We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect lodging in Provence”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Mas du Coq

Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Private Pool Farmhouse Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Private Pool
Farmhouse Terrace
Terrace
End of Terrace
Private Pool
Garden
View through Pagoda
Provencal Kitchen
Provencal Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Study
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Main Bedroom with SuperKing Bed
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Twin Single Bedded Room
Les Taillades
Gordes
Roussillon
Fontaine de Vaucluse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cavaillon, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luckylady...
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect lodging in Provence”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I highly recommend Le Mas du Coq for your vacation rental in Provence. The house itself and the property far exceeded our expectations and the photos did not do it justice. Everything was perfect for our group of 3 ladies. The house was immaculate, bed and bedding so comfortable, and a kitchen so fully equipped you didn't even know you were in a rental. It was more like being in your own home. Every detail was there, including dry ice in the freezer for a picnic cooler, plus picnic baskets for both picnics and market buying. We all thoroughly enjoyed the private pool and we were also able to grill several nights and charcoal was provided by the owner. The owners, Alison and Julian, were so helpful in every way, and made our stay just that much better. Plus, we were able to choose from a large selection of English DVD movies, plus many great CD's for our listening pleasure. This would be a great house for a family or a group of friends to enjoy the Vaucluse area of Provence...short distances to hill towns and great sights of the area. You hardly needed the air conditioning, but it worked fabulously. Anyone would love Le Mas du Coq.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Villa Tamaris - Beautiful, private, well located rental perfect for longer term stays”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I spent three months (September/October/November) at Villa Tamaris, a two-bedroom rental on the same property as the Mas du Coq, and found it to be an amazing country retreat. It is perfect for those on vacation or those seeking a peaceful, quiet place to write or paint, as I was. The property is well located: close to the amenities of Cavaillon ( a year-round town) as well as providing easy access to the hill top towns of the Luberon and the A7 motorway. The area around the villa is quiet and it is a short walk to the hiking trails of the Luberon.

The villa itself is well maintained and outfitted with everything one needs to make fantastic meals from the offerings of the local markets. The owners are easily available to answer questions and are very discreet/respectful of their guests privacy. The outdoor living space is amazing! In addition to a pool (for use until early October), it has an outdoor kitchen, eating and lounge area which can be used all Fall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location, the outdoor space.
Liked least: The second bedroom, the smaller of the two, is better suited to children/teens than adults.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2013
This review refers to Villa Tamaris and not Le Mas du Coq Farmhouse, the latter being the rental property advertised here on Trip Advisor and Holiday Lettings. Villa Tamaris is a two-bedroom villa available for long term let on the same estate as the Farmhouse but the two properties are entirely separate from each other, providing total privacy for the advertised property. Comments in this review about furnishings etc. relate to long term winter letting and do not relate to the facilities provided in the Farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome, pool, and well equipped farmhouse.
Liked least: Wasps were a nuisance - but understandable in August!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
knikkinyc
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ultimate authentic French farmhouse retreat”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

If you're looking for privacy, lovely outdoor space for dining out, a well-maintained pool, and an authentic, beautifully furnished french farmhouse, then Le Mas Du Coq is for you. Alison and Julian are warm, helpful owners, who live in the house themselves in the winter, so the house and kitchen are extremely well-equipped. They provided a welcome kit including french bread, wine, butter and jam - perfect after a long day of travel when you can't be bothered to work out where the supermarket is! The location is a 5-10 minute drive from Cavaillon the local town, and within 25 minutes of Menerbes and many other classic Provencal hill-top towns, so a great launch point for exploring Provence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning outside dining table surrounded by vines etc.
Liked least: Nothing much within walking distance - car needed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaizieAtl...
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home - central to Provence.”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We have recently returned from an incredible stay at Mas du Coq. Alison & Julian are the best hosts ever - a wonderfully friendly English couple who have made the South of France their home. I must admit that having a rather limited understnding of the french language, it was wonderful to be able to communicate with the owners easily. The Addisons thought of everything to make our stay perfect - from stocking the refrigerator with staples before we arrived (including still warm bagettes from the boulangerie and two bottles of local wine) to arranging taxi pickup when we left. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they welcome feedback as they refine the process of letting their charming Mas. They live in anther home on the property which makes them available anytime for questions or assistance but they never infringe on their guests' privacy. Cavaillon, although not one of the most charming provincal towns, is perfectly located for day trips through all of Provence, the Luberon and Vaucluse areas and has good grocery stores and services within five minutes of the house. The house has great air-conditioning (unusual and necessary in the summer) and comfortable lounging areas as well as a very large and perfectly outfitted kitchen. We could have cooked and served a Thanksgiving dinner for twenty there! One of the features that we most enjoyed was the wonderfully private courtyard and lovely pool area. All downstairs rooms open out onto it and there is a large table and eight chairs under the arbor off the kitchen/keeping room. Alison has done a beautiful job with flowers and shrubs and Julian manicures the yard and looks after the pool like a benevolent ghost - you never see him but when you come home, everything is always in perfect order. The parking is secure behind iron gates and, although there are no long vistas or views, the private garden area is so relaxing with comfortable lounges by the pool and wifi service that extends outside. As a matter of fact, we rarely sat any place other then the kitchen and outdoors. The courtyard also includes a grill and pizza oven. We chose to have a substantial lunch while touring and after a long day out and about, we ate in every evening with items we purchased at the various markets we visited. Each evening was perfect as we relaxed around the large oak kitchen table with a simple dinner and made plans for the next day. We didn't have to worry about having wine with dinner and then driving home. It was a great way to enjoy Provence from our home away from home.
One thing that sets this home apart from many others we have experienced is that the owners outfit it completely. They provide soap, garbage bags, paper towels, bath tissue - all those things that you usually have to rush to the store to purchase before you can actually begin living in the house. We mentioned it to them and they responded that they felt it was a small expense to make sure that visitors enjoyed a relaxing stay. Their main objective in this lovely rental home is to make sure that everyone is comfortable and happy while they are there.
My husband and our friends with whom we traveled all agree that this was a wonderful hideaway and would definitely stay there again. The home seems most perfect for a small family having one large "master" ensuite bedroom, and two smaller bedrooms with a double and twin beds respectively. These two rooms share a divided bath which is very convenient. The furnishings are lovely and homey with some antiques but nothing that is anything but comfortable - the perfect cross between ancient ambience and updated amenities. With the charm of the house and its lovely owners, I can recommend Mas du Coq with no reservations whatsoever! Hope to visit again in the future. Thank you for everything, Alison and Julian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and outdoor courtyard
Liked least: size of bed in second bedroom for a couple
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing