We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, price and very functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'Etoile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de l'Etoile
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Antibes
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, price and very functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We arrived in Antibes with no accomodation booked and happened upon this hotel on way from train station (5-6 minutes away). We were lucky as there was a cancellation just before we arrived. The receptionist a lovely gentleman (Rachid) had perfect english and couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant - he allowed us to view the room and we agreed to stay. The room was spacious with clean bed sheets, really comfortable bed, towels, hairdryer, adequate lighting etc.
The Ritz it isn't but for the price it is perfect! In fact it's a little bit quirky in its decor- our room had a moroccan kind of feel to it. We usually choose to stay in 3 or 4 star hotels but given that there were none available this was a necessity to begin with but then we found ourselves coming back before the end of our trip and stayed another two nights. Believe me if I went back to it, it must be good! We stayed in a four star in Cannes and this 2 star was better! I cannot praise this hotel enough - it's definitely the best 2 star hotel ever - very well managed, friendly staff, functional clean rooms. Oh and free Wi-Fi which was a bonus. Has a lovely little breakfast room too which serves typical french breakfast - bread and croissants for 6.50 euros.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIreland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    46
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
41
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

From outside the hotel doesn't look very sexy but the perfect location (between the railway station and the old city) is really convenient. The room are big enough and you can either use the A/C or open the window. Breakfast is totally OK for the price (6,5€) and people at the reception very friendly. This hotel is therefore a very good solution if you plan to spend few days in Antibes.

Room Tip: 4th floor is cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I spent two quiet and comfortable nights in this no frills hotel. It is conveniently near the train station and bus stops. The old town and the harbour are a short and pleasant walk away.Staff were charming, breakfast was good. I visit Antibes fairly regularly and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrbLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A 2-star cost for a far better hotel. Friendly, helpful English-speaking receptionists. Free Wi-Fi. Breakfast may only be continental but the quality of the croissants, pain au chocolat and bread is superb. Tea is made the English way and is plentiful :) Everyone on the hotel staff is friendly, even when their English is limited.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. There is a heater/air con, room safe for valuables and a mini-bar that can be used as a fridge. Apart from breakfast no other meals are served but being a five minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants makes this no problem.
They say "Location! Location! Location!" and this hotel has it all. It is so close to the buses, railway station, local beach, shops, bars and restaurants that Hotel de l'Etoile really is the best place to stay. I've stayed in other hotels in Antibes but keep coming back to this one!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I have spent three nights in this hotel and I really have no complains. The hotel has a good location, about 5 minutes away of anything important, like train station, old center, the marina and the beach. The room was big and clean, the only problem was the common wall with the elevator shaft because of which it was quite noisy early in the morning. I found the personnel polite and very helpful. All things considered, fair quality for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ioana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was fortunate to be on a short yachting course in Antibes last week. To keep cost to a minimum I decided to stay in the mentioned hotel. The hotel is in a fabulous location; only minutes walk from the beautiful seafront and the old town.
The staff are on the whole very polite and helpful but unfortunately the team is let down by an extremely rude lady, who fails to hide her disdain for the hotels customers. Anything that involves getting out of her chair, whilst drinking copious amounts of coffee is met with hostility and rudeness.
The rooms in the Hotel are basic and clean but the extremely short, narrow, well-worn beds bode for an uncomfortable, sleepless night. The constant drone of passing traffic doesn’t help this matter.
The towels in the rooms are disgusting and they look like hand me downs from the local French rugby team. These need replacing with immediate effect.
In summary, if you can afford it, avoid like the plague. If on the other hand you are on a budget, this Hotel de Toilet may suffice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Rude, lied to us, lost our booking, and made very little effort to help us find alternative accommodation at 8:30 at night. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommyz231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antibes hotels
0.2 mi away
Modern Hotel
Modern Hotel
#48 of 85 in Antibes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais du postillon
Le Relais du postillon
#40 of 85 in Antibes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Place Hotel Antibes
La Place Hotel Antibes
#3 of 85 in Antibes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Port Prestige
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Ponteil
Hotel Le Ponteil
#45 of 85 in Antibes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Studios Perl
Studios Perl
#2 of 30 in Antibes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Etoile

Property: Hotel de l'Etoile
Address: 2 avenue Gambetta, 06600, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Etoile 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Etoile welcomes you all year long and 24 / 24 in the center of Antibes. We offer several room types, each room has free WiFi access , mini- bar, toilet and separate in the room, cable TV, safe. Possibility to order a room service breakfast. Business corner and ironing room available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel de l'Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Etoile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing