We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Sadly after a long drive down from Paris we arrived very late, so didn't get to enjoy all the hotel has to offer. The view upon arrival was breathtaking. The castle lit up at night is a magical view. We were warmly welcomed and shown to a gorgeous room.
The rooms are in keeping with the style of the hotel, typically French. The scale and height in our room was incredible with the most beautiful views from the French doors onto the pool which overlooks the vineyards.
Although breakfast was an extra charge, it is well worth having if the weather allows you to sit outside. The views and surroundings make it a most enjoyable experience.
Never have I experienced peace and tranquility from a hotel as we did while staying here. The position, scale and lack of traffic offer a very calm environment.
We certainly hope to return another time. A wonderful place, perfect for couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CLMullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

On our way back home we decided, on the very last minute, to book a night at this hotel. the reservation, made by mobile phone, was handled correctly. When you arrive at the gate you are very much impressed by the driveway which is bordered by impressive cypress trees. The hotel is approximately 200 years old but looks like a medieval castle from a distance. Very beautiful positioned on a hill overlooking the vineyards and, in the far distance, the Palais des Papes in Avignon. Really stunning. We were granted room 'Magali', a so called chambre priviligee. It was a nice room with two four poster beds and a spacious bathroom with a bath and, in the tower, a shower. All amenities were provided and the room looked clean. Rate EUR 270. Breakfast, which is very good for French standards, will cost EUR 19 per person. We were just too late to have a look at the seperate wine & tasting shop and were told to leave immediately as they were about to close. Although we mentioned that we were staying at the hotel and would only want to have a look for a couple of minutes did not change his mind! Back to the hotel for drinks in the lounge. We were offered the dinner menu promptly at 7 o clock and had some appetizers from the kitchen to start with: some foie gras ball, mozzarella and tomato and again a glass filled with some cheese and tomato soup. Okay but heavy as an ameuses gueuelles. We had a terrine of guinea fowl and duck liver as an starter which was served too cold so you could not taste it properly. Also the accompanying sorbet came directly from the freezer and could not be savored in a proper way. Then we had lamb chops as main course. Too fat, very small chops prepared in old fashioned way. Gravy and vegetables were okay. Desert (Biscuit Madeleine) was terrible, tasteless and again the sorbet was served too cold as it came direct from the freezer. The nice bottle of the regional Chateauneuf du Pape was very good which you may expect for EUR 70 a bottle. The service is friendly, but I think the management should pay attention to their clothes which seemed to be worn and not fitting. It also looked as if some waiters just came back from working in the vineyards as their shoes seemed quite unpolished. It is also wise to clean the chairs in the dining rooms as the arm holders were so sticky that you did not dare to pick up a piece of bread after having touched the chair. It would be nice if the staff closed the curtain of the area, in the library dining room, where they hide the glasses and linen. It is not very romantic for guests to have to look into that untidy storing room and to have to look in the spot light which marks the entrance. We also spoke to other people who did not enjoy their dinner and were complaining that their lobster was not fresh. This was an expensive and disappointing stopover on our way back. The region and position is beautiful. Rooms are typical old fashioned but nice. Service friendly. Food horrible! We will not come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent Z, Gérant at Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for having left your opinion on Trip advisor site and please note the following answers to your comments:

- Regarding the clothes and especially the shoes of some of our staff you have probably noted that our terrace is made of gravels which make some dust when walking on it. We have asked our staff to make sure that, at least at the beginning of the service, their shoes are cleaned up.
- The curtain should have been closed and we have reminded our staff to keep them closed or to re-close during the service although they need to access to this room.
- The arms of the chairs are regularly cleaned up. You may remember that there was lot of humidity in the air this evening and this gives this feeling of “sticky” in the wood.
- We have nothing to do with the caveau des Domaines MOUSSET which is at the back of the château. Please forward your complaint directly to them.
- Regarding the dinner, we take into account your remarks regarding the first course (terrine of guinea fowl) and our Chef takes care at its temperature. The lamb is from Provence and its size is the regular one. This is a meat which has naturally some fat but not too much and you are the first to complain about its quality. For the dessert you may have not liked it, note that it is at our card since one month and the feedback from our guests are more positive than yours. Regarding the sorbet and the ice cream with the summer temperature it is difficult not to serve them cold, which is their feature by definition.
We do accept some of your remarks but not your word “horrible” to qualify our cuisine, the attendance of our restaurant, the faithfulness of our guests, our presence in the best guides and the comments we receive either directly or in the various internet sites as well as in our visitors book showing the opposite.
We regret that you had a bad feeling and we can ensure you that we are doing our best to make the stay at our hotel and Restaurant an exceptional one (this is may be the reason why we were honored by Trip Advisor with the certificate of excellence for 2013 and 2014)

Martine et Laurent Zennaro General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

hotel has spectacular views over vineyards. From the terrace, you will see the Palais des Papes. Very well maintained, hotel in its simplicity offers great service and very comfortable rooms.
A feel of real Provence. helpful and smiling staff. The owner is very pleasant and makes sure that the clients are well treated.
have lunch outside, it is a real treat as the food is good

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in the room at the top of the tower and really enjoyed the views of the vineyards. I gave it only 4 stars in that I don't know if it was worth the price and secondly, we were not interested in hanging out on the top of the tower the second day and morning due to the vineyards being sprayed (which we assumed was insecticide). However, the room was beautiful and very clean. The hotel staff was very accommodating - they let us store the multiple cases of wine we bought in the cellar and offered us multiple appetizers and desserts with our meal even though we shared a smaller meal. Pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhimsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went their on a family trip last summer and was very pleased with every detail of our stay. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Setting is completely spectacular. Our little girls loved that we were staying in a real castle! Close, lovely walk into town. Great food at hotel restaurant. Rooms are simple, but large and clean. Would certainly recommend, hotel made the experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We originally booked into a standard double room but when we arrived we were greeted by the lovely hotel manageress who welcomed us and upgraded us up 2 levels to a suite with a beautiful four poster bed, fireplace, air conditioning and rainfall shower completely free of charge.

She told us that because it was low season all guests who arrive and if there is room for an upgrade she will provide this.

We ate dinner in the hotel the first night and what can I say... one of the BEST meals I have had in the last decade worldwide. The 3 courses were paired with excellent wines that the sommelier chose for us.

Would I recommend this place? ABSOLUTELY and on my return next year we are planning on stopping in Chateauneuf du Pape just to stay here.

To top it all of, the owners kindly called and reserved restaurants and wine tastings which made our lives much much easier.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade choose the middle to higher levels i.e not just the standard room as we were told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heskisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a late 19th century imitation castle set on a hill just outside Châteauneuf du Pape. The entrance to the long tree-lined drive may be identified by the two small castellated towers. At the Château there is only room for five cars, otherwise there is a parking slightly lower down.

I had a large air-conditioned room with a comfortable bed (167 euro) plus breakfast (19 euro). I think it is a pity that the small bottle of Evian from the mini-bar was charged (3 euro) as so many hotels offer the water these days. Breakfast has a self-service varied buffet. Service from reception to other staff was smiling and helpful.

The restaurant is excellent. I chose from their Menu Gourmand (53 euro) which had a selection of three entrées, three main dishes, three desserts. I had Grosse Langoustine Rotie, followed by Râble de Lapin farcie aux herbes, an interesting selection of cheese, and did not have the dessert. Bearing in mind where I was I had a bottle of Clos des Papes (147 euro).

Worth visiting – booking advised.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGavroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Sommellerie
Hotel La Sommellerie
#2 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
107 reviews
6.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
1 mi away
La Garbure
La Garbure
#4 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Chateau de Massillan
Chateau de Massillan
#1 of 1 in Uchaux
311 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
753 reviews
4.9 mi away
Novotel Avignon Nord
Novotel Avignon Nord
#1 of 3 in Sorgues
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches

Address: 1901 route de Sorgues, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Price Range: £108 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poets and artists from Provence came to this castle build in the middle of the vineyards of Châteauneuf du Pape at the end of the XIXth century. Home to the Marquis Folco de Baroncelli, in a mix of medieval and Provencal fantasy benefiting from a warm weather and the special spirit brought by the exceptional view going from the popes palace in Avignon to the Luberon and far beyond. This exclusive 4 Stars Hotel situated between Avignon and Orange will offer you all the charms of an authentic castle as well as the extraordinary services and relaxation opportunities of the magical Provence Region in France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Chateau Des Fines Roches Hotel Chateauneuf-Du-Pape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing