We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vine castle adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A very exciting building with a wonderful terrace with view of the vineyard and surrounding landscape. Very polite staff with good English spoken. We enjoyed a nice dinner accomplished with vine and loved that we did not have to drive. Rooms were nice, clean and beds were comfortable. I can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bsdilemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just returned from three nights here and would highly recommend a stay at the castle. The location is perfect.....between Orange and Avignon - with so much to do in the area! The setting is spectacular and the drive up the tree-lined road to the castle feels like it is out of a movie set. The hotel staff were very welcoming and very accomodating as well (we had to leave very early and they ensured all was taken care of for an early am departure the night before). We had a deluxe room at the top of the donjon - it was beautiful and spacious and most importantly had access through a small door in the room, up a winding staircase to the top of the donjon for a 360 degree view. We spent lots of time enjoying the view, drinking wine, and enjoying cheese and macaroons! This is the only room with this access and there is a smal table and two chairs to just sit and enjoy!! Truly a unique setting and it made our stay!! We also had dinner at the restaurant (outside as the weather was perfect) two nights and had excellent food. A great menu and great chef.....wait staff was a bit unfriendly but perhaps that was my rusty French!! We would absolutely recommend this hotel for a special stay in Provence - a bit pricey but completely worth it!!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and lovely but we would recommend the deluxe room at the top of the donjon with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scuba_Princess66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Awesome place. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and the location is magical. We were there with a baby and it was very convenient to eat at the great restaurant without leaving home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Trave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Driving up from the road and seeing the castle, the property, the vines and the legendary "caillous" is memorable. Dinner was lovely and well prepared; the room (if you step up to the suite with a private patio) is very pleasant and very relaxing. Breakfast in the front patio is also lovely. The hotel is fine and located minutes from the town, which is quite convenient to go buy their awesome wines. The negatives are probably that it is a bit rustic and internet is provided by a paying third party, which is the last thing you need after a long day on the road and wanting to connect with family and work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedralbes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

What makes this hotel special is the actual building and the location. It is a real old (although not medieval) castle surrounded by vineyards with all the good and bad sides of it, as all the facilities not conceived to be a real hotel. It is certainly a romantic and very original experience and an excellent choice if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing place. We found that the bathroom and shower in our room were a little too small and there was no elevator to access the second floor. We suggest to get in contact with the local staff before booking if you have special access requirements. The front desk manager is very friendly and will be happy to give you directions on the local wine production. The reception may be closed at late hours and during the night, but you will get all the necessary keys to open and close the castle. ;-) The hotel is frequently used by large group for seminars and the outer space can easily run out of parking spots, but 3-4 parking places are reserved for guests in the inner yard. We tried the dinner menu for 38 euro/person which we found excellent both for the quality of the food and service. There are cheaper and rather good restaurants in Chateauneuf, but we found none at equal level. Note that drinks are rather pricey though, with local AOC wine offered at 10 euro/glass. That will easily increase the bill. We did not try the outdoor swimming pool as it was still close due to the (rather long) 2013 winter season.

We would also recommend the in house wine cellar and shop. It has no connection with the hotel but the local production offers very good bottles at competitive prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the second floor have a nice view on the vineyards but have no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123v_i_n_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Chateauneuf du Pape wine region. Fantastic service and the rooms are well appointed and quaint. You can ask for one with a bath tub because not all come with one. The restaurant cuisine was fantastic serving a fine breakfast and a delicous and beautifully presented dinner. It appears as a large castle but once you are inside it is very homey, comfortable and cozy. By far the nicest place to stay and dine in the area. Everything about this hotel is relaxing. Very good value for the money and I will absolutely return.

Room Tip: Not all rooms come with a tub so if it's important to you be sure to request a bath. All rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

It was like a fairytail. To live like a princesse in a fantastic place in the middle of vineyards with a small swimming pool, very cozy and comfortable. Helpful and welcomming staff. Clean roooms. Exellent food and wine. Loved all of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaibeMaibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Sommellerie
Hotel La Sommellerie
#2 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Garbure
La Garbure
#4 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
93 reviews
6.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Chateau de Massillan
Chateau de Massillan
#1 of 1 in Uchaux
307 reviews
21.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
4.8 mi away
Novotel Avignon Nord
Novotel Avignon Nord
#1 of 3 in Sorgues
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches

Address: 1901 route de Sorgues, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Price Range: £110 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poets and artists from Provence came to this castle build in the middle of the vineyards of Châteauneuf du Pape at the end of the XIXth century. Home to the Marquis Folco de Baroncelli, in a mix of medieval and Provencal fantasy benefiting from a warm weather and the special spirit brought by the exceptional view going from the popes palace in Avignon to the Luberon and far beyond. This exclusive 4 Stars Hotel situated between Avignon and Orange will offer you all the charms of an authentic castle as well as the extraordinary services and relaxation opportunities of the magical Provence Region in France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Chateau Des Fines Roches Hotel Chateauneuf-Du-Pape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing