We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice environment”
Review of Hotel du Fiacre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Fiacre
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Carpentras
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice environment”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I feel like this is an "authentic" French hotel. It has a romantic feel to it with antique furnishings and a big open courtyard. The location is great for exploring the town as well as for getting out into the Provence countryside. We stayed for 2 nights. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge! Our stay was very enjoyable. Although they advertise they speak English, we had some difficulty with language upon our arrival. However, it was nothing a few gestures and patience couldn't fix.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAtravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Location is good for exploring the town of Carpentras at night, or wider area during day. Parking is 50 meter up the street in big car park free, except on Friday when the big market take over. But just move the car on a few 100 meters. Rooms were clean and one staff member speak a bit of English. Will stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meintjiesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

I had not been in France for many years, and Le Fiacre was the first hotel I stayed in during my April trip with my husband. What a wonderful welcome! My husband had stayed here while traveling on business a few years ago. The Cazeaux greeted us like long-lost relatives and did everything possible to make us comfortable. We had a pretty room with a little terrace on the second floor--very quiet. Knowing that we were eager to improve our French, Madame Cazeaux chatted with us in French often and helped us with words we didn't know. However, she speaks excellent English if you don't speak French. I must rave about the breakfast. I had intended to eat outside the hotel to save money, but after one breakfast I abandoned that plan! The best coffee I've had, marvelous very fresh bread and croissants, juice, yoghurt, and cereal if wanted--all in a beautiful dining room. Everything was the best quality. We had a wonderful 5 night stay, using it as a base for travel into nearby regions after my husband's business was completed. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — The owners' kindness and friendliness, comfort of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cadbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Stayed together with a friend for 4 nights in August, and again an excellent experience! I have visited the hotel 5-6 times, both with friends, family and when travelling alone. All the time I have felt welcome, nice rooms and environment, it is safe (important when travelling alone), clean and very charming. I will go back there in end November, no doubt where to stay!

Carpentras is itself a nice town, well worth spending some time there. A must is lunch and/or dinner at L'Universe. We totally fall in love with the place, the food and the nice people there.

Carpentras is a great place for exploring the area around, e.g. Mount Ventoux, Vaison La Romaine, Luberon (walking around in Menerbes and L'Isle sur la Sourge is a must) - but you can enjoy a lot some relaxing days in Carpentras. Big market in the town every Friday.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We drove from Arles to Carpentras and thanks to the GPS -- a must! -- in our rental car we had no difficulty finding it. From the street it appears somewhat ordinary, but once you open the great wooden doors you will feel that you've stepped back in time into a medieval castle. The lobby and especially the marble staircase are spectacular! We started out in a triple the first night, felt it was slightly too small for me, my husband, our daughter and the tons of luggage we had, and were very graciously moved to a quadruple for the remaining two days. We had two double beds, a carved marble fireplace, a clean modern bathroom and great water pressure, all with a lovely view and tons of room. The only downside is no A/C, but with a large fan and long tall windows our room was very pleasant, even though the weather was quite warm. There's no lift, but our luggage was carried for us. I can't say enough about the decor and furnishings. I never did get the names of the couple who own it, but the husband has done all the restoration himself and his wife runs the hotel. He's paid a great deal of attention to detail, handpainting and/or stenciling the walls. The interior garden is filled with marble-topped tables and chairs, and large urns with gorgeous flowers. Both ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful in recommending excellent restaurants, and all were well within walking distance. Carpentras is very quiet in the evening, and the restaurants we visited generally closed on the early side, around 9:30, but along with many other guests, we sat in the garden sipping our wine until very late at night. While you're there, explore the many tiny winding streets in the area. You'll find small shops with clothing and jewelry, and an outrageous patisserie...plus more cats than I've seen anywhere else in France! Be sure to visit L'Universe for dinner. Their Salade Nicoise is the best! Carpentras turned out to be an excellent location from which to make several day trips by car to Vaucluse and the Luberon and, especially, Mont Ventoux.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Tewksbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
232 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Stayed here with relatives for 2 nights. I was really surprised by the standard of this hotel. Very nice rooms, very good service, excellent breakfast, very friendly, very warm.
It gave more than we expected to find in this small city and that leaves a good feeling. Strongly recommended !

  • Liked — all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 December 2005

The Hotel du Fiacre was a bit of a challenge to find since it's on a narrow sidestreet but once arrived we found the couple who manages it to be very helpful, the wife especially so; she gave us good tips on restaurants and on area attractions. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice enclosed patio off the lobby though weather precluded our taking advantage. Street parking was limited; we took advantage of their secure parking nearby and recommend it based on fact that they locked the hotel up tight overnight. We experienced no safety problems, however. Within easy walking distance of many neat shops and "atmospheric" streets.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpentras
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#1 of 9 in Carpentras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Comtadin
Best Western Le Comtadin
#2 of 9 in Carpentras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum
Hotel Forum
#4 of 9 in Carpentras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chateau du Martinet
Chateau du Martinet
#8 of 9 in Carpentras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.1 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#3 of 9 in Carpentras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.8 mi away
L'Hermitage
L'Hermitage
#1 of 3 in Pernes-les-Fontaines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Fiacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Fiacre

Property: Hotel du Fiacre
Address: 153 rue Vigne, 84200 Carpentras, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Carpentras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Carpentras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Fiacre 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, come and have a rest in the relaxing setting of this splendid 18th century residence. Located in the "old town" of Carpentras, the hotel du Fiacre offers you 18 rooms with all modern conveniences. You will be sedusted by its priviliged location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Fiacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Fiacre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing