We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option in town”
Review of Hotel Boquier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boquier
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel has clearly been expanding overtime without any aesthetics concern. However, if you are like me, whose priorities are convenient location (between the train station and the main square), cleanness, great breakfast and, above all, careful and dedicated service, this is the place to stay in. Just as an example, I had an early pick up transfer to the station and the youngster at the reception prepared the breakfast well before the ordinary time. Priceless!

Room Tip: Some rooms are covered by the wi-fi signal, so inquire when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Antonio_Floripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This bed and breakfast was recommended in the Rick Steve’s Guide and after looking at several other B& B’s I chose to stay here for our five day stay in Avignon. It was clean, relatively quiet, nice room, good breakfast selection (croissants, fruit, cereal, jams, coffee, tea the usual B& B selections). The location was perfect for getting around Avignon. The bus station was two blocks away and the train was three. Good restaurants are everywhere and the central market is to die for. Pretty much everything we wanted to see in the walled city is within a ten to fifteen easy walk. But really what makes any stay at a hotel or B &B are the people who run it and their attitude. The owners (Pascal and Silvi) of this small B&B went out of their way to help us. We literally felt as if we were their only guests. They helped us with restaurants, reservations and tours and provided us with all kinds of help and friendly advice so that we could make the most of our time in Avignon. I have absolutely no trouble recommending Hotel Boquier.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel was great place to stay both for location and price. We spent 3 days in Avignon and went on some wonderful tours. The hotel was in the heart of the walled part of Avignon. We traveled here by train and if there had not been a strike, it would have been a lot easier to get there. We ended up walking 4km to the hotel from the main train station because of the strike (rail and taxi) and were quite happy when we got to this hotel. The room was a good size, with a large storage closet that fit our luggage. The bathroom was a bit tight but workable. The decor was quite homey and loved the interactions with the owners. They made our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was good but we were only able to have it one day as we had tours our other days. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling in the area-it is a great base for seeing all of Avignon and Provence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctthrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We made the decision to save money on our hotel and splurge on day trips, which led us to the Boquier Hotel (online booking 4 weeks in advance). We spent 3 nights in Room 11, the African room, which was very basic with no view and a small double bed (and up a very steep staircase!). But it had the main things you need: a desk (to throw things on); a big chair (to throw more things on; a small closet (to hang things up); a functional shower (sometimes rare in 2-star hotels) in the tiny bathroom; a large window with shutters and a dark curtain (necessary for a good sleep); and most importantly an adjustable air conditioning unit, which did a great job of keeping the room cool and quiet.

The location/street was convenient--just a block off the main drag, but that made a positive difference in the quietness. We saw many other hotels a few blocks closer to the heart of the city, located right on the main streets or by the big plazas, that had singers or crowds of tourists parked underneath them. Were glad to look at all that but happier to have a quiet place to retreat. We always felt safe walking around even late at night—the Avignon streets seemed clean and well lit.

For convenience, we enjoyed the Bouquier's great coffee/tea/fresh juice, croissants, and fruit breakfast every morning (at around 10 euros pp wasn't the cheapest option for bkfst), and as everyone on TripAdvisor mentions, the proprietors and their staff are helpful and friendly. Lots of tour brochures and maps in the front reception area. On checkout day they kept our luggage safe behind the front desk and let us settle up way after checkout time, when we returned from our half-day morning wine tour before heading by train to Nice and the airport.

We absolutely loved Avignon and its gorgeous environs and hope to go back again someday for a more leisurely visit. We were pleased with our whirlwind Provence Panorama "Best of" Tour and the Prestige Avignon 1/2 Day Wine Tour, both of which I've written up elsewhere on TripAdvisor. Also, check out my Youtube video about the surprising event that greeted us on our first day in Avignon. If you're planning a trip to Avignon, you could do worse than arriving on the Summer Solstice. (-: http://youtu.be/73xy9jQlsOQ (Also, here's my little video about the wine tour: http://youtu.be/Ou6et8oF3hk) Have fun!

PS on things to do: The ferris wheel along the River Rhone may seem a touristic anomaly, but after dinner when it's dark out, the shops are closed, and you can walk no more, it's a great thing to do for amazing nighttime views of the city, and is only about a 10-minute walk home to Boquier. We preceded that ferris wheel ride with a dinner-time boat cruise up and down the Rhone after a long day walking around Arles—dinner cruises are the ultimate touristy thing to do but a great way to see the city from a different POV with a gorgeous sunset and the soft golden lights coming on over Avignon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leklekblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is an excellent place to stay in Avignon. They were extremely helpful - let us keep luggage there during the day and sent back a coat (to the UK!) that my mother had left. Thank you very much - I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Avignon. Our room was also absolutely lovely - and perfect for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here three nights, using Avignon as a base for exploring Provence. As mentioned by other reviewers, the rooms at Hotel Boquier may be modest, but it's the friendly welcome by the hotel's owners that make this place a must for your Avignon visit! Sylvie and Pascal were full of helpful advice and suggestions (I'm particularly indebted to Sylvie for advising me not to wear a dress on our visit to Chateauneuf-du-Pape due to the strong wind that day!) Their restaurant recommendations turned out to be some of our favorite food we had while in France. They also offer a nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. It was just a short walk from the train station, which made it convenient. The room was nice and clean and typical in size for European hotels. Sylvie was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and with sightseeing as well. There was wifi in the room too. We didn't eat breakfast there, preferring instead to pick up pastries and coffee as we walked around Avignon, so we can't comment on that. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjf347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Boutique Hotel
Regina Boutique Hotel
#19 of 68 in Avignon
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Colbert
Hotel Le Colbert
#12 of 68 in Avignon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#15 of 68 in Avignon
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Medieval
Hotel le Medieval
#27 of 68 in Avignon
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boquier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boquier

Address: 6 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £65 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boquier 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Boquier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquier Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing