We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Garbure”
Review of La Garbure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Garbure
London SW6
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel La Garbure”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Friendly and welcoming hotel and moderately priced, but in need of some repairs and renovations. There was a bath, but no shower curtain and the lever changing the water from taps to shower was neither fully on nor fully off. Sitting in the bath therefore without getting your knees scalded (taps in the middle of the bath) was difficult. I tried to use the safe, but (a) couldn't get it to funstion and (b) discovered it wasn't attached to the wall! The room was badly furnished, no bedside tables and the lighting was dreadful. My loo-seat was loose and almost falling off. Others in the party had a loo that refused to flush.

This is a pity as it is a well positioned hotel, right in the middle of town. It is a bit noisy outside - the dustman seems to come quite early - but nothing that you don't get in all budget town centre hotels. We eat there in the evening twice and the food is OK and the chef (owner?) cooked fish for us which wasn't on the menu. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

Also - not the hotel's fault - there appear to be no taxis in Chateauneuf-du-Pape!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    38
    13
    12
    7
See reviews for
13
46
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
188 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Before your read this review and take the rating for granted, please see the hotels I normally stay at...

To me this is the place to stay in Chateauneuf (have stayed here four times). There is nothing fancy about it and you shall not ecpect romance and charme. What you get is a decent hotel with a great location and indoor parking (good if you have filled up you car with wines).

Chateauneuf is a really small city and if you stay here all restaurants are within walking distance.

So far, I have been in Chateauneuf six times and stayed here four out of those. I will also stay here next time.

I have also stayed at the 'La Mere Germaine' and 'Fines Roches'.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Old village hotel which should have oozed with charm. My 72 year old husband and I were placed on the top floor - no lift with heavy bags to carry.
The reception was hardly ever manned. We were told we could only have demi-pension. The first night and second night were identical main courses and deserts with no choice whatsoever - the main course was three small rounds of meat with a few frozen/cooked mixed veg sprinkled sparcely on top. First morning breakfast had cremated small croissants, second morning there were no ordinary tea bags only mint, jasmine or green tea.
Other customers were also dissatisfied. For the third night we complained about the food and instisted on not having demi-pension (which was,incidentally, 80 euros pppn) and we had a terrific meal across the road from the hotel. Will never visit again nor recommend this hotel. We travel a lot and are not the complaining sort but we love French food and were so dissappointed. Logis de France award it three marmite pots for excellent food - they really must rethink their awards.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sstevefountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chateauneuf-du-Pape hotels

Province of Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed one night, 2 couples in 2 different rooms - our room was on the 1st floor facing the back and we were not disturbed. Our travelling companions had a room facing the main street and were awoken by the chatty fellows collecting the garbage in the wee hours of the morning.
The rooms were clean, and nicely decorated. We didn't eat inside, but we did have dinner on the patio across the street, as well as breakfast. The food was very good with both meals,though the breakfast buffet was a bit tricky to manage when there were more than 2 people at it!
We had a comfortable stay, and being in town was convenient for us. I'm not sure I'd want to stay for an extended period.

Parking was a bit convoluted to get to, and you can't bring the car up to the hotel to drop off the bags - you have to find a spot, pay, go up and leave the bags, then move to the hotel parking (which is not free either).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, NV
Level Contributor
239 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We only stayed here one night but it was perfect for wine tasting. The hotel served a very nice breakfast and dinner. The rooms were not plush but pleasant, comfortable and quiet. The town is small and this little hotel was centrally located on a cute narrow street. Definitely worth the value.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at La Garbure for 3 nights. We wanted to stay in a small village with great history, quaint restaurants and not many tourists and we couldn't have chosen better.
The hotel is in close driving distance to all the main areas of interest around Provence. The hotel charges for parking but if you don't want to pay there is a huge carpark down the road from the hotel.
The rooms are really big and spacious with everything you need. The restaurant is of a great quality and good value - we had a delicious meal here one evening. The owners of the hotel are very friendly and we chatted away to them one evening while they served us coffee and liquors until late.
Be careful buying wine from the Caves around the hotel. We made a mistake and ended up with a hugely expensive bottle because we were pushed into it by a very dodgy salesman.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We stayed one night in this charming wine village--I don't think you could do much better on a hotel there. Garbure is right smack in the middle of town (the only real challenge is parking, but if you can't find a street spot, for another 8 euro you can use the hotel's parking), convenient to absolutely everything.

The room was massive compared to some others we stayed in on our drive from Paris to Nice (big enough for a table and 2 chairs, AND a sofa in addition to the bed!) and nicely decorated. It's not the newest or nicest accomodation in the world, but definitely above average and absolutely fine for our stay, especially considering the price.

We had not booked dinner but they accomodated us anyway, I would rate the food above average (but great value for the money). We also enjoyed the breakfast, warm buns, coffee and OJ.

The staff was really very nice as well.

  • Liked — friendly staff, large room
  • Disliked — I can't complain
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Sommellerie
Hotel La Sommellerie
#2 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Ro...
#1 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Clement V
Hotel le Clement V
#1 of 1 in Roquemaure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
6.9 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Orange Sud
Ibis Orange Sud
#6 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garbure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garbure

Property: La Garbure
Address: 3 rue Joseph Ducos, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the famous village of Chateauneuf du Pape, At the service of gourmets since 1980, the chef of this restaurant and his staff propose a seasonal cuisine of fresh local products. 8 Rooms totaly equiped and renovated in 2009 welcomes you in the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Garbure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing