand Hotel, and although these two businesses are completely separate, you do enter through the Grand Hotel's elegant main lobby, which is very pleasant. The affable manager, Philippe Dietrich, escorted us to our room and provided a thorough explanation of everything we needed to know. Then, after our first exploration of lovely Avignon, it was great to come back and relax on the patio with its view of the 800-year-old ramparts just across the boulevard. We both found the nicely decorated suite to be clean, quiet, and relaxing; the bedroom was dark and the mattress comfy, made up with good linens. We requested some Keurig coffee "pods" and in the morning used the in-room coffeemaker before going out for breakfast pastries at nearby Le Carré de Blé, which is highly recommended. Overall, everything any visitor would like to experience in Avignon is an easy walk from this unique hotel-within-a-hotel, and we were very glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Kathleen,
Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay with us last April ! I hope welcoming you longer next time, there is so many thing to do, to visit, to taste that all a week wouldn't be enough ! Our suites are really appreciated even if some guests don't understand that it cost a little bit more than an usual hotel room ! Having more space, more facilities, more services, for only some more cents, it is really appreciated for people travelling often or all over the world ! You found a nice place to stay in Avignon and I know you will come back ! You tasted not to much restaurants which are also a wonderful time to share when staying in Avignon, with our partner Restaurant l'Essentiel, or Christian Etienne, or le Diapason, or les 5 sens, or Hiely Lucullus or Fou de Fafa or Caveau du Theatre ...... many many other wondeful addresses to discover ! One address every night for dinner ! So, thank you again for your review and I hope welcoming you soon with some champagne !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Our efficiency apartment at the Thames Residences was a perfect base for us in Provence.

We are a family of 3, with an 11 month old baby.
When we arrived we saw that our flat had been outfitted with a baby cot and high chair. The Thames Residences proprietor, Phillipe was very welcoming, without being overbearing. I'm certain that he is happy to help as much or as little as any particular guest prefers.

We spent our days exploring, buying food at markets along the way, and quiet nights at "home". We prepared dinners in the kitchenette and the terrace provided us with a great place to linger over food and wine, without waking up the little one. It was really perfect.

It's worth noting that the kitchenette has on a range top and toaster, rather than an oven, but this is not a problem with a little planning.

The facility doesn't have laundry service or machines, but Philippe directed us to a full service laundromat in the city center and even called ahead to tell them we were coming. At every turn he was helpful like this and that really made our stay great.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
You didn't get my answer earlier because Tripadvisor rejected. I wrote your first names and my answer has to be without any references ! So, sorry, for the delay !
I want to thank you first for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and second, because your review will mark a new service for all tripadvisor's travellers staying with us ! You wrote every thing was perfect staying with baby but you had like to have an "insite laundry service" ! Our owner answered to me that "laundry is another profession and hotels aren't laundry or dry cleaning services ! We have laundry suppliers, we have laundry and dry cleaning services which are, may be, like in all hotels, a little bit too "expensive, there are 2 laundromat shops open 9 to 9 less than 100 meters, why should we have a washing machine in our common area ? How would guests do with a washing machine they wouldn't even know how the machine is operating ? and what would they do if they operate wrong and all laundry would be colored ? Who will be responsable ? Lot of problems for small benefit ! "
Our marketing lady resolves all these questions and so, we will be the first 4 stars resort hotel in Avignon to propose our guests staying more than 3 nights with us, a new laundry facility, being able to access to a washing machine under some conditions of course, new service which will be operating for next July 2014 ! So, your review was really the start for this new facilty for most our guests in the future, and, for all our previous guests using this new facility, I want to thank you very much again ! That is also an evidence that all reviews help and motivate to find the best way to be better and better, and that they answer guests' wishes, which is the basis of marketing ! So, we hope future guests will appreciate this new facility during their stay with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.0 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#16 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#15 of 69 in Avignon
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#18 of 69 in Avignon
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames Residence Hotel

Address: 34 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £98 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thames is 4 stars aparthotel open in July 2002 and located in the old historical city center of Avignon, just in front of the millennium walls surrounding the old center, 10 minutes walk from the Popes' Palace and Benezet bridge. Largest air conditioned suites and apartments in the old city center, fully equipped for short or long stay. Thames resort Hotel and Apartments' services is less than 400 meters from 90 restaurants with the 10 most well known ones, less than 700 meters from Popes' palace, less than 500 meters from Opera and most well known theaters, next to the old central train station, next to the inter-cities busses'station ! Thames Resort Hotel and apartments'services is one of the only three hotels in Avignon able to propose underground car parking with private and secure lifts direct to the rooms, suites and apartments'floors ! Thames is also one othe the three hotels in the old city center to propose a pool and sundeck on the top of the building ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing