We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Regional Food”
Review of Le Pistou

Le Pistou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$37
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Regional Food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

During our week in Chateauneuf-du-Pape this was the only restaurant that we ate at twice. Not because the food was the best around but because the food was really good and the atmosphere was warm and homey. The staff are very friendly and they offer enough variety that there is something yummy for everyone. It was so relaxing to stop in after a day of touring and relax over home cooked regional food. Stop by, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKGTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    121
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
160 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Nice Lunch had by All”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Le Pistou was open on the holiday, let us pour one of the bottles we brought with us from one of the local caves, and delivered on beef tartare, beef carparcio, and a gambas menu. It's just the sort of place you want after a hard morning of tasting and driving. The three course lunch menu looks like a great deal.

All six of us were happy, even if Michelin will probably not list them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank svnr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faaborg, Danmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WHAT A MESS”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Visited the restaurant late April 2014. I do not remember anywhere to have eaten a plate where nothing was good. Chicken breast (I guess it has 2-3 hours in the oven) so dry, that it gave a healthy thirst:-). 3 half potatoes in extremely poor quality. A small pot with a bit of cheese, aubergine and tomato soaking i oil/fat. The pot was placed on the plate on a piece of paper (!) that was almost dissolved by the grease on the plate (guess it was the sauce?) - I first found the paper when I chewed it. Then there was a baked apple on the plate - hope apples were on sale those days. I did not fit anyway. And finally on bottom of the plate, 2 twigs of bamboo or just wood - no lemongrass or anything eatable. Maybe for the "good look" ? But it all missed completely. We sat outside in a cosy street and weather was good. Therefore one star. Will not go again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte L, Propriétaire at Le Pistou, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your observation. We are verry sorry if you didn't like the meal you have in our restaurant. your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner with Friends”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed everything about this restaurant, the gourmet food, the pleasant and attentive service, excellent wine, and easily accessible location. Each couple shared a large salad and main dish, duck and the lamb were both very good, but the dessert was exceptional and memorable....chocolate "brownie" with ice cream and sauce, ........memorable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, excellent food, great value”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I had an early dinner here on a rainy Tuesday night. We very early when we asked about dinner - 6:15 when they were supposed to open at 7:00. Despite this we were welcomed in given a seat and service began shortly after. The service was friendly, attentive and the food excellent - the smoked salmon stiffed with ricotta and served with asparagus was outstanding in presentation and taste as the were the lamb shanks that followed. . A glass of Chateauneuf de Pape completed things perfectly. I found the quality high, the ambiance relaxed and enjoyable, and the price more than reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wreckMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pistou also viewed

Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 

Been to Le Pistou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing