We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly sophisticated!”
Review of Les 5 Sens

Les 5 Sens
Reserve with
Les 5 Sens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 619 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly sophisticated!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The owner of "Les 5 Sens" was nominated as the best worker of France some years ago. And I can fully understand this. This is without doubt the cleanest and best maintained Restaurant that I have ever seen - what a great sense of pride - bravo!

The design is unexpectedly sophisticated with strong hints of Asia- all in all very well done.

The food was fundamentally french - not a very large menu with a mix of prix fix and a la carte. The kitchen obviously pays close attention to the presentations and the quality of the food was excellent.

I would specifically recommend the Cassoulet and the Duck.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pomerol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    149
    52
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Creative Food, But Maybe Too Creative”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

First, the decor of this place and the set-up are both strange. It's a little too wide open, so when we walked in, I felt like we were interrupting everyones' meals all at once. I wasn't a fan of the decor. Not very cohesive, in my opinion. The food was super creative. I'm a vegetarian, so I got their veg tasting menu. The entree was an artful presentation of vegetably things. I ate it in about 15 seconds because it wasn't much food. It was more beautiful than delicious. Dessert was a very interested trio of sorbets, all of which incorporated a fruit and a vegetable and I was supposed to guess. Most of my guesses were way off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalkerTalker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and presentation”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Loved the Place, the service was excellent and the food was magnificent. A must if you are visiting Avignon and feel like fine dining by chef Thierry Baucher.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reem_y72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional cuisine! Recommended by Michelin”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Quality of the dinner and style of presentation - very professional and clearly the cuisine expertly prepared by a superb chef

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wallaceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vegetarian menu - but so different”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is an elegant dining experience. The surroundings are smart. The greeting from Madame (her husband is the chef) and her staff was warm and friendly. We choose the vegetarian menu, which promised surprises and we were not let down. We started with a taster of three cheese-flavoured mouthfuls, all different. Then a delicious amuse-bouche of herb and spinach soup. The main course consisted of multiple dishes, each with its own distinct flavour and texture. Finally, we were callenged to identifity the contents of a trio of sorbets, all made with fruit and vegetables (!). I had a sumptious rich beer with my meal and my wife had a lovely glass of white wine. We ended with really well-made coffees. Not our cheapest meal in Avignon, but probably the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 871ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les 5 Sens also viewed

 

Been to Les 5 Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing