We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for wine tasting, with large rooms and friendly staff”
Review of La Garbure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Garbure
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location for wine tasting, with large rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at La Garbure for 3 nights. We wanted to stay in a small village with great history, quaint restaurants and not many tourists and we couldn't have chosen better.
The hotel is in close driving distance to all the main areas of interest around Provence. The hotel charges for parking but if you don't want to pay there is a huge carpark down the road from the hotel.
The rooms are really big and spacious with everything you need. The restaurant is of a great quality and good value - we had a delicious meal here one evening. The owners of the hotel are very friendly and we chatted away to them one evening while they served us coffee and liquors until late.
Be careful buying wine from the Caves around the hotel. We made a mistake and ended up with a hugely expensive bottle because we were pushed into it by a very dodgy salesman.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    39
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
46
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We stayed one night in this charming wine village--I don't think you could do much better on a hotel there. Garbure is right smack in the middle of town (the only real challenge is parking, but if you can't find a street spot, for another 8 euro you can use the hotel's parking), convenient to absolutely everything.

The room was massive compared to some others we stayed in on our drive from Paris to Nice (big enough for a table and 2 chairs, AND a sofa in addition to the bed!) and nicely decorated. It's not the newest or nicest accomodation in the world, but definitely above average and absolutely fine for our stay, especially considering the price.

We had not booked dinner but they accomodated us anyway, I would rate the food above average (but great value for the money). We also enjoyed the breakfast, warm buns, coffee and OJ.

The staff was really very nice as well.

  • Liked — friendly staff, large room
  • Disliked — I can't complain
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

I cannot recommend La Garbure for a couple of reasons: First, the rooms smelled very musty. Even opening the windows didn't help to air out the room. If you have allergies or asthma I strongly recommend that you avoid this hotel. Second, what first appears as a quaint, rustic atmosphere quickly becomes obvious that there is a general lack of upkeep to the hotel. This is unfortunate, because it sits in a prime location in the adorable wine town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bibliotecaria313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chateauneuf-du-Pape hotels

SF Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

The room was spacious and comfortable. There was a funny smell in the room that we noticed lingered in our clothes for days after. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful. The bathroom was pretty decent, but the tub could use some up keep. It was centally located in the small village. I'd skip eating at the hotel as the one meal we had there was less that stellar (frozen vegetables!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Funny room smell
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

Our family (young couple with a one-year-old) stayed at the Hotel Garbure for two nights, March 1-2, 2007. We loved Chateauneuf-du-Pape and would happily recommend both the accomodations and restaurant of the Hotel Garbure.

We arrived in town too early for the (somewhat late) check-in time of 6:00 pm. The hotel is a short walk from the remains of the Chateau and so we climbed up to admire the great view. The desk attendant when we returned spoke less English than the host, who I had booked our stay with over the phone, but was friendly and brought a baby cot to our room immediately. There is no elevator. Our room on the third floor was small and rather dominated by a large but attractive wardrobe. The room was extremely clean and cheerfully decorated in Provencal colours, with the bedspread matching the lovely painted ceiling medallion. There was no bath (shower only), no mini-bar and not much of a view, but the room was comfortable, with a firm bed and quiet, effective air-conditioning. Renovation work was being done on our floor, and it could be loud, but the workers were very sincere in their efforts to avoid disturbing us. The hostess greeted us when we returned downstairs, gave us the door code and summonded a teenaged sous-chef from the kitchen to direct us to a nearby garage to park our car (he politely refused a tip).

La Garbure serves excellent and reasonably priced food in its small, pretty dining room. We recommend breakfast: warm-from-the-oven pastries with butter and jams, excellent coffee and fresh-squeezed juice, cheerfully served when you are ready by the very sweet maid for 9 euro. The chef's special of the night was outstanding and the waitress tried hard to be polite when our teething baby made an unexpected (and cranky and messy) appearance during the main course. Luckily, it was a very slow night and we were the only ones dining. They did not have our wine selection, but they substituted a fair alternative for the same price. My husband considered this the best meal of our trip.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable experience at the Hotel Garbure and would recommend it for its excellent food, warm atmosphere and reasonable rates.

  • Liked — Great food, enthusiastic service
  • Disliked — Lack of elevator, bath
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2006

I booked our stay at La Garbure at short notice, having decided that it would be nice to make a brief visit to some of the many wine producers in Chateauneuf. Madame was very helpful and the booking was quickly agreed. The only thing that caught me on the hop was being asked to decide in advance whether we wished to dine at the hotel, not that it was a difficult decision to make, having previously been told by a colleague that the food was good.

When we arrived at the hotel, in a quiet side street just a few paces away from the fountain that stands in the centre of the village, Madame greeted us warmly before giving us details of our room, meal times, door security code, etc.

Our room, on the second floor, was delightfully decorated with a floral theme. We found out later that each of the rooms had the name of a different flower or shrub and was decorated accordingly.

At the end of a long drive, it was so refreshing to walk into a sparkingly clean room, inobtrusively cooled by the air conditioning. The bathroom, off the bedroom, was faultless. We were pleased to find a generous supply of towels for our use.

The beds were excellent, having possibly the most comfortable mattresses I've yet encountered in France. The pillows were supportive yet soft, so much better than the uncomfortable bolster in our previous stop.

Dinner was a delight. The small dining room, cleverly lit with a combination of mirrors, lamps and overhead lights was attractive and comfortable. We felt immediately at ease.

Only four tables were taken that evening - an American couple, a German couple, a young French man and ourselves - and everyone had been seated in a way that maximised privacy.

The set dinner was an unknown quantity to use as no menu was presented. However, we were not disappointed. Each course excited the senses, the attractive presentation being matched by the choice and quality of the ingredients and, of course, the standard of cuisine. We lingered over our dinner, savouring the tastes that were presented to us, before finally climbing the stairs to our bedroom for a good long sleep. And what stairs they were! Beautiful wrought ironwork supporting the rails, gently rising and against a backdrop of a colourful mural or "trompe l'oeil" of the local countryside.

So far, I haven't mentioned wine, the reason for our visit to the village of Chateauneuf-du-Pape. The list at La Garbure was attractively presented and allowed for all price bands. As one would expect, the emphasis was on the wine that has made the village famous but there was also a reasonable choice of wines for most tastes and preferences.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes. Would I eat there again? Yes. Just give me a chance to visit Chateauneuf again!

  • Liked — The comfort!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank French_Sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Sommellerie
Hotel La Sommellerie
#2 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Ro...
#1 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
355 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Clement V
Hotel le Clement V
#1 of 1 in Roquemaure
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
#1 of 18 in Orange
409 reviews
5.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Nord
Novotel Avignon Nord
#1 of 3 in Sorgues
683 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garbure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garbure

Property: La Garbure
Address: 3 rue Joseph Ducos, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the famous village of Chateauneuf du Pape, At the service of gourmets since 1980, the chef of this restaurant and his staff propose a seasonal cuisine of fresh local products. 8 Rooms totaly equiped and renovated in 2009 welcomes you in the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Garbure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing