We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply could not have been a better choice”
Review of Hotel Boquier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boquier
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
1 review
“Simply could not have been a better choice”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The Hotel Boquier is a wonderful, cozy, well located hotel. The owners are exceptional, very helpful and engaging. Our room was large and airy, very well appointed and comfortable. All the best Sylvie and Pascal.

Susan and Gordon, Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Provence2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    157
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
60
176
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed five days and we had a great time. The hotel is located right near the principal attractions in Avignon. Also, the service was more than impeccable. Finally, the rooms are very clean and spacious. Great value!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boubzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We consulted Trip Advisor as this was the first time either my girlfriend or I had been to Avignon. We were there to scout out an apartment she is buying in the north part of the City.

As everyone has pointed out, the owners go out of their way to guide you to Restaurants that aren't tourist traps and to interesting parts of town. We enjoyed every recommendation.

We were on the 1st Flr (2nd flr to us Americans) in rooms 1 & 2. This is definitely a budget hotel albeit a very well located and mostly clean. Downsides were the paper-thin wall between my room and the next door one, cracking paint and mildew in my shower and a hazardeous window situation in my girlfriend's room which wasn't taken care of although it was promised.

Breakfast was a good value at €8 especially with the owner's homemade jam. But if you are going to stay for more than 2 mornings you might want to branch out and try some other places as it is the same choices everyday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed 4 nights in this small family-run hotel. Sylvie and Pascal (the owners) are nice and helpful and speak English. It is in a quiet but safe side-street.

We stayed in Room 4 (the Morocco Room) which has plenty of space and is decorated simply in Moroccan style. There are plenty of shelves and hanging rails but no enclosed wardrobe or hooks if that matters to you. It's on the 1st floor which means not too many stairs though they were a bit old and crazily-angled (there's no lift but it's fine if you're OK carrying luggage). We were not aware of noise from other rooms though there was a distant hum from an air-con unit outside the window. The shower does drain directly through the bathroom floor but it was good and reports of flooding the bedroom floor seem a bit exaggerated. One of the few bad reviews of this hotel mentioned mosquitoes but this wasn't a problem in March and I suspect was somewhat exaggerated. It cost us 60 Euros per night for the room which seemed very reasonable.

The hotel is located within the old town very close to the Central Train Station and the bus stop for the shuttle to the TGV station. We used the bus station for buses out into the countryside (to go walking) and that is also very nearby.

Sylvie recommended eating in Epice & Love. I was a bit wary about somewhere that everyone seems to have been recommended and that has such a corny name but I have to say it was one of the best meals we had. She also recommended a great cheap & cheerful pizza place but I'm a bit unsure about her enthusiasm for the ravioli pizza. We also tried a Corsican restaurant (in Place Pie) and a Lebanese restaurant by the city walls just off Place Crillon. Both were good.

Breakfast at the hotel was 8 Euros extra and was good but we hunted out some nearby bakeries which were cheaper and also good.

I inspect accommodation as part of my job running Sevenoaks Tourist Office (in England) and I would have no hesitation in saying that you can book this hotel with confidence.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeldrewVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

From the useful directions to the hotel from the TGV station with my first email communication, the staff went out of their way to help. Hotel is very pretty, very Provencal, excellent value and the location couldn't be better. They took phone messages and pointed us in the direction of the nearest laudromat. The young owners have put a lot of work and style into the place. Some may balk at the lack of an elevator but we found it no problem at all. Breakfast is good and Sylvie's homemade confiture is wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roundtripToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This lovely little hotel is an exceptional find. A friend and I travelled to Paris and Provence for a ten-day vacation and found Hotel Boquier by cross-checking a few sources, including TripAdvisor. It's all true - Sylvie and Pascal are hoteliers par excellence, the location is perfect (walking distance from the train station, the shuttle to the TGV and the attractions of Avignon). The dinner recommendations were much appreciated - especially Epices & Love, which is an embarrassment of riches for a very reasonable price. Pascal helped us organize a day tour of Provence that was a high point of our vacation. Avignon is the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding countryside. The accommodations were very comfortable, the room and bathroom spotless. The breakfast is delicious and well worth eight euros. Unless you are looking for a Holiday Inn, run don't walk to Hotel Boquier.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Boquier for 2 nights, where I booked because of Trip Advisor reviews. The previous review (Cathy Cruises) is one contrary to many well-deserved, glowing reports, so bear that in mind.

We, my friend and I, are mid-fifties women and we couldn't be more pleased with our experience at this little hotel.

First of all, location! It is easy to find: Sylvie had emailed a map to me and it is close to the tgv shuttle, train and bus stations. Avignon sights are within walking distance: the main street, which leads to the Place de L'Horlage and the Pope's Palace, is just a block away.

Secondly, hospitality. The hotel is small and intimate, like staying at a friend's home. Sylvie and Pascal are so friendly and helpful: we relied on Sylvie's recommendations and directions and she steered us right every time.

Thirdly, accomodations: simple but warm and comfortable. Our room had two single beds, a large matching dresser and armoire painted gray with white accents. The room opened onto a small patio; there was a lovely red/cream tapestry drapery covering the single glass door. Doors and windows appear new and insulated. The attached bathroom was spacious, warm and clean. Breakfast (8 euros each) in the charming little dining room was juice, coffee, croissant, rustic baguette, Sylvie's superb apricot jam, and a selection of fruits and cereals.

Our stay in Avignon at the Hotel Boquier was a highlight of our trip to France. Pascal and Sylvie have invested their lives into their hotel and we so appreciated their attention to us and their care about our experience in Provence.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Colbert
Hotel Le Colbert
#13 of 69 in Avignon
465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#25 of 69 in Avignon
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#14 of 69 in Avignon
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Splendid
Hotel Le Splendid
#34 of 69 in Avignon
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boquier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boquier

Property: Hotel Boquier
Address: 6 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boquier 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boquier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquier Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing