We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place - Not to be Missed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Mere Germaine
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place - Not to be Missed!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We dropped into the Mere Germaine for dinner after arriving that day from Canada, jet lagged and weary. Greeted by Andre Mazy, the proprietor, he quickly made us feel comfortable and at home. Seated, with a glass of cool white wine, he described the region of Chateauneuf du Pape and the history of his hotel. The dinner that followed was superb and paired with beautiful wines. Staying 5 nights in the region, we returned for another excellent dinner and were equally impressed with the congeniality and graciousness of Andre. He recommended historic sites to visit and special vinyards for tastings. The restaurant and hotel are charming and my next visit to France will include a stay at this wonderful and ideal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived on our way back from Menton near Nice on our weeks cycling holiday. We planned to do a flat ride around the area as we had been riding up mountains all week. The manager saw we were in cycling gear said we just had to do the Mont Ventoux as the conditions would be perfect the next day to ride up the mountain, and it was an opportunity that any cyclist should not miss.He was right and we had a great day that would not have happened if he had not been so aware of the needs of his guests.
He supplied us with details of how to get there and the profile of the climb. Very helpful indeed. The room was large and bathroom a nice size. Don't be put off my a slightly shabby stair carpet as the rest of the hotel is clean and very old French. We did not sample the food as we were late arriving and very early leaving, but from what we saw it looked very good indeed. We were only in the hotel for a very short time but saw enough to want to base a holiday there next year. It was pure luck we chose this as it was the first one on the Garmin sat nav suggestion list.
.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We arrived at the hotel around 2:30pm, having traveled from the Burgundy region. Not wanting to stop and eat on the highway, we were hoping to find a little soup or pizza. Nothing was open so Andre brought us a beautiful cheese plate, water, and wine. That definitely gave us a new attitude! He was so helpful with everything. He made our stay fantastic, asking us about our day and making suggestions when we asked. The food was gourmet and his attention to detail made our dinners over the top.
David and Sharon, Aptos, California

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidAllshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Great Hotel in the middle of town , had everything we needed, parking , wifi. We were in room 2 with a beautiful view over their dining patio out onto the country side. The room had a rustic country feel with wood beams on the ceiling and a large renovated bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandKeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have to go back to a stay in an $1800us a night suite at the Intercontinental in Cairo to match the service I received. However, the welcoming, the feeling that every staff is there for one reason, to make your stay as wonderful as they can make it, André it seems will do anything he humanly can to ensure that your stay is perfect. We stayed there the last two nights during the Chateauneuf-du-Pape wine festival and Medieval Fair and this is without a doubt their busiest time of the year, yet Andre always found the time to ensure that every guest whether in the hotel or in the dining room received his personal service and welcome in whatever language they spoke.

We had a smaller room on the Vineyard side of the building with a wonderful view. Could I find complaints about it? Sure however, I was staying in a small town with two simple hotels right in the town. During the festival (as always) I don't drink and drive, with unlimited tasting of Chateauneuf-du-Pape wines all over the village I had to be in the village and I will measure this visit by the treatment I received not by petty issues that really don't have any impact on the pleasure of my stay.

We went to sleep to the sounds of a wonderful live Jazz quintet below us, however not so loud as to keep us awake, the party was in full swing, however, again they weren't so loud as to keep us awake. So in short, I would stay here, I would recommend it to anyone else, however please remember it is not a $1000 a night room so don't expect it to be like one, only the treatment from the staff will make you fell like one.

Room Tip: I would ask for the back side if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in July and had a fantastic time. Our room overlooked the vineyards and was simple but clean with a brand new smart bathroom. Free wifi was useful and although there was no aircon a powerful fan surficed.

Andre and his team were very friendly from the moment we got there. We were greeted with a cople of cold glasses of white chateauneuf du pape whilst they made our room up and Andre gave us advice of which of the hundreds of vineyards we should go to.

We had lunch before we left and it was absolutely superb. I had a salad to start and a delicious fish accompanied with more of the wonderful local wines.

Whether popping by for a meal or staying the night I would wholeheartedly recommend this gem right in the centre of Chateauneuf du Pape all at a very reasonable cost.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stopped in for a quick lunch and we were pleasantly surprised by the food and the entertaining service given by Andre and Guillaume. The dynamic duo (brothers apparently) found us a nice spot in the restaurant despite arriving late and without a booking. Andre looked after our wine choices while Guillaume with his training wheels on, provided us with great service on the food front. Unfortunately we could not stay at the hotel as we were on a tight timetable but next time we will definitely book in especially if these two continue to run the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Sommellerie
Hotel La Sommellerie
#2 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Ro...
#1 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Garbure
La Garbure
#4 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Clement V
Hotel le Clement V
#1 of 1 in Roquemaure
58 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
7.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mere Germaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mere Germaine

Property: Hotel La Mere Germaine
Address: 3 rue Commandant Lemaitre, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the village ,lovely hotel with 8 rooms ,newly renovated ,air conditioning with bathroom .Wifi 4 G free in every room of the building. Private parking ,closed after 23.30 until 8 am. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing