We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Holidays Over Many Years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping Eden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Eden
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Holidays Over Many Years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We have stayed with Liz and Jeff on numerous occasions at L'Eden since they started their venture, as well as previously at Camp du Pylone, visiting the area regularly for over 25 years. Although we lived in Brittany for 7 years we still made the journey to the south as we like the atmosphere of the 'Millionaire's Playground' and the usually marvellous weather. As long as we are able we will continue to return. We have always arrived to a spotlessly clean caravan with new equipment each year. Without repeating all the good things other visitors have said about the location and facilities, with which we heartily agree, we like the quietness of the campsite in April and October-it just couldn't be better.
Liz and Jeff have always made us welcome. The kind of people they are can be shown with Jeff spending hours with us at Antibes Hospital until 1 in the morning following an accident I had cycling-and this on Liz's birthday! Thanks for all the great holidays with you.
We will be returning in September/October!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGERMARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

We booked a holiday and stayed with Sunhat France in late April/May. (or monsoon season as we prefer to call it). We took advantage of the two weeks for one offer (typically Scottish very canny with the cash) and were glad we did. We also took advantage of the airport pick-up service that Liz and Jeff offer.

Liz was at Nice Airport to meet us and all went very smoothly. The same on our way back to the airport Jeff dropped us off right at the terminal door. Well worth the extra cost.

Liz and Jeff helped considerably to ensure that our holiday went well. They are available to deal with any problems (not that we had any except the atrocious weather - unfortunately even Jeff couldn't fix that)!

We both found Liz and Jeff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful.

This was the first time my wife and I had booked a holiday in any caravan site in France and we were very pleasantly surprised. The site itself seemed to us to be very well laid out with lots of palm trees and flowering hedges and shrubs which although not in full bloom (although they ought to have been with all the rain) at the time of our visit will look fantastic later in the year. The pool area looked really nice. The restaurant seemed well used and the people running it were very pleasant.

Our caravan (they are all the same style/design/size) was perhaps a bit of an older style than some that you might find much larger UK based campsite operators have to offer in their glossy magazines but in fairness we knew that from other reviews. The caravan had plenty of room and we found it to be very clean on our arrival and well stocked with everything you need for such a holiday.

The caravan was fitted with a shower but we tended to use the campsite showers which again were very well maintained, clean and with plenty of hot water.

Biot which is a lovely typical hilltop village was an easy uphill 10-15 minute walk. There was a small supermarket/grocer and patisserie at the bottom of the village and a nice little patisserie/cafe only 5 minutes uphill from the caravan site on the left.

Bus stops down to Antibes and up to Biot and Valbonne are located just a few hundered metres from the access road into the campsite. If you work out the bus system (its easy) like us you can roam far and wide. We went to Cagnes sur Mer, St Paul de Vence, Monte Carlo, Cannes, Theoule sur Mer, Valbonne, Biot, Juan les Pins, Cap d'Antibes including Garoupe Plage.

We thought that the Sunhat France website provided an accurate description and relected what we actually found on site. In terms of past reviews I think, without any doubt, that the many positive reviews fairly reflected our own experience.

The site was quite and peaceful with mainly resident caravan owners and is very well positioned for touring the area (especially using public transport) at a reasonable cost.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the site to others.

One final transport tip if going outwith the immediate area served by the local bus company "Envibus" e.g. If you want to go to from Antibes to St Paul de Vence by bus (easy peasy). Get the Nice bus (close to the Tourist Information office in Antibes) tell the driver your destination and you should get a "Ticket Azur" for 1 euro per person one way. That allows you to travel on two successive bus routes i.e. Antibes to Cagne sur Mer then change bus at Place Central in Cagne sur Mer for St Paul de Vence.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killiemanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cevert1973
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Hi all,

We have just returned from a fabulous Easter holiday at Camping L'Eden in Biot. This is our second time with Liz & Jeff of Sunhat France, so we were already familiar with the site. Our family consists of my wife and myself plus 4 boys ranging in age from 15 down to 5 years.
Where to start? Sunhat France have a very useful website and we found Liz & Jeff to be very helpful in arranging our stay. Their mobile homes are very clean and comfortable with nice patio areas to enjoy eating alfresco or just relax in the sun. They are always around should you require assistance with anything and are very approachable, nice people.
Camping L'Eden is a fabulous little site. From the moment you drive in the secure gates you are made to feel welcome. First impressions are of how clean and well maintained the site is. There is a nice playground for the little ones, table tennis for the not so little ones and a Boules pitch where all abilities are welcomed. The swimming pool is excellent for all ages. The site shop, restaurant and bar are run by Becky & Franck. Again, you are made to feel welcome whether you are there in the moring to buy fresh bread or last thing at night having a Pastis at the bar. The food in the restaurant is excellent and great value for money....steak to die for and Panga fish which was new to us and very nice indeed. The site has many regulars who spend their summer months on the Cote d' Azur, (envious or what!), who are very friendly and make you feel part of this community.
Camping L'Eden is ideally situated in a fantastic part of the world. There is literally something for everyone. Travelling around is easy, too. There is a bus stop just outside the camp site. Here you can get a bus to nearby Antibes or up the road to Biot. For 1 euro you can have 3 hours of travel anywhere in the region. One kilometer from the site is the train station where you can get a train to take you all along the Cote D'Azur. Nice, Monaco, Menton, Cannes, Eze, Italy are all within easy reach.
For anyone who has never been to this part of the world, what can I say? I cannot rate it highly enough. It is perfect. And what better place to stay than the aptly named Camp L'Eden.
Thank you to all the fantastic people there.....we will see you again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cevert1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

What a massive disappointment this "Holiday !!!" proved to be. We have camped all over Europe and the U.K in both tents and our touring caravan and are proud members of The Caravan Club. I think we know what to expect from camping sites at our time of life however this experience was quite frightful. I never expected to be holidaying in “Hooverville“ especially after reading most of the reviews about this holiday company. Odd ,very very odd.

The caravans were basic and were dirty. Indeed the cleaning materials have obviously seen better days which when you think about it is rather ironic. There were used tea bags in a teapot and the mattresses were grotty. Thank God we brought our own clean freshly laundered sheets. Both my 2 young sons have asthma and eczema and if you have children with these ailments ,do not come here, it is not clean enough. The pillows felt like hundreds of cotton wool balls tossed into a sack….absolutely unacceptable.
The pitch itself was small ,dirty and lacked basic maintenance. There was no screening from neighbouring vans or tents save for some scabby dying sparse vegetation.

We have been to many camping sites but do not expect caravans and tents to be so close to one another. Please look at my photographs. To have someone else’s laundry flapping around about 2 feet outside my bedroom window beggars belief, as does the owner of said clothes having a good look in your window whilst hanging out said items. To make matters worse you can just see bins under said window. Its France, its high summer, its hot and it STINKS.…..

If your mad enough to come here then make sure you ascertain which caravans you are allocated to. I believe they have another 2 or 3 vans in a more appropriate place in the camp.
I was very disappointed in the indifferent attitude of the owners when issues were raised with them.

The camp itself was clean and other owners /Dutch, German companies have obviously invested in new clean caravans, which I think Sunhat really need to consider. Another example of Rip Off Britain. by the British. At least there were no problems getting our £100 security deposit back, I felt like using it to donate some clean mops, buckets and cloths.
The restaurant was borderline satisfactory although don’t give your kids money for the toy dispensing machines as invariably they don’t work and restaurant owners attitude not too sympathetic.

On the plus side there is an hourly security patrol at night to ensure safety and order. These gentlemen are polite and greet you in a pleasant manner during there rounds.

Be careful not to enjoy yourself too much after 10pm as campers, in tents are sleeping 7 feet away from you as soon as the sun goes down.

The area itself is quite menacing at times. We were here 6 years ago and had a great holiday at Camping Du Pylone a few miles away and this time around I was alarmed to see nightly police road blocks in the area now. For some reason even in the surrounding towns and villages there is a much heavier police presence. A good or bad thing....I am not sure.

I have tried to forget this dreadful holiday and couldn’t bring myself to write a review however people deserve to hear all reviews good or bad.

Book at your peril, you have been warned. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Absolvimeamanimam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhatfrance, owner sunhatfrance at Camping Eden, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
This is not a review but an angry response to our comments regarding the only negative review we have ever received and has been written by the same family, 2 brothers who spent a holiday with us last Summer in adjacent Mobile Homes.
We covered most points in our original response, which can still be read, but would like to emphasise that our Mobile Homes are not dirty, equipment is of a very good standard and we are very approachable if you have any problems or would like any advice during your stay with us.
During their holiday there were 2 official complaints made by French customers as to their noisy behaviour late at night, when asked by ourselves had the problem with their neighbours resolved itself we were told that everything was now fine, the next time we heard from them was through their 1st rather unpleasant review, something they have now felt the need to repeat 8 months later !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

We spent our second consecutive summer holiday at l'Eden last August, staying in one of Liz and Jeff's caravans. ~We had been the summer before, and enjoyed it so much that we asked our best friends to book through SunHat and join us, which they did. The site as a whole is very well maintained, neat and tidy with beautiful flowers, bushes, etc and good amenities, including shower blocks, areas to wash clothes, etc, as well as a very good swimming pool and a good bar/restaurant which also has a small shop providing the basics of food and drink (there are very good local shops at Biot, which is 15 minutes' walk away.) The caravan itself was comfortable, and we had the benefit of one which had plenty of shade in the morning, which allowed us to sleep in a bit later when necessary! Liz and Jeff were very friendly, offering lots of advice and help - they picked us up from Nice airport and they also offer a service whereby they will take you to the local hypermarket and bring you back again an hour later. We managed to spend a two week holiday without hiring a car - public transport is efficient and cheap - you can even get a bus from Biot rail station to Nice airport for one euro. And the beautiful olf village of Biot, which has lots of excellent places to eat, is only 15 minutes' walk away.
The site works really well for families looking for a relaxing holiday - it's fairly quiet in the evenings, though hte restaurant does a livelt trade, and most people who stay there prefer it that way. There is plenty to do nearby, either a moderate walk or a bus-ride away. If you are looking for a very lively site with lots of hubbub, try Pylone, which is right by Biot station and a stone's throw from the beach. But if a chilled-out holiday in the warmth of the Riviera is what you're after, l'Eden, wqith SunHat holidays comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bees2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS, WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Went to Eden late Sept/early October for 9 days. The site was a nice size, not too big with all the facilities you could want, washing machines etc. Lovely swimming pool and the boules area proved very popular. The bar/ restaurant was excellant. Great food at reasonable prices. A nice friendly meeting place.
A bit of a pain having to get a bus down to the main road (only 5 mins or walk in 20 mins) to catch a bus to Nice or Cannes and the lack of pavements outside the campsite entrance made walking to the bus stop a wee bit hazardous but apart from that
no other probelms. The weather was fantastic every day 75 degrees on average.Ideal if like me you don't like it too hot.
Nice and Cannes are well worth a visit and so too is Baroness Rothchilds pink villa and gardens on St Jean Cap Ferrat . Spectacular ! As are the views over the Bay of Villefranche.
Take the ferry (15 mins) from the Port in Cannes to the island of Sainte Marguerite where the Man in the Iron Mask was imprisoned. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leedsbird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

After many lively children-orientated holidays at the sister campsite Camping du Pylone, we have found Camping L'Eden a peaceful, well-run place to spend a holiday in later years. We have now spent nine yearly holidays with Sun Hat and always find Liz and Jeff extremely helpful, welcoming and willing to do their utmost to make our stay with them very comfortable. Our children now like to join us with their partners and they will confirm this. Liz and Jeff will pick you up at Nice Airport by arrangement and take you to the hypermarche, for reasonable fees. The mobile homes are very well-equipped and clean. The campsite itself is full of flowers and trees and well-kept more permanent emplacements. We have found the few rules are for the benefit of all and everyone in our experience has abided quite happily with these i.e. quietness after 11 p.m. We have made many friends over the years, including Liz and Jeff, and, all being well, we look forward to visiting them again next year with our children and their families. Small children have a play area of their own with slides, etc. and there is a table tennis table there and a boules pitch. It is not a suitable campsite for lively, noisy people and singles might find it disappointing. Go to the Camping du Pylone for organised entertainment. If you want relaxation, a very good restaurant, an attractive swimming pool and friendliness then this could be the place for you. The position of the campsite is good - easy access by public transport to Antibes, Cannes, Nice, etc. and Biot village itself is fascinating.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biot
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Sophia Antipolis
2.9 mi away
Marineland Hotel
Marineland Hotel
#37 of 85 in Antibes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side Park
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side P...
#6 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nemea Appart'Hotel Residence Green Side
Nemea Appart'Hotel Residence Gre...
#2 of 3 in Sophia Antipolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
4.6 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#6 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Eden

Property: Camping Eden
Address: Biot, Biot, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Biot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Biot
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Camping Eden Hotel Biot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing