We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very affordable!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Mere Germaine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Mere Germaine
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very affordable!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We only had a one night stay at this very affordable hotel, but it was enough. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating, but the hotel is very tired and needs more than friendly service to lure me back. If looking for a clean room in a great town, this is the place to stay, but do not expect much more!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the road, overlooking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heloiise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nîmes
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The "Provence Excursion" package is an excellent value. For 150€ for 2 persons, you will have a room with tv, dinner from the menu (normally over 40€ per person), breakfast and parking. Others have mentioned the variable times when the hotel is open. If you do arrive when the hotel is not yet open, not to worry, there's much to do while you wait. We had lunch, visited the wine museum and did a simple hike around the vineyards. You can go to the "Office du tourisme", just steps away from the Hôtel Germaine, and ask them for the free itinerary to do the vineyard walk. (The information is not in English but is very well indicated, both in the brochure and on the paths.) I do not recommend doing this walk in full sun. If you can, the best time to visit is in September.

You will be disappointed if you come to the hotel without eating dinner in the restaurant. It's really a "total experience" to both stay in the hotel and eat in the restaurant. Others have mentioned that the rooms are in need of reparations, and this is true. But you will be better off if you allow for these imperfections and simply appreciate the outmoded charm of the hotel. Keep in mind that André, the owner, (who absolutely lives up to his kind reputation), acquired this former coaching inn only a couple of years ago.

He has restored the dining room to its 1930's opulence. I have lived in France for 15 years and I must say, it was the best overall dining experience I've ever had. The food, as everyone else has already said, is fabulous. Do not hesitate to ask André for advice on what wine to choose. He is not pushy in any way, will not steer you to taking the most expensive bottle. It is the overall ambiance that is amazing. How wonderful to have a gourmet meal without the stiff atmosphere! A wonderful violinist plays to accompanied music, jazz, samba and irish pieces. The restaurant experience brought to mind the charm of "Amélie Poulain" or Woody Allen's "Midnight in Paris." At a certain point, I looked around the room and noticed that the families, couples and locals eating here were all under the charm of the place as much as I was. For my husband and me, I could not have chosen a more romantic venue.

After eating this wonderful meal (and drinking a bit too much Chateauneuf du Pape!), it was definitely a plus to be able to leave the dining room and simply walk up a flight of stairs to our hotel room. Breakfast, with free newspapers (in French) was equally charming.

Be sure to ask André for advice on other villages to visit nearby. Vaison la Romaine and l'Isle-sur-la-sorgue are well worth a visit, though beware that with the latter you will have major traffic jams on Saturdays as it's the giant open-air antique market. Finally, short hikes around this extremely lovely countryside are not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonesNîmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We arrived at 1:30 pm knowing that the hotel will be closed from 4-6pm. Unfortunately, we were locked out as Andre was out and unfortunately cannot locate his car keys. Nevertheless, we still had a great time as the room was clean and spacious, dinner was excellent with good wine. i would recommend the 'package deal' which includes breakfast, dinner and room which offer great value. The dinner at Hotel La Mere Germaine was the best in our trip. Knowing that we are going Avignon, Andre also recommended the weekend market which serves the best seafood. Excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Arriving at 4.30pm and not realising the hotel was closed between 4pm-6pm was not a good start after a long day of driving. However, after contacting Andre he arrived to open up for us at 5pm and welcomed us warmly. Whilst the room was somewhat 'tired' the bed was comfortable, the bathroom large and clean, and there was a lovely view of the surrounding countryside. Dinner at the restaurant downstairs was excellent and great value as part of a 'package' offered on arrival. Andre was a very welcoming, chatty host with a good sense of humor, able to converse in English,French and Italian. A good wine list to boot!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We are a wine club with 10 members based in Norway, and every second year we travel to a wine district to meet some producers and to taste some excellent wines. This year we went down to Chateauneuf du Pape, as we knew that there we could get some of the top wines in the world. We chosed to stay at the Hotel La Mere Germaine. We did not know much about either the hotel or the village before we arrived, but we had seen some recommendations for this hotel a few places on the web. As soon as we entered the door and meet the owner/manager (André ), we knew right away this was the very best choice we could have made.
André is a wonderful guy, with lots of knowledge, both about wine and the district. He knows many of the top producers and he arranged for us a couple of visits/tastings to some of the very best winemakers. He also has a very service minded attitude towards his guests, and a wonderful sense of humor:-)
Besides the fact that the village has a Michelin-recommended restaurant, which we did visit one evening, the hotels own restaurant is way better. André and his staff gave us a service we have only seen in high profiled and extremely more expensive places. And the food was very french and fabulous!  He even asked us what we wanted for dinner the second evening. And since he asked, we wondered if they could do something with lamb. And the chef made a wonderful lamb dinner. And because André knows so much about wine, he recommended brilliant wines for every dish, every time. His wine prices was also supprisingly low.

We would for sure recommend this hotel for everyone. But do reserve in good time! He´s only got seven rooms. 
We are definitely coming back one day!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank 10ErlingR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Andre knew we were waiting outside in the cold and invited us in before opening, gave us a tour and offered us drinks. Great food experience and even escorted us to our car after dinner. Will be our first stop when we return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavelossim, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Owner Andre Mazy is a true pro - he speaks several European languages and is a classic host in the old fashioned sense - he has the ability to make his guests feel special. Its a rare talent these days, but this man has it in abundance. From Breakfast to Dinner he will charm your socks off and at the same time have you believe he really does care about you. It works!

The restaurant is beautifully laid out, oozing French taste at its best. You want to go in there before you have had a chance to read the menu! We stayed for a whole week whereas most people use it as a stopping off point en route to somewhere else, which may explain my only disappointment - the lack of choice and change in the menu.The food is great but repetitive over 2 days. We still ate there most evenings and the ever resourceful Andre offered an alternative plat de jour - but no excuses they could do better in that respect.

The room (No.1) was clean, slightly shabby, but oh so delightfully French, over looking the village square with all its petite cafes and restaurants. I award this hotel "excellent" because whatever its shortfalls Andre Mazy - Le Patron makes up every inch of the deficit with his people skills which are frankly second to none!

If there are any budding pub landlords or hoteliers out there - go and visit this man and learn how it is done.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dippersincyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Ro...
#1 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Sommellerie
Hotel La Sommellerie
#2 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Garbure
La Garbure
#4 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
6.9 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Clement V
Hotel le Clement V
#1 of 1 in Roquemaure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mere Germaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mere Germaine

Property: Hotel La Mere Germaine
Address: 3 rue Commandant Lemaitre, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the village ,lovely hotel with 8 rooms ,newly renovated ,air conditioning with bathroom .Wifi 4 G free in every room of the building. Private parking ,closed after 23.30 until 8 am. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing