We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second great year at this site.”
Review of Camping du Pylone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping du Pylone
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We enjoyed two lovely weeks here this year. The site is kept clean - the bakery is exc ellent - the shop has all you need and the bar/restaurant has a fixed price menu which is very reasonable. Only grumble would be the football on the large screens which can be turned up very loud at times.
You really dont need a car - buses and trains are within a few minutes walk. Marineland is well worth a visit (if you see all the shows and have lunch you can easily pass a nice day there). The Adventure golf along side Marineland is great fun ! We visited Monaco/Cannes and enjoyed the beaches at Villeneuve and Juan les Pins (easily reached by train - and nobody seems to mind you getting on the trains with beach chairs/rubber rings and beach bags!) Its worth going on the No. 10 to Biot village - its a typical hill village with lots of arty/crafty shops and good restaurants. There were stalls when we went but do not know if this is every day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathynunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

It looks really quaint when u drive in and loads of greenery and trees. the caravans range from basic to luxurious(you get what u pay for ). The roads and paths are well kept proper cement so ok for buggy /wheelchair . The pool and kids play area are clean. there is a baby pool too. The water was freezing in Sept. If you plan to go in the summer you should try to get aircon as the caravans at night are soooo stuffy and if you open the window you risk the moskitos depending when you go. The buses are brilliant only 1€ kids free. you must eat at The auberge on site wonderful food. the onsite bakery is lovely too! I was disappointed with local stony beach and manmade beach at Antibes as it was windy it was cold and rough and also no toilets on beach BUT a lovely site to use as a base to visit Antibes Nice Monaco Monte Carlo etc. on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We hired a caravan from Jo and Damien, the forth time from them.We always try to pick one thats 5 mins walk from the shop and bar. The van is not the most modern but after all you only sleep in it. On the site we found that the prices are the same as the intermache and we only went there because we had taken our car.The bakery is superb and the lady who runs this,is a very cheerful lady considering the hours she puts in.The bar is expensive but double up at happy hour after all this is the south of france.The pizzeria is great ,excellent pizzas but with the exception of the pizza maker the other staff need to liven up and not panic when there are lots of people waiting.The surrounding towns and cities are amazing but in ventimiglia the market seems to have gone down in standard every other stall selling the same thing. The buses to Biot are brilliant and the drivers tell you when to get off, the trains are a little expensive but worth it compared to british trains.Two things worth remembering, one : take enough insect repellent with you and you wont get bitten, but I ran out and the shop was expensive and seemed to make the mossies bite me more.The second is we drove down from Liverpool and on the way home we where 1 hour from Nice when the engine blew in our car.I paid for RAC european cover and it was well worth it they paid for the towing,taxi, hire car to Calais and hire car to Liverpool from Dover, you have been warned take enough cover.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank angelefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I've been coming here since I was little and still love each trip. I usually stay in caravans but have camped for a few weeks last year too.
Pro's - Constant staff presence makes you feel safe, pizzeria is excellent, they clean the shower blocks often, they've had some great bands playing as night entertainment, the office keep stuff safe for you, gate staff are always happy to help and multilingual, great location for beaches and buses etc, the onsite supermarket has a good selection and Intermarche is only a half hours walk away, pool is free from 1st Sept, there are places to park your bike, leaflets and book swap at reception, always have camping spot available due to the camps size.
Con's - Supermarket staff are not always as attentive as they should be, sometimes it can get noisy at night if you're staying near the bar area, drinks are kinda expensive, WiFi is temperamental, pool expensive in peak season.
Also to note - People have mentioned the lifeguards being overly rule conscious but I can assure you as a trained lifeguard and swimming instructor it's all for a reason! When the lifeguards were not present from Sept 1st I couldn't sit by the pool and relax while children were running and diving into shallow water.
The site is very much equipped for the English during the height of summer, there's an English section in the supermarket with Heinz beans and Scottish shortcake etc, the souvenir shop is open and all the staff start with English unless they know you're French. This all isn't necessarily bad just something to think about if you want to immerse yourself in French living while you're down here.

If you are wanting a camping/caravan/brits abroad holiday atmosphere come in the height of summer... If you want a quieter holiday when the kids are back at school and it's mainly French visitors and caravan owners left, come before or after high season.

Overall I've found my stays at Pylone to be great holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G-Mercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We have just returned from Camping du Pylone and cant really praise it enough. We hired a caravan from http://www.holidayriviera.co.uk and must say both Anne and Harvey were great. He picked us up from the airport and drove us to the site where were introduced to our home for two weeks. Clean, Tidy and very welcoming ( They even lent me a bike to get around the camp)

The camp is tidy and has all the things you need. The pizzeria is amazing, the on site resturant was very good and reasonable 16 euros for a 3 course meal, The on site supermarket had everything you needed and was not over priced. The bakery was just wow! Fresh bread everyday!

The staff onsite were very helpful in helping find things to do so overall was great.

The location is amazing! We got on the train to cannes, antibes, monacco, and Italty and the beach is a 5-10 min walk. Yes you do have to cross a busy road, but if you are normal andknow the green cross code even in france it is ok.

We even charted a boat for the day from a guy called Kevin, what a day!!!!!! Well worth the money and everyone knows him so you just have to ask about it...and yes it is called KEVINS BOAT !!!

T

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank robchants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

In response to some of the negative comments, I as a van owner, would like to put my side of the argument across, I think the term "change" hits the nail directly on the head.
For far too long the so called part time reps, who seem to think they can do there job from the bar, need to go, the pool boys! Who as said before, need customer care training, need to go.
For far to long the so called multi van owners, who seem to spend most of the money they scam off people, again in the bar, need to realise its time to move on, let's see more independent one van owners take there place.
Safety should take priority, and all customers must feel safe, gas checks compulsory ! Electricity checks, never heard of them ! How can so many rules regarding who comes on the site, be in force, when common sense safety checks don't even take place.
Now for the positives, thankfully I am with the best management team on Pylone, they know who they are, Christian and his team need medals for the hard, tiring work they do over the summer, the shop, the bakery absolutely excellent, the resteraunt food and service first class, the ground staff, first class.
Please do not be put off coming to Pylone, if you don't like something, complain complain and complain, especially to Madame, sooner or later she will realise, that Change will have to happen,,,, Fast

Stayed: May 2012
15  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have visited Camping du Pylone at least six times in the past and have had lovely, relaxing enjoyable holidays as a couple and also with our family and grandchildren. We have had no complaints. However, I do feel standards on the site are definitely dropping.
Immediately we entered the caravan we were informed by the family opposite to close all windows and make sure the door was locked of a night as there had been an outbreak of burglaries recently with one holidaymaker waking and finding an intruder in the caravan. Also, there is a notice at the entrance to the site warning you to beware of bag snatchers.
Our holiday was completely spoiled by a family of obscene, foul mouthed Cockneys next door. None of them seemed capable of speaking to each other without shouting at the top of their voices and had no regard for anybody else in the immediate proximity. Their television was left on in the daytime with the door left open and blaring. Washing was strewn all over the flags outside the caravan as were blankets for their baby to sit on, held down by pans of water. I always understood that noise would be dealt with by Security but although we complained this was completely ignored.
There was no entertainment on most nights and on the few evenings there was entertainment it was abysmal.
Our caravan though clean was dingy, old and shabby although we paid top price for it for this time of year.
We certainly will not be visiting this site again and Madame should get her act together regarding security and dealing with noisy holidaymakers as we spoke to quite a few people who felt the same way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank twirliemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antibes hotels
0.3 mi away
Marineland Hotel
Marineland Hotel
#41 of 86 in Antibes
287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Antibes
Ibis Styles Antibes
#16 of 86 in Antibes
708 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
301 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Port Prestige
3.0 mi away
Sainte Valerie Hotel
Sainte Valerie Hotel
#7 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping du Pylone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping du Pylone

Address: 189 avenue du Pylone, 06601, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Antibes
Price Range: £66 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping du Pylone 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the Coast, at just 200 meters far from the Sea, 4 km far from Antibes center, between Nice and Cannes, you can take advantage completely and easily of your stay on Riviera thanks to the closeness of the Station of Biot (Train & Bus)... Relaxation and discovery of Côte d'Azur and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camping du Pylone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Du Pylone Hotel Antibes
Du Pylone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing