We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chez Marie......a real gem.....great location”
Review of Chez Marie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Marie
Ranked #32 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chez Marie......a real gem.....great location”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at Chez Marie. It was a wonderful start to our holiday. The home was lovely and our room was very warm and cozy and spotlessly clean. Marie was a very gracious hostess and was very knowlegeable about what to see in and around Avignon. Chez Marie is located within walking distance to the walled city which was an added benefit. We loved being served great coffee and wonderful breads and pastries in the patio area. All in all, it was a wonderful 4 days and we would certainly stay there again and recommed it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
59
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houghton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We came, we saw and we can recommend !!!
We had a simply lovely stay at Chez Marie. The rooms were clean and beautiful, the breakfast just great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2009

A perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of Avignon during the festival month, this lovely B&B is just over 10 minutes easy walking to the Porte de la Republique. The Hats room is beautifully and tastefully decorated with a really comfortable double bed and even English language books to read and a CD player with disks supplied. A fan is provided for the often severe summer heat, but we found the room generally cool on its own. The spacious modern bathroom is just across the hall but is exclusive the those in the Hats room. Breakfasts are delightful and varied and exquisitely served by the really charming, efficient Marie with her gentle humour. She will offer help and advice on all aspects of the town and is always available for consultation. The shady little walled garden at the front is ideal for resting after a hot day in the town among all the crowds. And should you stay out late in the town, the walk home is perfectly safe through a really quiet residential neighbourhood, saving you a taxi fare. This is a superbly run B&B - all credit to Marie right from the very first contact by e-mail. We loved our two nights here and would most emphatically recommend it to anyone.

Alan and Pauline Kennedy (Portadown, Northern Ireland)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanderryhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Initially, we wanted the Hats room but that was unavailable. We stayed in the Fans room instead and didn't regret it. Our room was cosy and you can tell that Marie put alot of thought into decorating the room. There was sufficient closet and shelve space for our belongings and there was still room for our luggage. Marie is a very friendly and warm hostess. She gave us plenty of information on Avignon and her B&B is an easy 10 min walk to the city walls.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nooldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We carefully read the rave reviews of Chez Marie before booking, and were not disappointed by the stay there. It lives up to the billing. Chez Marie is exactly what we wanted from a B&B -- comfortable, impeccably clean, nicely decorated, local flavor, gracious hostess, easy parking. My wife and I didn't think it could be done any better, really. Any watch-outs? Not really. Don't expect a huge bedroom of course, and understand that it is a full 10 minute walk to the old city. Book early-- don't imagine this is an easy place to get in prime season!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdenAvenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Chez Marie is a quaint B&B located just outside the city centre walls. The price is right and Marie is an excellent host . She provided us with great information about local venues. We stayed in the Hats room and although the bathroom is across the hall, it is for your private use.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserFamilyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We recently stayed with Marie, owner of Chez Marie in Avignon and absolutely loved it!
Marie was a wonderful lady and invited us into her home with a big smile! Our room was quite large and the breakfasts we received every morning were delicious! It was always a great start to our day.
The B & B was a short 10 min walk to the city walls of Avignon, through a cute little neighborhood.
Marie is quite knowledgable about Avignon and it's surroundings and is quite helpful with suggesting restaurants and things to do. All of her recommendations were excellent and we loved everything we ate and did!
We would highly recommend you stay at Chez Marie - your home away from home!
Joyce & John, Montreal, Canada

  • Liked — location, room & owner
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Altera Roma Hotel
Altera Roma Hotel
#32 of 69 in Avignon
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 55 in Avignon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Appart'hotel Residella House
0.7 mi away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#6 of 55 in Avignon
373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pop' Hostel
Pop' Hostel
#2 of 23 in Avignon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Marie

Property: Chez Marie
Address: 7 avenue des Chalets, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed & Breakfast in Avignon close to city centre, with car park facilities ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing