We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous tour, you really get to know Avignon”

Avignon Gourmet Tour
Ranked #1 of 20 Food & Drink in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Avignon Gourmet Tour is a gourmet walking tour of Avignon. It's an original way to discover this beautiful city and get a sample of local gastronomy. During the 3h visit, we will take you to the best shops and artisans to taste Provençal products and learn about the history. All food and wine tastings included.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We just took this food tour this morning with Aurelie. We couldn't book it for our 1st day in the Avignon area because of a holiday. But we are so glad we did this tour even on our last day. She gave us an overview on the history, answered all of our questions on what it's like to live in Provence today as well as showing us artisan producers and teaching us about the food. These were not tastes, it's a walking meal finished with a wonderful glass of Chateaneuf de Pape. Definitely a must do, to meet a local and really see Avignon.

1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvignonGourmetTours, Propriétaire at Avignon Gourmet Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Customers,

We thank for taking the time of writing this nice review and are very happy to see that you have enjoyed this foodie morning with us. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Avignon ang hope to see you soon in Provence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"croissants"
in 18 reviews
"les halles"
in 28 reviews
"artisan food"
in 4 reviews
"skip breakfast"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful morning"
in 8 reviews
"tasty treats"
in 5 reviews
"personal recommendations"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful ambassador"
in 3 reviews
"chocolate shop"
in 7 reviews
"food culture"
in 4 reviews
"she brings"
in 3 reviews
"covered market"
in 7 reviews
"culinary traditions"
in 3 reviews
"perfect start"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful food"
in 5 reviews
"restaurant recommendations"
in 5 reviews
"great introduction"
in 4 reviews
Filter

210 - 214 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I am SO glad I stumbled upon this food tour while in Avignon as it was the highlight of my trip! Please do yourself a favor and go at the beginning of your stay... you will want to revisit many of the places and suggestions she gives you.

Aurelie is a one of a kind tour guide. I am gluten intolerant and sent her a note to see if it would be worth taking the tour. Aurelie went above and beyond to personally research gluten-free options before our tour. She made sure I didn't miss a single thing even though I had dietary restrictions. It felt really nice to be so well taken care of and to see how dedicated Aurelie is to giving each customer a deliciously memorable experience.

The food on this tour was delicious and I experienced some of the best chocolate of my life (seriously!). You will not leave hungry! It is truly a great value... a fascinating history lesson, an off the beaten path/locals only experience and some tasty treats with a funny and engaging tour guide. What more could you ask for?

Book this tour... you will be so glad you did!

Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvignonGourmetTours, Propriétaire at Avignon Gourmet Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Katrina,

I am deligted to read such a nice review about our tour. From now Gluten free tours will be available so customers with food restrictions will be able to join us and enjoy the delcious gluten free food Avignon has to offer ! Many thanks for your kind comments ! Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We loved everything about this tour, except the fact that we did this on our last day in Avignon. Please do this wonderful tour at the start of your trip to Avignon, so you know where to get the best of local food and cooking.
Aurelia is as knowledgable and passionate about her food, as she is about her city, giving insightful and interesting facts about Avignon as you walk the cobble streets and lane ways.
You will try the best of provincial food, from the locals who grow, cook, and produce it.
A huge thank you to Aurelie for putting together such a wonderful tour, this was an unforgettable part of our trip, a must do in Avignon.

Make sure you bring your appetite with you, as you'll need it!

1  Thank advisingtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvignonGourmetTours, Propriétaire at Avignon Gourmet Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Customers,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about our tour ! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed yourselves on this foodie morning ! Hope to see you again in Provence !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This gourmet tour is a ' must do ' experience for any visitor to Avignon. Aurelie, the tour guide, has such an engaging and vibrant personality with a wonderful knowledge of the history of Avignon ( which was a great added extra). She guided us through the old streets of the city and we experienced a variety of excellent tastings from wines, cheeses, chocolates, croissants and nougat. All the food and wine was of excellent quality and by the end of the tour we had found a friend in Aurelie and had learned and experienced so much of Avignon. This tour was the highlight of our stay in Avignon and we thoroughly recommend it.

Thank Knox2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvignonGourmetTours, Propriétaire at Avignon Gourmet Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for this kind review. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed this morning with us. We will continue working hard to please all the others that will join us on this Avignon Gourmet Tour!
I hope to see you again in Provence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank France-Just-For-You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvignonGourmetTours, Propriétaire at Avignon Gourmet Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avignon Gourmet Tour also viewed

 

Been to Avignon Gourmet Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing