We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadfull,absolutely dreadfull” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Eden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Eden
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dreadfull,absolutely dreadfull”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

What a massive disappointment this "Holiday !!!" proved to be. We have camped all over Europe and the U.K in both tents and our touring caravan and are proud members of The Caravan Club. I think we know what to expect from camping sites at our time of life however this experience was quite frightful. I never expected to be holidaying in “Hooverville“ especially after reading most of the reviews about this holiday company. Odd ,very very odd.

The caravans were basic and were dirty. Indeed the cleaning materials have obviously seen better days which when you think about it is rather ironic. There were used tea bags in a teapot and the mattresses were grotty. Thank God we brought our own clean freshly laundered sheets. Both my 2 young sons have asthma and eczema and if you have children with these ailments ,do not come here, it is not clean enough. The pillows felt like hundreds of cotton wool balls tossed into a sack….absolutely unacceptable.
The pitch itself was small ,dirty and lacked basic maintenance. There was no screening from neighbouring vans or tents save for some scabby dying sparse vegetation.

We have been to many camping sites but do not expect caravans and tents to be so close to one another. Please look at my photographs. To have someone else’s laundry flapping around about 2 feet outside my bedroom window beggars belief, as does the owner of said clothes having a good look in your window whilst hanging out said items. To make matters worse you can just see bins under said window. Its France, its high summer, its hot and it STINKS.…..

If your mad enough to come here then make sure you ascertain which caravans you are allocated to. I believe they have another 2 or 3 vans in a more appropriate place in the camp.
I was very disappointed in the indifferent attitude of the owners when issues were raised with them.

The camp itself was clean and other owners /Dutch, German companies have obviously invested in new clean caravans, which I think Sunhat really need to consider. Another example of Rip Off Britain. by the British. At least there were no problems getting our £100 security deposit back, I felt like using it to donate some clean mops, buckets and cloths.
The restaurant was borderline satisfactory although don’t give your kids money for the toy dispensing machines as invariably they don’t work and restaurant owners attitude not too sympathetic.

On the plus side there is an hourly security patrol at night to ensure safety and order. These gentlemen are polite and greet you in a pleasant manner during there rounds.

Be careful not to enjoy yourself too much after 10pm as campers, in tents are sleeping 7 feet away from you as soon as the sun goes down.

The area itself is quite menacing at times. We were here 6 years ago and had a great holiday at Camping Du Pylone a few miles away and this time around I was alarmed to see nightly police road blocks in the area now. For some reason even in the surrounding towns and villages there is a much heavier police presence. A good or bad thing....I am not sure.

I have tried to forget this dreadful holiday and couldn’t bring myself to write a review however people deserve to hear all reviews good or bad.

Book at your peril, you have been warned. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Absolvimeamanimam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhatfrance, owner sunhatfrance at Camping Eden, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
This is not a review but an angry response to our comments regarding the only negative review we have ever received and has been written by the same family, 2 brothers who spent a holiday with us last Summer in adjacent Mobile Homes.
We covered most points in our original response, which can still be read, but would like to emphasise that our Mobile Homes are not dirty, equipment is of a very good standard and we are very approachable if you have any problems or would like any advice during your stay with us.
During their holiday there were 2 official complaints made by French customers as to their noisy behaviour late at night, when asked by ourselves had the problem with their neighbours resolved itself we were told that everything was now fine, the next time we heard from them was through their 1st rather unpleasant review, something they have now felt the need to repeat 8 months later !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

We spent our second consecutive summer holiday at l'Eden last August, staying in one of Liz and Jeff's caravans. ~We had been the summer before, and enjoyed it so much that we asked our best friends to book through SunHat and join us, which they did. The site as a whole is very well maintained, neat and tidy with beautiful flowers, bushes, etc and good amenities, including shower blocks, areas to wash clothes, etc, as well as a very good swimming pool and a good bar/restaurant which also has a small shop providing the basics of food and drink (there are very good local shops at Biot, which is 15 minutes' walk away.) The caravan itself was comfortable, and we had the benefit of one which had plenty of shade in the morning, which allowed us to sleep in a bit later when necessary! Liz and Jeff were very friendly, offering lots of advice and help - they picked us up from Nice airport and they also offer a service whereby they will take you to the local hypermarket and bring you back again an hour later. We managed to spend a two week holiday without hiring a car - public transport is efficient and cheap - you can even get a bus from Biot rail station to Nice airport for one euro. And the beautiful olf village of Biot, which has lots of excellent places to eat, is only 15 minutes' walk away.
The site works really well for families looking for a relaxing holiday - it's fairly quiet in the evenings, though hte restaurant does a livelt trade, and most people who stay there prefer it that way. There is plenty to do nearby, either a moderate walk or a bus-ride away. If you are looking for a very lively site with lots of hubbub, try Pylone, which is right by Biot station and a stone's throw from the beach. But if a chilled-out holiday in the warmth of the Riviera is what you're after, l'Eden, wqith SunHat holidays comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bees2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS, WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Went to Eden late Sept/early October for 9 days. The site was a nice size, not too big with all the facilities you could want, washing machines etc. Lovely swimming pool and the boules area proved very popular. The bar/ restaurant was excellant. Great food at reasonable prices. A nice friendly meeting place.
A bit of a pain having to get a bus down to the main road (only 5 mins or walk in 20 mins) to catch a bus to Nice or Cannes and the lack of pavements outside the campsite entrance made walking to the bus stop a wee bit hazardous but apart from that
no other probelms. The weather was fantastic every day 75 degrees on average.Ideal if like me you don't like it too hot.
Nice and Cannes are well worth a visit and so too is Baroness Rothchilds pink villa and gardens on St Jean Cap Ferrat . Spectacular ! As are the views over the Bay of Villefranche.
Take the ferry (15 mins) from the Port in Cannes to the island of Sainte Marguerite where the Man in the Iron Mask was imprisoned. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leedsbird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

After many lively children-orientated holidays at the sister campsite Camping du Pylone, we have found Camping L'Eden a peaceful, well-run place to spend a holiday in later years. We have now spent nine yearly holidays with Sun Hat and always find Liz and Jeff extremely helpful, welcoming and willing to do their utmost to make our stay with them very comfortable. Our children now like to join us with their partners and they will confirm this. Liz and Jeff will pick you up at Nice Airport by arrangement and take you to the hypermarche, for reasonable fees. The mobile homes are very well-equipped and clean. The campsite itself is full of flowers and trees and well-kept more permanent emplacements. We have found the few rules are for the benefit of all and everyone in our experience has abided quite happily with these i.e. quietness after 11 p.m. We have made many friends over the years, including Liz and Jeff, and, all being well, we look forward to visiting them again next year with our children and their families. Small children have a play area of their own with slides, etc. and there is a table tennis table there and a boules pitch. It is not a suitable campsite for lively, noisy people and singles might find it disappointing. Go to the Camping du Pylone for organised entertainment. If you want relaxation, a very good restaurant, an attractive swimming pool and friendliness then this could be the place for you. The position of the campsite is good - easy access by public transport to Antibes, Cannes, Nice, etc. and Biot village itself is fascinating.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have always had a lovely time down at Camping L'eden, we started coming about 10 years ago and have only missed 3 years...says it all really!

Although we often stay in the van of a relative, have stayed in SunHatFrance vans on a number of occasions and have found them to be lovely. Liz & Jeff (the Owners of SunHatFrance) are very friendly & helpful, the vans are basic and simple yet always found clean and come equipped with essential items such as a cork screw, bread knife, bottle opener, washing up liquid and bin liners! Although we could take our own we choose to hire linen which is always fresh and ironed, the patio areas are lovely with table & chairs, parasol (a must!) and clothes airers; there is also an on-site self-service laundry for any 'little accidents'!

When we started coming we didn't have children but now they are 7 & 8 and love it too; to the point that when we said early this year that we may not go due to the econommic climate, they were extremely upset. They always make friends of all nationalities and have even begun to strike up e-mail frindships. Campng L'Eden has a very relaxed atmosphere where if you need help someone will do so, (not least Liz & Jeff), but equally it isn't the sort of campsite where you feel everyone is in each other's pockets.

If we do have anything negative it is the fact that we feel the owners of the campsite don't make enough of the pool area: there are not enough sun-chairs and we had to take our own parasol, cushions etc. Also they could consider selling drinks even if only a vending machine, and the pool area that was once beautiful is beginning to look a little 'tired' and would benefit from some TLC.

The restaurant benefitted from a fit out 2 years ago and is a very cool and welcoming place. Becky & Frank are always offer a selection of food appropriate to the venue; fair enough it isn't fine dining (go to Biot or Antibes for this) but is always fresh, plentiful reasonably priced and served with a smile! After a long hot day travelling, sight-seeing, or simply lounging by the pool or nearby beach, it's just what you need.

If you're looking for a wild parties with noisy drinking games into the wee small hours; Camping L'Eden isn't for you! If you are looking for somewhere to chill-out and feel your children are safe; the family atmosphere means everyone, whatever their nationality, seems to look out for each others children, then book now!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsFourontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I first stayed at sunhat (l'eden) in2008 with my family and close friends. After being collected at the airport by Jeff & Liz of sunhat, we all felt at ease knowing we were in good hands.

When on the campsite the first thing that strikes you is how friendly everyone is, I had a 10 minute conversation with a frenchman even though we did not know a word of each others language. The owners of the on-site restaurant Frank and becky will make you feel like you are their only guests, giving the place a great atmosphere. After your meal you can relax with a drink whilst the children gather in the nearby park, which is floodlit and in full view of the restaurant.

There is a great bus service which is cheap, reliable and clean as well as being only 50yds from the site. We visited the local markets and my wife assures me that they are reasonably priced and if that is not your thing then there is a pub opposite.

After this great holiday experience I returned this year (2009) with my in-laws and plan to come back next year, although with my friends this time as the in-laws want to come back with theirs. I have recommended this park to anyone who will listen and my family plan to holiday here for the next few years. Well done Jeff & Liz and the L' Eden team!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

We discovered Sunhat and Camp Eden 4 years ago after having previously stayed at Camp de Pylone nearby. What a contrast! Eden is quiet, well kept, very green and everyone, be they owners, other holiday makers and staff are so very friendly and helpful. We now return twice a year to stay with Sunhat and look upon the site as our piece of heaven in France!

The site is set back from the coast road, 5-10 minute drive in a quiet residential area and Antibes is an easy 15 minute drive. It is a very magical place, with great walks along the old battlements and marina. In the old town there is a wonderfull covered market open six days a week selling local fresh produce. The spice stall is the best and largest we have ever seen.
Likewise the large Carrefour hypemarket, is again about a 10 minute drive inland from the site, near the Autoroute junction and has everything you could possibly require plus cheap fuel. You can even use your English credit card at the automatic fuel pumps and they are very easy to use.
There is a good restaurant on site owned and run by a Frenchman Frankie and his English wife Beckie. They are both charming and are bi-lingual. Meals are good value for money, especially the plat du jour which changes daily.

Liz and Jeff, the owners of Sunhat, live on site during the season, and treat you as more than just customers. The vans are a few years old, but are very well maintained, and in better condition than newer vans owned by some of the big operators we have stayed with elsewhere. Liz & Jeff are on hand, approachable and will recitify any problem very quickly. The vans are well equipped, including microwave, DVD player and all the usual kitchen equipment one would expect. Each van has its own patio, with chairs, table, parasol and sunloungers with parking next to your van. The vans are not huge, however they are more than adequate for a couple or family with children. After all you will not be spending your holiday in the van, but outside in the fresh air and sunshine. We think they offer excellent value for money. That is why we return twice a year!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biot
2.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Sophia Antipolis
0.9 mi away
Marineland
Marineland
#37 of 85 in Antibes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side Park
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side P...
#6 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nemea Appart'Hotel Residence Green Side
Nemea Appart'Hotel Residence Gre...
#2 of 3 in Sophia Antipolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Villeneuve Loubet Village
B&B Hotel Villeneuve Loubet Vill...
#1 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Eden

Property: Camping Eden
Address: Biot, Biot, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Biot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Biot
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Camping Eden Hotel Biot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing